Marlton Golf Club

2.8402823529 2.8 stars from 5 (179)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6121 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 69.8
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 9413 Midland Turn, Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772, Prince George's County
  • (301) 856-7566
  • (301) 856-0663
  • www.marltongolf.com

Year built: 1998
Type: Public
Greens: Bent
Fairways: Bent
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Recommended shirts are collared, shorts are of "Bermuda" length and shoes are required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6121 yards 69.8 123
White 72 5701 yards 67.6 116
Red (W) 72 4647 yards 69.2 113

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.6 stars from 5
Value: 3.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 179 Reviews
5 stars:
19
4 stars:
74
3 stars:
37
2 stars:
31
1 stars:
18

recommend this course

129 out of 179 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include narrow fairways bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"almost had course to myself"


u000004587207's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall need more grass on fairways and tees. Bunkers need work. Great deal booking online. All employees very friendly


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u9431345's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course needs work pn fairways, greens and some bunkers. Management maybe trying but conditions have been better


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 09/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We apologize that the course was not in the best shape for your round, but we did see you may have enjoyed the course layout and had a nice pace of play. We appreciate your feedback with this so we know where improvements can be made. Thank you for choosing our golf course in the Upper Marlboro, MD area, and we hope to see you again soon.


Jeff5581449's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course needs lots of work, good for a practice round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 09/05/2017:

Hello Jeff, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that our course may not have been in the best shape when you played. But, we are happy to see that you had a smooth round and that you enjoyed the course layout. Thank you for playing with us, and we'll see you on the course soon.

"Not a bad course but greens were in terrible condition"


u908016915's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout - not a bad course overall - but the greens were in terrible condition! There were many (not just one or two) spots of dry brown dirt with no grass at all. It's a nice place to practice your drives and irons and chipping but don't plan on practicing much putting, lol. Oh yeah... and I had to wait 20 minutes for some guys to finish on 18 because they had no keys for the carts!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/08/2017:

Hello Timothy, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that the greens may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It sounds like you enjoyed the course layout and were able to practice your game, so we are happy to hear that. Your business is valued and we hope to see you again soon.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Hi Taylor, we notice the 1 star rating. Are there any issues you would like us to follow up on? We hope to earn your business again!

"Cheap play but straight DOG TRACK!"


u000006523773's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff was not only rude but would also not serve our friends beer on the turn because "their policy is only 6 beers per person" (my friends were on #3). Save your time and money and don't play this course. Tee box / fairways and greens are in rough shape. Don't even attempt to play this course for any more than $20. That's about all this place is worth. Very run down. Nice course design and not very many people to slow pace. Otherwise very UNPROFESSIONAL staff that's operates the entire golf course through a KITCHEN. Sad state of affairs. Hope they get course back in better shape and hire some friendlier employees.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Hi Eric, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than enjoyable experience. It was certainly not our intent to provide poor customer service and feel badly that it happened. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again.


u438862147's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/28/2017:

Hello Rodney, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We hope to have improvements with our course the next time you visit. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to earn your business again soon.


sky1691's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from sky1691 on 08/04/2017:

Hi Robert, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club and for the 3 star rating. We are undergoing a rough transition period, We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again.

"What happened to Marlton??"


rlalalala's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was horrible. Not maintained, dry no grass in fairways, and greens were torn up. The pace of play was good because the only person we saw was one golfer playing about five balls all by himself.

When we stopped at the turn to buy a drink and sandwich the lady that was there earlier was sitting outside under a pavilion talking on her cell phone and she saw us stop and go in, and then leave after no one was in there to wait on us. This use to be a well kept fun to play golf course.

WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO MARLTON ??? I won't waste my time or money there again regardless of how cheap they make it. What a shame too.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Dennis, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our course, Marlton Golf Club. We regret to hear that we missed the mark on your most recent experience. Your feedback is very helpful to us as we continue to make improvements. We hope that you'll give us the chance to earn your business again.


Walter2416268's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u2232537's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"This course is headed the way of the Dodo"


u000005478310's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I wish I had taken pictures. The course was in the worst shape I've seen. I have played here sparingly over the past 10-15 years. I wont be back again.

1. Tee boxes are more sand than anything

2. Fairways were either rock hard and dirt or weeded a foot long in some areas.

3. The snack-bar (where you pay) wasn't manned for the turn, so we were without drinks. No coolers were around the course either.

4. Graffiti on #8, Graffiti on #3 - many more, but those I remember specifically.

5. Check out the driving range tee boxes and how overgrown they are.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/24/2017:

Hi Brent, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that we missed the mark with your most recent experience. Your feedback has been noted with our management team so we are able to make necessary adjustments. We appreciate your business over the years and hope that you give us the chance to earn it again.

"Good course for beginners"


u263075779's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout of the course has few blind shots and a distance that is not intimidating to new golfers. The fairways and greens are a little rough. Maybe more than a little. We have to play spot and place in the fairways due to the amount of missing grass. But I like playing there. It's my local course and with almost no wait to tee off I can squeeze in a round in when it wouldn't be possible otherwise.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Stephen, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff, the layout and pace of play. We appreciate the 3 star rating and hope to see you again soon in the Washington DC area.

"Paid $8 on Golf Now."


BirdDawg10's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

For $8 what else can you say. Played in less than 2.5 hours - only saw a handful of cars in the parking lot. Not very challenging but was looking for a low price course. Wouldn't pay above $25 to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/17/2017:

Hello Bradley, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club in the Washington DC area. We are happy to hear that you had a smooth round and that it was at a good value for you. Thank you for the 3 star review and we hope to see you again soon.


markgrifjr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 07/31/2017:

Hello, thank you for the 3 star review. We are happy to see that you rated our staff friendliness a 5 of 5, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for playing Marlton Golf Club and we hope to see you again soon.


u809078499's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Wilfredo, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We appreciate the 3 star rating and are glad to hear that you're seeing improvements. We hope that you give us the chance to earn your business again soon in the Washington DC area.

"Challenging with Variety"


dlkeldsen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course offers a lot of contrasts with hills and dales and some water. A short layout but challenging as it requires wise decisions on doglegs, uphill and downhill paths to the greens. Could use some work but they seem to be taking some action. Greens were nice. Would definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Dog Track"


Brian6219162's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Course was in terrible shape. The greens were okay, however everything else was awful. It took me 15 minutes to check-in at the snack counter. One person was working check-in and serving golfers buying hot dogs and beer at the turn. Crazy set-up and very slow.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 05/23/2017:

Hello Brian, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.


barry3970908's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"What has been a great course"


Byron6734376's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course and facilities as well as equipment and carts have seen better days. The course design and layout is wonderful. The greens and fairways are in need reseeding and upkeep.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 05/19/2017:

Hello Byron, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed