Ocean Pines Golf Club

3.9600000000 4.0 stars from 5 (100)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7050 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 73.6
  • Layout

  • 100 Clubhouse Dr, Berlin, Maryland 21811, Worcester County
  • (410) 641-6057
  • (410) 641-8389
  • www.oceanpinesgolf.org
Write a review

Year built: 1972
Architect(s): Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1972)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Woodland
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7050 yards 73.6 134
Back 72 6335 yards 70.5 129
Middle 72 5977 yards 68.7 125
Forward (W) 74 5572 yards 71.8 126

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 100 Reviews
5 stars:
30
4 stars:
48
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

90 out of 100 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Our first round of the season"


NtanavgguyInDe's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We where very disappointed with the overall course and club house. The restaurant was not open and did not look like it was going to be ready anytime soon. The drink cart did not show up til late in our game and we only saw her once. Course conditions where fair at best.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/24/2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that your first round of the season was a disappointing one and that our restaurant was not available when you played. While we were hopeful that the major clubhouse renovations that we started over the winter would be finished in time for the busy spring season, unforeseen delays pushed back the opening. We anticipate that the newly expanded restaurant should be completed within the next week or so. Those delays, however, do not explain why you were not visited more frequently by our beverage cart. We apologize that you experienced such poor service and would very much like to make it up to you and your group. We encourage you to email your contact information to golf@oceanpinesgolf.org so that our Director of Golf can get in touch with you. Thank you again for your feedback - we hope to hear from you soon.



JoeJoe69's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/25/2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for your 5-star review! We are glad that we "got it right" during your visit and that you had such an excellent experience at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. Please come back and visit us again soon!



u9434725's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/25/2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at Ocean Pines Golf Club. A 5-star rating is our goal for every golfer's experience at our Robert Trent Jones-designed course - glad we got it right during your visit! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!


"Good value with golf now."


u000005420784's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout and friendly staff make this an attractive option. Greens are in need of some spring weather to grow in and had a few too many of those small helicopters from the trees. Overall, very good value at $27.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/25/2017

Thanks for coming down from New Jersey to visit us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones layout and that our staff treated you well. That's what we love to hear! The recent rain should really help the course green up, so please come back and visit us again soon!


"Great course but grab some food on the way"


u000006156011's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golf course was in great shape and green were rolling good. The only problem was their is no grill, beverage cart or any staff to get you some food or a beverage. You buy your drinks when you pay for golf in the pro shop.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/25/2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. We do apologize for the lack of food and beverage service. Normally we do run a beverage cart, but Easter Sunday (when it looks like you played) was actually a slow play day for us - despite the fantastic weather! We had hoped that the renovation and expansion of our grill would be finished by April 1, but as often happens, some delays pushed back our opening. We should be up and running within the next week or so, so please come back and visit us so you can check it out. We look forward to having you back!



regottg's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/17/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you had a good experience at our golf course and that you found it an excellent value for the money. Our off-course amenities will definitely improve once our clubhouse renovation is complete - we're nearing the end! We hope you'll pay us another visit soon so you can check it out and enjoy our Robert Trent Jones-designed course again!


"Great golf afternoon"


Opbobgil's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly reception. Started on time 12;12. Played as a twosome. The foursome in front of us permitted us to play thru. We completed the round in four hours.

Golf course is always a delight to play, fair and fun. Great greens and fairways growing in this spring.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 04/17/2017

Thank you so much for your 5-star review and for taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad you were treated well by our staff and by other players on the course. We agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course is a challenging yet fair layout and look forward to having you back again soon so you can enjoy more of our beautiful Eastern Shore spring weather!


"NUMBER 18!"


divedown9's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course in reasonably good late winter condition; but greens recently aerated & difficult to putt--seemed they would be slow normally. my wife and I played and enjoyed no forced carries except on par 3s. very fair distances for the ladies. the closing hole should be the signature--it's only 375 from the middle tees; but unless you drive 225+ center-left, there's no direct line to the green(trees to negotiate center & right, water left). very happy to leave with bogies.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/23/2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you decided to try our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and hope you'll come back when the weather gets a little warmer (and when the greens haven't been aerated).We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and look forward to having you visit again!


"It's winter"


dekesheller's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's winter here in MD and the course was a little soggy but no standing water.. Cart path only for carts. Bunkers were O.K. and playable. Most greens were good, a few a little bumpy. Club house was under renovation but will be very nice come spring.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/14/2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are definitely looking forward to spring weather and to having our clubhouse renovation finished soon. We hope you'll come back and visit us again then!


"Great course"


Davey0824's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and it was definitely worth the hour drive to get there. From the moment we got to the pro shop until we got done with 18. The staff and other golfers were so professional. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone within a 2 hour driving radius to go and enjoy this beautiful course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/14/2017

Thank you for your 5-star review! We're glad you made the trip from Wallops Island to come play our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. We look forward to having you back again soon!


"Tough course"


Mattpin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played a very cold, windy round on on the second to last day of the year. Besides the weather, the course itself was in great shape. Greens were running a little slow but that's to be expected in the winter. If you're planning on playing here, bring your A-game. This course is tight with tree lined fairways and OB on EVERY hole, both sides. Consider playing shorter tees if your driver isn't on point. All in all a great course and we'll definitely be back to try it in better weather.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/04/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We're so glad you found our Robert Trent Jones-designed course challenging and in great shape. We are sorry you didn't get to experience nice weather, but cold and windy is not an atypical Eastern Shore December day! We'll look forward to having you back in warmer weather!


"Great Day"


u00005666160's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very enjoyable course, great layout and fast/slight and tough undulating greens. It's really worth playing this course. We played with another couple which made the day better. The course should have signage off the main road, first time playing here was a guess if we were in right place as it's a mile of winding road to the course. Put this course on your list. If you're an average player, then play the Gold tee blocks (5600 yds) as oppose to white (6200 yds) - not necessary to force the second shots of 170 yds on the par 4's - on vacation, have fun. We would definitely play again when we come back to OC.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/04/2016

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at Ocean Pines. We're glad you were able to make your way through the community to find us. We love it when our guests tell us they'll be back - that's what we love to hear! Looking forward to having you here the next time you're in the area!


"Pleasure"


Thomas8424614's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf was in great shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/04/2016

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad your experience at Ocean Pines was pleasurable and that you experienced great course conditions. We hope you'll visit us again soon!


"Great condition given all the rain"


u000002375579's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

We played this course after the area experienced heavy rain for a week. We played here 4 days in a row. We tried a different coarse the first day and it was so wet you couldn't walk most of the time. While this coarse was cart path only it drained well and was very easy to walk. We were just happy to play and the additional excercise didn't hurt either of us. The greens were is great shape. Pace of play was pretty good, 4 hours and 15 minutes and they were booked solid. Everyone was friendly and we felt appreciated.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/14/2016

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. As you mentioned, our area did get hit with substantial amounts of rain, but we're glad it didn't interfere with your enjoyment of your round here. We absolutely appreciate your business and hope you'll come back and visit us again!


"Very well maintained despite the amount of recent rain."


davidpare49's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was quite playable though very wet. Inside and outside staff were friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/07/2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our course. Please know that your kind comments will be shared with the rest of our staff. We're sorry for the wet conditions but glad you were able to play - the 8 inches of rain we received last week did indeed make things a little soggy. We hope you'll visit us again soon!


"OC Pines"


penguin106's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course but watch out for the hidden water on some shots. Staff was friendly and starter helpful.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/30/2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course has some challenging shots! So glad you had fun - please come back and visit us again!


"Soggy course."


fluffman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was very nice. Weather dictated cart path only which was a bummer. Greens still putted pretty fast. Will play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/23/2016

Thank you for your review. We were hit with some wet weather this week and while that's good for our grass, it did force us to be cart path-only for a few days. We're glad you still enjoyed your experience and that you'll be back - that's what we love to hear!


"Poor coordination"


James5473582's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Undortunately they had a tournament on the front 9 and had us start off the back. They did not tell us about the tournament until after we made the turn and had to wait 30 minutes for the last group in the tournament to finish number 9 and play 1. (It was a 9 hole ladies tournament). If that wasn't bad enough, we had to wait for the other foursomes that were already waiting to tee off. We played number 1 then quit as we were waiting on the first hole 15 minutes and saw that we had to wait again on number 2. Many other nice courses in the area than to waste time at this one.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/24/2016

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. You're right - this was poor coordination on our part. Your experience was the result of an employee not following directions for the management of the tee sheet this day. (This employee, incidentally, no longer works at the golf course.) Maintaining pace of play is a bit of an art, and on this day we failed, which resulted in a negative experience for you and some other golfers. We would very much like the opportunity to make this up to you , and hope you'll reach out to us at golf@oceanpinesgolf.org. In the meantime, let us apologize again for your frustration and poor playing experience. Please know that that is not how business is normally done at Ocean Pines Golf Club. Thank you.


"A great bargain"


gleidigjr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A very playable course. Lots of water but very little comes in to play. Deep in a residential area but well worth the 10 minutes sojourn through the neighborhood.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/30/2016

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and that you took the time to travel through Ocean Pines to find us! We happen to agree that our course is a great bargain, so we hope you'll be back soon!


Commented on 08/22/2016

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your round and you hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!


"Nice round at Ocean Pines."


Dupuiswd's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall my wife and I had a pleasant experience except for the lack of greeting or any kind of reception by one of the two outside starters. One of the starters was very very pleasant while the other was obviously having a really bad day. There was wait time to begin our round. It only takes one poor performer to lower the level of satisfaction by paying customers. Hats off to the one starter that left a high level of satisfaction. Usually I do not take time to write so much but I wanted to make the point. In our prior round weeks ago because we belong to a local club, the lady starter was really exceptional!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/24/2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We're sorry that one of our employees didn't provide the kind of customer service that we as a business expect them to give, and are glad at least that you had a good experience with the other people with whom you had contact. Reviews such as yours help us provide better service in the future, so thank you for your honesty. We hope you'll come back and visit us again!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed