Trophy Club, The

4.5747000000 4.6 stars from 5 (174)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7317 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 75.3
  • Layout

  • 3887 North US Highway 52, Lebanon, Indiana 46052, Boone County
  • (888) 730-7272, (765) 482-7272
  • (765) 482-7919
  • thetrophyclubgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 1998
Architect(s): Tim Liddy (1998)
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Open: 3/01 Closed: 12/01

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7317 yards 75.3 138
Blue 72 6580 yards 72.1 130
White 72 6006 yards 69.6 124
Red 72 5050 yards 69.3 118

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 174 Reviews
5 stars:
109
4 stars:
58
3 stars:
5
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

168 out of 170 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Test of Golf"


Rosey20's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course! Better pack your A putting game. A lot of challenging greens. Great risk/reward situations. Love not seeing homes & a lot of other golfers throughout the round. It's worth the extra travel time from Carmel.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



4147111's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Bradley9305761's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course and clubhouse showed a lack of maintenance. It is usually an above average conditioned and maintained course but bunkers have had no attention and there appeared to be little staff working the course and only one individual working the clubhouse and beverage area. Bathrooms need attention. Maybe they are waiting for better weather and part-time staff to be employed once college kids are available. I was disappointed as this course is one of my first choices on GolfNow.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I recommend this course


"Trophy Club is in Great shape"


BusterOneIron's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Greens smooth and quick, rough a bit long but playable. A great play to play if you want a challange


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"One of my favotites"


dplorenz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Fairly difficult and was in good condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course to play one of the best in the state"


David2775239's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was in great great great shape !! The putting greens were excellent they would hold line and go in the hole .looking forward to play again .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Excellent track."


briswft's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Track is in great shape, you will use all your clubs. Elevation changes, track layout, awesome! The greens are big, but challenging!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



LaBuenaVida05's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/05/2016
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


srcoston's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in a foursome in just under 4 hrs. Greens were excellent. A couple of tee boxes a little rough. But fairways were in good shape. Really fun course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great golf course"


lockallen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy playing here. Great layout, fairways, greens in great condition. Will be back


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun, challenging course that will test your short game"


jhoban18's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

I was in town on a little golf trip visiting family. I have being hearing from my father-in-law how great this course is. It did not disappoint. The condition of the course was pristine. The tee boxes were in great shape and there were plenty of tee box options to suit the low to high handicap. Playing the correct tee box and yardage will make your day more enjoyable. The fairways looked like a perfect green carpet and they got plenty of roll on the drives. The fairways are larger than they appear, but don't stray off the fairways due to the high fescue grass that eats golf balls. One thing that I really liked was the yardage cards in the golf carts that told you about the hole, showed the layout and carry distances. It was very helpful being this was the first time I played this course. The green complexes were very challenging, from the deep, high faced bunkers to the mounding and awkward lies if you missed a green. The greens rolled smooth and true and were rolling at a quicker than average pace. There are plenty of twists, turns and tiers on the greens, putting a premium on short game and putting. There is a halfway house between the 3rd and 12th holes. Grab a drink or snack after the 3rd hole because you won't go back to the clubhouse after the 9th. There are plenty of water coolers around the course to get a fill up. There was also a nice grass driving range and a large putting green. Take note of the slopes on the putting green and hit some large breaking putts up and down the slope. You'll be glad you did. I highly recommend this course and we will be back next year again on our trip.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Wazjd's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

Chose this course due to its top 20 listing of Indiana courses and it didn't disappoint. Clubhouse was nice sized, driving range was in very nice shape. Rain the previous day had packed down the bunkers but other than that the course was in great shape. More rain interrupted our round but the course handled it well. We were on #9 which is probably the furthest point from the clubhouse. No place to hide from the rain since the turn does not come back near the clubhouse. Maybe a shelter near 8,9 or 10 would be nice. They have a snack bar they call the halfway house but it was not open and it's located at the intersection of holes 3 and 12. So once you are out on the course, you're on your own. Overall I loved the course and would play it again. About a 35 minute drive from downtown Indy, but well worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course and great value"


u000007391578's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Greens were fast and a little tricky. Very well groomed. Challenging layout but fair. You can lose balls if you get out of the fairway. For the money it's one of the best deals in Central Indiana


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging, fun course"


tmclancy5594's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

A really fun, but challenging course to play. A links style course so you need to keep to the fairways. It's a very fair layout with opportunities to score well for the better player but not unfairly punishing for the average weekly player. Can't wait to go back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Golf Course"


u146125246's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Links style layout was fantastic - open, yet challenging with great views and elevation changes. Fairways and greens in great condition (bunkers were saturated/wet from recent heavy rains that week). Out and back design with a full service snack bar/sandwich shop mid course was perfect - fast and convenient. Pace of play was good and the yardage book in the golf cart was a big help for a first time visitor. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout. Will play here again for sure. Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course outside of Indy"


u705325435's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

I can't say much more that hasn't been said about the course from other players' reviews as well as from the Golf Advisor staff. What I will say is I played this links styled course after 4 days of constant rain in the area. Yes it was a cart path only day, but I wanted to walk anyways. Austin in the pro shop discouraged me so I took the cart. In hindsight, if your in ok to descent shape then it's a "walkable" course. It does have some elevation, but nothing extremely drastic. The course drained well with a few leftover tee boxes and fairways that were still in the process. Great layout. Greens were almost in perfect shape. Pro shop has Taylor Made Burner rentals for $35 and are in good shape. I took an Uber from downtown Indy for $30, but be weary as getting back presented a problem as there were no Ubers in the area to get me back. Needless to say, I had to call in several favors.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course; Good Bargain"


jkgaafar's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a diamond in the rough. A bit of a hike from Indy; it is well worth it. The course is in good conditions with well manicured greens, fairways and tees. The rough is fairly challenging with tall nature areas and lots of water. Placement of the tee ball is important. Greens are large, so pay attention to where the pin is placed when you're playing as it can make up to 2 club difference.

Club amenities are average as did not see a drink cart all day and temperature was mid 80s. Halfway house was not open, but has been in the past.

Number 2 is probably my favorite hole and wish it was later in the round. Requires 3 good shots to make the green and lots of thought. Big hitters can clear the water on the first shot, the rest of us have to play it safe. Lots of sand to be avoided. If you're long into the green, they shave the low area behind to catch your ball.

If you're looking for a course that's out in a beautiful country setting and not surrounded by houses, this would be a great choice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Tip top shape and value"


shadrap's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in great shape and remains a top 10 course in indiana. Only improvement would be adding more sand to bunkers. A joy to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"The course is always in Excellent condition"


u000004348527's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The TRAPS were in terrible shape don't know why they weren't raked. The other part of the course was in great shape. Traps need raked and much attention because you will be in them.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed