Marlton Golf Club

2.8337352941 2.8 stars from 5 (189)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6121 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 69.8
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 9413 Midland Turn, Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772, Prince George's County
  • (301) 856-7566
  • (301) 856-0663
  • www.marltongolf.com

Year built: 1998
Type: Public
Greens: Bent
Fairways: Bent
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Recommended shirts are collared, shorts are of "Bermuda" length and shoes are required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6121 yards 69.8 123
White 72 5701 yards 67.6 116
Red (W) 72 4647 yards 69.2 113

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 189 Reviews
5 stars:
19
4 stars:
76
3 stars:
39
2 stars:
35
1 stars:
20

recommend this course

136 out of 189 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include narrow fairways bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Marlton has seen better days"


brooksgolf1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Marlton is a good course but has seen better days, no water on course seems worn. Makes you wonder if it will be open next year? Greens are in decent shape but fairways, tee boxes and sand traps are in rough shape.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 11/08/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club in the Washington D.C. area. We're very sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best conditions on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback so we may improve your future experience with us. It looks like you did have a friendly experience with our staff and enjoyed the course layout, so we hope this improved your round. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Love playing this course"


u911282362's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As a beginning golfer I am enjoying playing Marlton! The staff is Great! The course is challenging for me and the pace is great for this newbie to play !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Awful"


Richard6466424's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in such bad shape we just left and went to Oak Creek and played


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Hello Richard, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We're very sorry to hear about the course conditions on your day of play, and any feedback for improvements is greatly appreciated as we strive to make your next experience better. Thank you for playing our course in the Washington D.C. area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Poor Conditions/Good Value"


zbodel1022's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The tee boxes and fairways were shot, but the greens were nearly perfect. A little soft from recent watering but putted true. Will be back if I come across another Hot Deal.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club in the Washington D.C. area, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape on your day of play, and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will see improvements during your next round. Overall, it looks like your round was a great value for you, so we hope this enhanced your overall experience with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

"conditions"


dexterboy's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really like the course layout and variety of holes. the fairways are "blotchy", lots of thin bare spots. The greens could be good but there are a lot of inconsiderate golfers. The greens have too many unrepaired ball marks which ruin what could be excellent greens. The course is fun, there is a mix of really easy holes along with more difficult ones. With some more grass in fairways and repair of the greens this could be a good place to play. this used to be an excellent course to play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 10/23/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that the course conditions were not up their usual standard and we appreciate the feedback so we can make the best improvements. We did see that you enjoyed the pace of play and course layout so we hope that was able to make your round enjoyable. Thank you for recommending our course in the Upper Marlboro, MD area and we hope to see you back again soon!

"Fun course"


qblack's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played after a rainy couple days course was in good shape


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 10/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, and for the 3-stars. We are happy to hear that the course was in good shape when you played, even after the rain. It also looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to hear that. Your feedback is appreciated. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Washington DC area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"conditions of course"


dexterboy's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

played last week, the greens were terrible. looks like they watered them 'cause there was more grass this time, but, greens are still bad--too many bald spots, and, many ball marks left by inconsiderate "golfers".

fairways still really bare. 90 degrees when I played and NO water in any of the water stands on the course and ball washers had little or no water


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 10/03/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear parts of the course may not have been in the best shape when you played, specifically on the greens and the fairways. Your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you enjoyed the course layout and had a smooth round, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Nice course but needs greens work"


Blake1988's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played here a few times, mostly because of the rate offered by Golf Now.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello Blake, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played, but we are glad to hear that your round was a better value for you. Your feedback is appreciated. Thank you for recommending our golf course and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"conditions of course"


dexterboy's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

haven't played here in a year--extremely disappointed. fairways and greens were pathetic. grass was thin and rare. only a couple of fairways had decent grass. greens were patchy with ball marks all over them. making a putt over 3 ft. was luck, less than 3 ft. still problematic. when I played this course in the past it was almost always in very good condition and enjoyable to play--not today. sad to see it this way


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 09/25/2017:

Hello Dexter, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Upper Marlboro area. We are sorry to hear that our course was in poor condition when you last played. However, we are glad to see that you had a smooth pace of play and that you found our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

"A good value"


nappygolfer's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course to work on your game without breaking the bank. Greens not in best condition but course was clean, staff was friendly, and pace of play was on par.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"almost had course to myself"


u000004587207's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall need more grass on fairways and tees. Bunkers need work. Great deal booking online. All employees very friendly


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u9431345's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course needs work pn fairways, greens and some bunkers. Management maybe trying but conditions have been better


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 09/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We apologize that the course was not in the best shape for your round, but we did see you may have enjoyed the course layout and had a nice pace of play. We appreciate your feedback with this so we know where improvements can be made. Thank you for choosing our golf course in the Upper Marlboro, MD area, and we hope to see you again soon.


Jeff5581449's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course needs lots of work, good for a practice round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 09/05/2017:

Hello Jeff, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that our course may not have been in the best shape when you played. But, we are happy to see that you had a smooth round and that you enjoyed the course layout. Thank you for playing with us, and we'll see you on the course soon.

"Not a bad course but greens were in terrible condition"


u908016915's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout - not a bad course overall - but the greens were in terrible condition! There were many (not just one or two) spots of dry brown dirt with no grass at all. It's a nice place to practice your drives and irons and chipping but don't plan on practicing much putting, lol. Oh yeah... and I had to wait 20 minutes for some guys to finish on 18 because they had no keys for the carts!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/08/2017:

Hello Timothy, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that the greens may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It sounds like you enjoyed the course layout and were able to practice your game, so we are happy to hear that. Your business is valued and we hope to see you again soon.



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Hi Taylor, we notice the 1 star rating. Are there any issues you would like us to follow up on? We hope to earn your business again!

"Cheap play but straight DOG TRACK!"


u000006523773's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff was not only rude but would also not serve our friends beer on the turn because "their policy is only 6 beers per person" (my friends were on #3). Save your time and money and don't play this course. Tee box / fairways and greens are in rough shape. Don't even attempt to play this course for any more than $20. That's about all this place is worth. Very run down. Nice course design and not very many people to slow pace. Otherwise very UNPROFESSIONAL staff that's operates the entire golf course through a KITCHEN. Sad state of affairs. Hope they get course back in better shape and hire some friendlier employees.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/07/2017:

Hi Eric, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than enjoyable experience. It was certainly not our intent to provide poor customer service and feel badly that it happened. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again.


u438862147's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/28/2017:

Hello Rodney, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club, in the Washington DC area. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We hope to have improvements with our course the next time you visit. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to earn your business again soon.


sky1691's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from sky1691 on 08/04/2017:

Hi Robert, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Marlton Golf Club and for the 3 star rating. We are undergoing a rough transition period, We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again.

"What happened to Marlton??"


rlalalala's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was horrible. Not maintained, dry no grass in fairways, and greens were torn up. The pace of play was good because the only person we saw was one golfer playing about five balls all by himself.

When we stopped at the turn to buy a drink and sandwich the lady that was there earlier was sitting outside under a pavilion talking on her cell phone and she saw us stop and go in, and then leave after no one was in there to wait on us. This use to be a well kept fun to play golf course.

WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO MARLTON ??? I won't waste my time or money there again regardless of how cheap they make it. What a shame too.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Marlton Golf Club on 08/02/2017:

Hi Dennis, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our course, Marlton Golf Club. We regret to hear that we missed the mark on your most recent experience. Your feedback is very helpful to us as we continue to make improvements. We hope that you'll give us the chance to earn your business again.


Walter2416268's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed