Ocean Pines Golf Club

3.9570000000 4.0 stars from 5 (93)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7050 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 73.6
  • Layout

  • 100 Clubhouse Dr, Berlin, Maryland 21811, Worcester County
  • (410) 641-6057
  • (410) 641-8389
  • www.oceanpinesgolf.org
Write a review

Year built: 1972
Architect(s): Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1972)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Woodland
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7050 yards 73.6 134
Back 72 6335 yards 70.5 129
Middle 72 5977 yards 68.7 125
Forward (W) 74 5572 yards 71.8 126

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 93 Reviews
5 stars:
27
4 stars:
45
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

83 out of 93 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort near local attractions convenient to the city   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"NUMBER 18!"


divedown9's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course in reasonably good late winter condition; but greens recently aerated & difficult to putt--seemed they would be slow normally. my wife and I played and enjoyed no forced carries except on par 3s. very fair distances for the ladies. the closing hole should be the signature--it's only 375 from the middle tees; but unless you drive 225+ center-left, there's no direct line to the green(trees to negotiate center & right, water left). very happy to leave with bogies.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/23/2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you decided to try our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and hope you'll come back when the weather gets a little warmer (and when the greens haven't been aerated).We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and look forward to having you visit again!


"It's winter"


dekesheller's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's winter here in MD and the course was a little soggy but no standing water.. Cart path only for carts. Bunkers were O.K. and playable. Most greens were good, a few a little bumpy. Club house was under renovation but will be very nice come spring.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/14/2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are definitely looking forward to spring weather and to having our clubhouse renovation finished soon. We hope you'll come back and visit us again then!


"Great course"


Davey0824's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and it was definitely worth the hour drive to get there. From the moment we got to the pro shop until we got done with 18. The staff and other golfers were so professional. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone within a 2 hour driving radius to go and enjoy this beautiful course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/14/2017

Thank you for your 5-star review! We're glad you made the trip from Wallops Island to come play our Robert Trent Jones-designed course. We look forward to having you back again soon!


"Tough course"


Mattpin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played a very cold, windy round on on the second to last day of the year. Besides the weather, the course itself was in great shape. Greens were running a little slow but that's to be expected in the winter. If you're planning on playing here, bring your A-game. This course is tight with tree lined fairways and OB on EVERY hole, both sides. Consider playing shorter tees if your driver isn't on point. All in all a great course and we'll definitely be back to try it in better weather.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/04/2017

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We're so glad you found our Robert Trent Jones-designed course challenging and in great shape. We are sorry you didn't get to experience nice weather, but cold and windy is not an atypical Eastern Shore December day! We'll look forward to having you back in warmer weather!


"Great Day"


u00005666160's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very enjoyable course, great layout and fast/slight and tough undulating greens. It's really worth playing this course. We played with another couple which made the day better. The course should have signage off the main road, first time playing here was a guess if we were in right place as it's a mile of winding road to the course. Put this course on your list. If you're an average player, then play the Gold tee blocks (5600 yds) as oppose to white (6200 yds) - not necessary to force the second shots of 170 yds on the par 4's - on vacation, have fun. We would definitely play again when we come back to OC.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/04/2016

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at Ocean Pines. We're glad you were able to make your way through the community to find us. We love it when our guests tell us they'll be back - that's what we love to hear! Looking forward to having you here the next time you're in the area!


"Pleasure"


Thomas8424614's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf was in great shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/04/2016

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad your experience at Ocean Pines was pleasurable and that you experienced great course conditions. We hope you'll visit us again soon!


"Great condition given all the rain"


u000002375579's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

We played this course after the area experienced heavy rain for a week. We played here 4 days in a row. We tried a different coarse the first day and it was so wet you couldn't walk most of the time. While this coarse was cart path only it drained well and was very easy to walk. We were just happy to play and the additional excercise didn't hurt either of us. The greens were is great shape. Pace of play was pretty good, 4 hours and 15 minutes and they were booked solid. Everyone was friendly and we felt appreciated.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/14/2016

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. As you mentioned, our area did get hit with substantial amounts of rain, but we're glad it didn't interfere with your enjoyment of your round here. We absolutely appreciate your business and hope you'll come back and visit us again!


"Very well maintained despite the amount of recent rain."


davidpare49's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was quite playable though very wet. Inside and outside staff were friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 10/07/2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our course. Please know that your kind comments will be shared with the rest of our staff. We're sorry for the wet conditions but glad you were able to play - the 8 inches of rain we received last week did indeed make things a little soggy. We hope you'll visit us again soon!


"OC Pines"


penguin106's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course but watch out for the hidden water on some shots. Staff was friendly and starter helpful.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/30/2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We agree that our Robert Trent Jones-designed course has some challenging shots! So glad you had fun - please come back and visit us again!


"Soggy course."


fluffman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was very nice. Weather dictated cart path only which was a bummer. Greens still putted pretty fast. Will play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/23/2016

Thank you for your review. We were hit with some wet weather this week and while that's good for our grass, it did force us to be cart path-only for a few days. We're glad you still enjoyed your experience and that you'll be back - that's what we love to hear!


"Poor coordination"


James5473582's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Undortunately they had a tournament on the front 9 and had us start off the back. They did not tell us about the tournament until after we made the turn and had to wait 30 minutes for the last group in the tournament to finish number 9 and play 1. (It was a 9 hole ladies tournament). If that wasn't bad enough, we had to wait for the other foursomes that were already waiting to tee off. We played number 1 then quit as we were waiting on the first hole 15 minutes and saw that we had to wait again on number 2. Many other nice courses in the area than to waste time at this one.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/24/2016

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. You're right - this was poor coordination on our part. Your experience was the result of an employee not following directions for the management of the tee sheet this day. (This employee, incidentally, no longer works at the golf course.) Maintaining pace of play is a bit of an art, and on this day we failed, which resulted in a negative experience for you and some other golfers. We would very much like the opportunity to make this up to you , and hope you'll reach out to us at golf@oceanpinesgolf.org. In the meantime, let us apologize again for your frustration and poor playing experience. Please know that that is not how business is normally done at Ocean Pines Golf Club. Thank you.


"A great bargain"


gleidigjr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A very playable course. Lots of water but very little comes in to play. Deep in a residential area but well worth the 10 minutes sojourn through the neighborhood.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/30/2016

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our Robert Trent Jones-designed course and that you took the time to travel through Ocean Pines to find us! We happen to agree that our course is a great bargain, so we hope you'll be back soon!


Commented on 08/22/2016

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your round and you hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!


"Nice round at Ocean Pines."


Dupuiswd's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall my wife and I had a pleasant experience except for the lack of greeting or any kind of reception by one of the two outside starters. One of the starters was very very pleasant while the other was obviously having a really bad day. There was wait time to begin our round. It only takes one poor performer to lower the level of satisfaction by paying customers. Hats off to the one starter that left a high level of satisfaction. Usually I do not take time to write so much but I wanted to make the point. In our prior round weeks ago because we belong to a local club, the lady starter was really exceptional!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/24/2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We're sorry that one of our employees didn't provide the kind of customer service that we as a business expect them to give, and are glad at least that you had a good experience with the other people with whom you had contact. Reviews such as yours help us provide better service in the future, so thank you for your honesty. We hope you'll come back and visit us again!


"Newbie"


cgilbert2016's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great experience, glad I found the course onGolf now. Staff was great, just wished I had more time to stay.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/22/2016

So glad you had a great experience at Ocean Pines! We hope you'll find some time again soon to come back and visit!


"The course"


Ehill93166's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was a great course player friendly and in good condition for this time of the season


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Suggestion"


Jeff7919547's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Only disappointment is finding out its cart path only after we paid online and not told until we were released by cart guy. While not a big deal I think course should notify you before you pay once you arrive at course. With that said I'll play it again and hope they take my comments constructively.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/24/2016

Thank you for your honest feedback. Our standard practice is to let golfers know any cart path restrictions when they check in, so you are absolutely correct in stating that that should have happened. We apologize that it didn't and appreciate your bringing it to our attention. We are glad, however, that your experience will not prevent you from playing our course again. We look forward to having you back. Thank you!


"Nice cource"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging but fun course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"no beer cart? What's up with that?"


u947628062's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is great. The only no beer cart all day long.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/24/2016

Thanks for the feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed the course but are sorry there wasn't a beverage cart available when you played. We normally operate our beverage cart service throughout the summer, so we're not sure why there wasn't one at the time you played. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention, and hope you'll come back and play Ocean Pines again!


"Great Course"


sheffieldlaw's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape even with a heavy rain in the morning. The layout lets you hit a driver quite often and is the right mix of openness and challenging. We got a hot deal on it so it was a great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good value, horrible staff members"


brewcrew61's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather

Reviewed on

First time playing this course, and it just isn't that good for what we paid for. The course is a typical community course in pretty fair shape with some tough shots. I gave this course a rating of 2 due to the staff. The starters failed to mention to us that it was cart path only. We talked to the starter for over 20 minutes while we waited for our foursome to warm up and grab some drinks, and he never mentioned "cart path only" once. With that said, the marshall comes out and tells us that we need to stay on the path, no problem. I told him that we were never instructed on this and before I could finish what I was saying to him, he stated "now I told you" and sped off. I met up with him at the turn while he was talking to the manager, told him there was no reason to be rude and that the starter really didn't tell us this. The manager did nothing, not even an apology or anything. This just put a bad taste in my mouth. This guy did the same thing to a group next to us. You think if that many people are on the fairways that maybe your starters should inform the golfers? Makes sense to me.

We chose this course over others because of its location to where we were going that night. I understand the importance of cart path only, as I play 2-3 times a week and love the game. I also understand the importance of customer service. There are just too many options with other courses nearby to go when we are down the ocean for a few times a year and in the summer.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed