Gibson Bay Golf Course

4.3764294118 4.4 stars from 5 (113)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7113 yards
  • Slope: 128
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 7113 yards 74.1 128
White 72 6508 yards 71.3 122
Gold 72 6002 yards 69.0 117
Red 72 4869 yards 69.1 115

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 113 Reviews
5 stars:
68
4 stars:
36
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

110 out of 112 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include elevation changes thick rough bunkers   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course"


normhall's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent public course. Well maintained and very plush for this time of year. Very reasonable fees.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



use2bcotton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Dwgksmith's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow-go"


u000005359064's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good condition. The rough was up some which made it tough to get out of. The worst was pace pf play. After 4 holes we waited every shot on every hole. granted there were only 2 of us, but there were 4 groups in front of us and a couple of them were very slow. There were 4 young guys in front of us and they were very nice. They told us they would gladly let us play thru but we wouldn't be going anywhere after that.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


u108882571's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a pleasant day at Gibson Bay! One of the prettiest courses in Central Kentucky. I look forward to my next round!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Why move the white teesn back further?"


Chuck2063203's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The BAD: I've played this course several times but I've never seen the white tees set back as far as they were this day, some in the area where the blue tees used to be. It seemed very unfair as my wife plays the up tees and on one of the back nine holes her teebox was over 150 yards ahead of the whites. I was tempted to move to the green tees but had already committed to the whites. The added length made my game a little out of whack and frustrating. The course was long enough already.

The GOOD: This course is always in immaculate condition - the fairways, the teeboxes and the greeens. And I appreciate having the yardage stamped on most sprinkler heads in most fairways.

This course is always a challenge because of it's length but today was more frustrating than ever.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great environment"


Robert6045458's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. Greens rolled true. Tee boxes were very good. Great layout. Look forward to playing again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Etiquette"


NateLL's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golfers on this course do not know or do not care about Golf Etiquette specifically fixing their divots and ball marks. There are several greens that resemble the craters of the moon and T-boxes that look like the practice range at a Pro event. The divots on the course are also bad, hole number 7 in the lay up area is terrible. What a shame as this could be a very nice public course with a little effort by the "Golfers".


I recommend this course


"Beat the heat"


DKL48's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great time in afternoon Sun. Course in good condition, could

Use a little work on the tee boxes. Greens in good shape, perhaps a little slow, not out of chcracter given the hot dry condition. Like all the hills and slopes including the greens, keep up the good work


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good condition fun layout"


Darekc's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This is a course that gets better as you play it more. Lots of blind tee shots where course knowledge would come in handy. I did enjoy the course and found the conditions to be nice. I would def play here again. I played the back tees which the card said were 7100 yards but it def did not play that long. The one exception was a 250 yard par 3 which played really long obviously.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Gibson Bay"


James9661247's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Well kept and maintained, great layout open and easy to play, greens great and playable for all types of golfers, great scenery over looking Madison Co


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Jungle safari"


lexlam's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

Let me preface this by saying this has always been one of my favorite golf courses. Played there on Memorial Day and it was a nightmare. Took a little over 3 hours to play the front nine. The quality of the golfers playing there was horrible and the lack of golf etiquette was terrible. They were hitting drives of 100 yards sideways and never considered letting anyone play through. Pace of play was slowed considerably by the 5" rough which made any foray into it a jungle safari. You needed a search party to find your ball even if it was just a few feet away.. Why a municipal course with a lot of bad golfers playing would have US Open type rough makes no sense. The PGA Tour only has a few events a year with this kind of rough and it makes no sense for a public course to do so. One of the main reasons for the slow play is people searching for the ball when hitting it in the rough there. I love the track but will no longer play there on weekends.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Enjoyment"


cpbussell3's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The outdoors in KY has seen a lot of rain in the last week so keeping that in mind I was ready for the worst. Gibson Bay was in the best shape possible. Really have to hand it to the staff for making the greens roll very well, fairways cut short, and allowing the rough to stay thick. The course had a lot of traffic throughout the day but the greens surprisingly held up very well. Fastest greens I have played on all year; Would recommend it to anyone of any skill level.

-CB


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Kelly3023129's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I recommend this course



chuck6440's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of the best in Kentucky"


u1409566083's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you dont love playing Gibson Bay, you dont love golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"challanging rolling terrain"


Jim7672204's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good shape considering Spring season, nice greens.

Several holes have challenging elevation . Would play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent Challenge from the Tips"


matthewpavelek's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My buddy and I are long hitters so we decided to play form the back tees. A couple of the par 5s and par 4s are really long. It didn't help that the winds were gusting at 30 MPH (almost always in our face). But, the fairways are relatively wide and incredibly smooth. The greens are very fast and offer plenty of undulations. The course is a real challenge with good play being rewarded. I'll definitely be going back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u228617721's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed