Cary Country Club

3.6713058824 3.7 stars from 5 (115)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6135 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 74.5
  • Layout

  • 2400 Grove Ln, Cary, Illinois 60013, Mc Henry County
  • (847) 639-3161
  • (847) 639-9515
  • www.carycountryclub.com

Year built: 1922
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Blue Grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White (W) 72 6135 yards 74.5 126
White 72 6135 yards 69.0 119
Red (W) 76 5535 yards 71.5 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 115 Reviews
5 stars:
23
4 stars:
56
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

99 out of 114 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include elevation changes thick rough undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Flood damage"


gatesrog's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

With so much flood damage, there should have been a statement to this effect or warning, prior to booking. Does not seem fair to the course, yet still it would have been a factor in choosing where to play last week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 08/16/2017:

Hello Roger, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Cary Country Club, in the Chicago area. We apologize that you were not properly notified of the course conditions before you played. Though, we are happy to see that your round was at a great value and that you had a friendly experience with our staff. Thank you for the 3 star review and we hope to see you again soon.

"great old time course ...BUT"


u395295914's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

great old time course layout, played there many times .....BUT ...... there was a bad flooding of the course from the Fox River couple of weeks ago, and they have several holes where the dead grass from the flood literally takes up acres ...they have those areas flagged off as "ground under repair" I imagine it will be several weeks at least for those areas to heal ....the staff is working on it like crazy , to their credit


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 08/04/2017:

Hello David, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Cary Country Club. We are undergoing a tough transition period, which explains our lacking conditions. We are working hard to make improvements, however. We appreciate your understanding and hope to earn your business again soon in the Chicago area.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 08/01/2017:

Hello Nate, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at Cary Country Club, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for playing Cary Country Club and we hope to earn your business again.

"DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY"


JeremySmet25's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Awful course conditions and horrible place of play they have no ranger keeping pace of play absolutely a waste of $42. I will not be back


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Jeremy, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Cary Country Club. We regret to hear that we missed the mark on your visit. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, however! We hope you will give us the chance to earn your business again for a better round.

"Fun Course, Great Views"


Niener's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Cary is a very fun and scenic course (stunning in the fall)!. It has a lot of elevation and provides decent risk reward opportunities which will appeal to everyone regardless of skill level. It's fair but you still have to make good shots to score well. The rough is very thick so you definitely need to keep it in the fairway. The greens are in excellent condition and are some are extremely challenging due to the slops and pin positions. The staff is always friendly and courteous. I highly recommend the course as I've been playing it for years and have rarely been disappointed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun Time"


u410474542's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course was in fair condition due to the rains over the past week. The problem was there were several holes where the sewage smell was overwhelming. Most of the course was great and well maintained.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



shellabel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Worth the Ride"


owlbrk80's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Cary is long way from Addison so I don't play here too often, but I always enjoy playing this sporty course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun course to play"


leeplumber's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course won't let you down

Lot of fun to play

Staff is very accommodating


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course is Average"


DocHasnow's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

You wanted a review so here it is. Course has a great layout and it is scenic. However, there is little to no sand in the bunkers. The rough is long. The fairways get mowed on Monday's and Thursday's. Tees seem to be in the same place every weekend. Therefore, the biggest league on Wednesday night plays on fairways that are mowed two days ago. The weekend players, who pay PREMIUM prices to play, get to see fairways and rough that has not been mowed in 3 days (if playing on Sundays). There is no water on the course. You can buy water from coolers on #1 and #10 if you need such. Carts are old, but they get around, but the club cleaner buckets on the sides are lacking in cleaning brushes. I have played for many years out at Cary, but the course in general is a "shadow" of it's former self. I am sure economics come into play, but some common sense could make this course more playable.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 06/05/2017:

Hello DocHasnow, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and found our staff friendly. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Love the high elevated Tee Offs."


u9804277's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm a big fan of Cary Country Club. It's an older course so there are a lot of trees and the scenery is gorgeous especially from the tee boxes that are elevated -such a thrill. I also like the fact that you're blocks away from the Fox River and you can hear the boats go by.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



ebartosik's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 05/24/2017:

Hi Edward, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and rate our course. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the course conditions, staff friendliness, and course layout! We hope to see you back again soon and we appreciate you support. Thank you for stopping by Cary Country Club and have a great day!


susiejogolfer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Play chalet or foxford"


Rycie91's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Just not a fun course to play no real cart paths the roughs are a joke and lousy putting greens. Just not a course i wanna sprint back to again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 05/22/2017:

Hello Ryan, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you found our staff friendly. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.


u8666215's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



SHERRY1355616's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Good layout, poor conditions"


Powers1's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The good: Very interesting layout, a lot of elevation and elevated tee boxes which made for good views. Greens were rock hard and rolled true, and they all sloped back to front which made it easy to know where to put your ball. Carts were incredibly fast.

The bad: It was impossible to find your ball in the rough unless you were standing right on top of it. The fairway glass was also barely cut, what you would normally find as the fringe around the green at most courses. Seemed like they cut the grass once a week. Some tee boxes were a little uneven and the fairway grass was really patchy. Overall-because of the cuts of grass, it didn't feel like a high end course. Worth playing again only if price is in the 30s.

Also it is a little hard to find the clubhouse-you need to drive through a neighborhood right along the river.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Cary Country Club on 04/25/2017:

Hello Chris, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and found our staff friendly. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Great Experience!"


c311's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I've played this course many times, and this may have been the best shape I've ever seen it in (which, for April, is pretty amazing). The greens were rolling fast and just perfect, consistent on every hole. The fairways were a bit long as they normally are, hopefully when summer rolls around, they mow them down a bit. The challenge on this course is the elevation and wind (if applicable). It's not a long course, and there is very little water. If they are able to keep the greens in this kind of shape, they will be packed here!

The pace for playing on a Sunday morning was fantastic. Played in a tick over 4 hours. As always, the staff is friendly, and the bar is fantastic with a nice outdoor deck to watch groups on 10 and 18. Fantastic beer selection. Will be back soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Glad to revisit"


u7620509's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Haven't played there in about 15 years. Course was in excellent shape! Greens were firm but fair. The course has really good elevation changes which makes for a more challenging round. I'll definitely be back again this year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Lacking restrooms on opening day"


pdahlin1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Golfed Sat. I heard it was the first day they were open. Well something must of derailed the preparation because there were no rest rooms on the course. Had to run to the clubhouse at the end of 18.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed