Ocean Pines Golf Club

3.9956352941 4.0 stars from 5 (137)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7050 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 73.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7050 yards 73.6 134
Back 72 6335 yards 70.5 129
Middle 72 5977 yards 68.7 125
Forward (W) 74 5572 yards 71.8 126

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 137 Reviews
5 stars:
45
4 stars:
60
3 stars:
21
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

124 out of 137 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"The staff was awful"


mison's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was really rude. I do not want to see him working there.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 11/15/2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're very disappointed to hear that our staff was rude to you during your visit to our course. We would very much like to know more about your experience and encourage you to contact our PGA Director of Golf John Malinowski directly at 410-641-6057 or golf@oceanpinesgolf.org. We take comments such as yours to heart and hope you'll give us a chance to address the issue. Thank you!


"Great Day"


bdevaney13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course played in about 4 1/2 hours on a unseasonably warm day in November. Range located next to first tee, balls reasonably priced but not included in cost. Challenging course that plays fair to all players. Course was in good conditions when we played though rough was a little long making it very hard to locate your ball amongst the leaves. The course does retain water so it can be soft making for some extra challenges on some fairway approaches. The course is one of the best values in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/07/2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! We've had beautiful fall weather and are glad you were able to take advantage of it by playing Ocean Pines. We agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course offers a challenging but fair layout at a great price. We're open year-round, so we hope you'll come back and play a round with us again soon!


"Extremely fair an enjoyable course."


bdevaney13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played course on a gorgeous late autumn day through Golfnow for under $20, an unbelievable price for such an enjoyable round. Course had taken on a lot of water recently according to the starter. A couple of holes had aerated portions of the greens but that was the only negative and really it wasn't more than a couple of feet on maybe 2-3 holes. The course is challenging and rewards shotmaking ability over length. We played the round in just over 4 hours and thoroughly enjoyed our day. Look forward to playing the course again soon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/27/2017

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your round at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. We agree that it's a challenging but fair layout! Fall is a wonderful time to play golf on the Eastern Shore, but we are open year-round and look forward to having you visit us again soon!


"RTJ design"


u00000473964's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/04/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Overall, the course was in good shape,three greens were having issues but the grounds crew were addressing this by dressing them with sand which did not affect putting at all. It is a great layout from R T J, that has been recently restored to its original specs. They cart guys are a couple of tools, and no marshals could be found to move the group in front if us along, which made for a five hour round. For a weds afternoon this is totally unreasonable, not that five hour rounds are ever.at $30 golf now hot deal was a great price, will play it again at that price for sure. Also the 9th and 18th holes are two of the best closing holes you can play!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/13/2017

Thank you for the additional feedback. If you used a third-party agency to book your round, then it is true that our policy – per our user agreement – is to hold discounted rounds to their scheduled tee times, which could explain why our starters didn’t send you out early. This is especially the case when teeing off earlier would result in a higher price point. You are correct that we don’t generally allow carts in the parking lot before a round. Unfortunately, we have had a lot of experience with people trying to load alcohol onto the carts, which puts our liquor license in jeopardy. We know that this can be an inconvenience for other players, and apologize for any difficulty this might have caused you. We are also truly sorry for any unpleasantness caused by our staff – please know that we will work to make sure that they get players out in a friendly, efficient manner. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us and for helping us to be a better course!


Commented on 10/10/2017

First off, our group arrived a good twenty minutes early, there was know one on the first tee and we could have been sent off early. Your cart guys were just talking away with each other not even noticing that fact.then I realized I had forgotten something in my car and went to drive out to the parking lot to retrieve it and got dressed down that I was not allowed to do this,because twenty year olds use this"tactic" to conceal beer in their bag. I'm not a twenty something and I don't bring beer to the golf course.then when it was our time to go they were still jabbering with each other and we had to say can we go now! I think they need some retraining.as for the five hour round it could have been avoided by a marshal moving the group in front if us along, just goes to show you how one foursome can back up the whole golf course!


Commented on 10/10/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout and agree that it's a great golf value! We are sorry to hear that our cart staff didn't treat you well. We generally receive positive comments about our staff, so we're definitely disappointed to learn that you didn't receive good service from them. If there was a specific problem, we hope you'll let us know so we can address it with them. You are correct that there wasn't a marshal on the course the afternoon you played. The course was slow that afternoon, so we sent our marshal home early. That's why we're surprised that it took you five hours to complete your round. As far as we were aware, rounds that day were playing at a typical 4-4 1/2 hours. We are sorry that the pace diminished your enjoyment of your round, but are glad to hear that you'll be back for another visit. We look forward to having you play with us again soon!


"Recommend"


Denniskominos's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I recommend this course very challenging , but the pace of play was beyond horrible , waiting 10min or longer in a tee box with not a would withing 4 holes behind us is unacceptable. Need marshalls out there speeding players ahead up.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course, which we agree is a challenging but fair layout. We're sorry, though, that you experienced slow pace of play. On the day you played, we did have a group that was struggling on the course. They fell behind, so we had them skip some holes so that the pace of play would speed up. We did send marshals around the course to let everyone know what was happening, and the pace did pick up. Please know that we want all of our golfers to have a positive experience and hope that you'll come back and give us another try soon!


"Ocean Pines Beauty"


StanZabytko's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf course is very beautiful! It winds through the pines and hardwoods on a routing that makes every hole unique, a real Robert Trent Jones Sr. masterpiece. The condition was very playable and the greens were true and a medium speed. Every one that greeted us was very nice and very friendly. The facilities are being upgraded and in time the clubhouse will also be nice. Wow, I can not wait to play this beautiful course again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review and for your kind comments! We are proud of our Robert Trent Jones heritage and are glad you appreciate it, too. We're especially glad to know that our staff treated you well - excellent customer service is a priority for us. We are, as you pointed out, still undergoing renovations to the upper floor of our clubhouse, but the lower level, including the bar and grill and locker rooms, has been completed. We look forward to having you back again soon - thanks for visiting!



Dubmom's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We work hard to offer an excellent golf experience at an excellent price, and your rating lets us know we're doing our job. We appreciate your sharing your opinion with other golfers and hope you'll come back and play a round with us again soon!


"Great price"


sethdubrino's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Came from out of state and was surpirsed how nice this course was for the price. A lot cheaper then most of the Long Island courses at a prime time rate and the course layout was really nice. Greens were in good condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We're glad you found our Robert Trent Jones layout to be a great value and couldn't agree with you more! Thanks for making the trek down from New York. We truly appreciate your business and hope you'll play a round with us again soon!


"Not What was Expected"


u000004901014's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not bad ! The Greens do need some attention & the rough was thick! Hopefully they will tend to in the future!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/29/2017

Thanks so much for sharing your review. We experienced extreme amounts of rainfall at the end of the summer, which made course maintenance challenging. Things are definitely bouncing back, and we're looking forward to continuing the great course conditions we've had in the past. We hope you'll come back and give our Robert Trent Jones layout another try soon. Thanks for visiting!


"Great value"


Tpeles23's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played this course today with my family and got a great deal. Far exceeded my expectations considering the price. Course was a little wet due to over night rain but nothing major and was dried out by the end of our round. We were a 3 some and got around fast at our own pace, no waiting. The rough is ROUGH! crucial to hit the fairways. Greens were a little bit slower than i like and a few have some barespots that need some work. The best part was being greeted by great staff that were very welcoming, respectful, helpful, knowledgeable, and profesional. Over all a great course and would not hesitate to play again. Thank you OCEAN PINES


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/14/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your review! We have been struggling with a very wet few weeks, which has made work challenging for our maintenance crew. They're working hard to get the course back up to our regular standards. We can't tell you how much it means to know that our staff treated your well. We think we have a great team and are glad that you agree. We hope this won't be your last visit - please come back and play Ocean Pines again soon!



Lynn6665592's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout is excellent. However, it was not well maintained on the day I played.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/13/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout, the only one on the Eastern Shore. We're sorry, however, that the course conditions you experienced did not meet your expectations. Weeks of wet weather have made course maintenance a challenge, and our staff is working hard to bring conditions up to our regular standards. We do hope you'll visit again when everything is back in shape.


"Great course, greens need some work."


Depanfilisjoseph's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ocean Pines have a very friendly staff, the facility is nice. The course layout is outstanding. The greens were horrendous with most greens having crabgrass present. The pace of play was very slow the day we played taking over 5 hours to complete 18 holes. Overall I would definitely play again!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/11/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for visiting Ocean Pines Golf Club. We're so glad our staff treated you well during your round. We've had some challenging weather the past month, but our maintenance crew is working hard to get the course back to its usual condition. We're pleased that despite some drawbacks, you'd play Ocean Pines again. We're proud to have the only Robert Trent Jones layout in the area and are glad that you liked it, too. We look forward to having you back again soon!



u6655526's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/06/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your review! We're glad you enjoyed your round at Ocean Pines Golf Club. We especially appreciate the four-star rating since our course was still bouncing back from aeration and over 25 inches of rain for the month when you played! Things are shaping up nicely, so we're looking forward to the course being looking good for the fall, one of the best times to be on the Eastern Shore. We do hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!


"Condition"


dancandlyn's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens shaggy. Rough very long but wet period prevented mowing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/24/2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. You're correct that we've been struggling with some very wet course conditions lately - we received over 21 inches of rain in the two weeks before you played, 11 1/2 in the last 6 days before your round. The wet turf has made maintenance a challenge for our crew, but it looks like the upcoming weather forecast is sunny and dry, which should definitely help. We do hope you'll come back when our Robert Trent Jones-designed course is up to our regular standards. We look forward to having you visit again soon!


"Course conditions went downhill"


jbryant93's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

We've played Ocean Pines several times in the past. The layout is good and course conditions in the past have been average to good. However, after a 2 year absence we came back and the course conditions are somewhere between terrible and horrific. The rough is so high you can't find your ball unless you know almost exactly where it went. The greens were slow, bumpy, and awful. Bunkers were not raked. We were extremely disappointed. For a course that we always enjoyed playing previously, I don''t believe we will be back. I am surprised other reviews do not reflect the same sentiment. It was bad.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/21/2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your experience at Ocean Pines is due to the extreme rainfall we've had recently. Ocean Pines Golf Club has received over 21 inches of rain in the past 14 days, 11 1/2 of which fell in the past 6 days alone. The extremely wet conditions have prevented our maintenance crew from some mowing and raking the bunkers as they normally would. We're sorry you had a disappointing round and want to let you know that what you experienced is certainly atypical. We hope you'll come back and visit us again when we haven't had to deal with such challenging weather and our course conditions are back to normal.



rich1048's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played many times and always enjoy the course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/21/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review. We're glad you enjoyed your round at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course despite the wet weather we've had. We hope you'll continue to visit Ocean Pines and look forward to having you back soon!


"Enjoyed the course until we were rained out."


CharlieinPA's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Played Ocean Pines with two friends. We were playing at a nice pace. We had to wait occasionally but we were moving nicely. Then we could hear thunder in the distance and by number eight the rain was too hard to finish.

I like the layout. I liked the greens which were slower than what I normally play but it was raining and it apparently rained over five inches over the past few days. It was cart path only because it was so wet so that slowed us down. All of this and I look forward to coming back to play this Robert Trent Jones layout again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/21/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones design and that you understand that extremely wet weather (over 21 inches of rain in two weeks) has definitely had an impact upon course conditions. A stretch of dry weather should help get the course back into shape, so we hope you'll visit again when things aren't quite as wet!




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played in the spring course was in great shape .

Playing in august greens were a little beat up , not sure if hard spikes are allowed but some were pretty bumpy


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/08/2017

We appreciate your sharing your feedback with us and apologize that course conditions weren't up to par, so to speak. We're working on coming back from some tough weeks, weather-wise, which have put a few of our greens under stress. We will be aerating the course August 21-22, which should help, and expect that in approximately two weeks after that our course conditions should be back to normal. We thank you for your continued patronage and hope you'll keep Ocean Pines Golf Club on your must-play list. Please come back and visit us again soon!



ffratrik's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/08/2017

Thanks so much for sharing your review. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and agree that it's an excellent golf value! We hope you'll come back and play a round with us again soon and that you'll let us know if there's anything we can do to improve your experience in the future!



kingtrout's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/08/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We're glad you enjoyed your round at Ocean Pines, but if there's anything we could do in the future to improve your experience, we hope you'll let us know. Please come back and visit us again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed