Crumpin-Fox Club

4.6434705882 4.6 stars from 5 (94)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7007 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • Parmenter Rd, Bernardston, Massachusetts 01337, Franklin County
  • (800) 943-1901, (413) 648-9685
  • (413) 648-9749
  • golfthefox.com

Year built: 1977
Architect(s): Roger Rulewich (1990), Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1977), Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1989)
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7007 yards 73.8 141
Blue 72 6508 yards 71.3 136
Gold 72 6095 yards 70.1 133
Red (W) 72 5432 yards 71.5 131

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 94 Reviews
5 stars:
72
4 stars:
16
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

90 out of 94 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers entertaining clients a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Bucket List Course"


u000007635743's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is pricey if you're not getting a deal, but is one of those type of courses that you don't mind paying the coin.

Excellent layout and all the challenge you'll ever want. Fast, perfect rolling greens. Fairways very nice, traps groomed and the best, AND I MEAN THE BEST, golf carts you'll find anywhere. Like sitting in a lazy boy with GPS and USB ports on the carts.

Pace can be a tad slow but that's because high handicappers will be looking for balls a lot in the rough or edge of the woods.

I always go back here a couple times a year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Poor experience except for the food."


David5637688's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Except for the food and the perfect weather, a very poor experience.

First, they didn't have my tee time I made with GolfNow. Then, they charged me full price when I had paid GolfNow towards the fees. I was told I needed to address that with GolfNow. Tee times were 5 minutes apart and we waited on every single shot on our way to a 5+ hour round.

Course is difficult for sure, and the conditions were very good. Except the rough was quite long and the leaves were everywhere. Most courses in this area of the country do a fairly good job picking up leaves.

Beverage cart came around once and there was no ranger anywhere. Pro shop closed an hour before they said it would.

I've played here before, but don't remember such a negative experience.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Pace of play"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Over five hours for a weekday round. No rangers on course, when we spoke to clubhouse at turn he said “I’m only employee on today”?


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Special course"


braddockpark's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Crumpin Fox has always been a great golf course ,but with the new up grades ,it has gone to an elite level..

Course layout and greens are challenging even for the advanced golfer..

Highly recommended..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good to play here again"


ball82's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It had been several years since playing here but the great deal from Golf Now was too much to turn down. Always enjoy playing here, only complaint was pace of play. We were a threesome that had a threesome in front of us on the front nine & they somehow became a foursome on the back adding at least a 1/2 to our round as we waited on just about every shot. Probably wouldn't play here at regular rates as it's quite expensive but Golf Now had the great deal, hope to play here again! Love the power carts as well.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000007732711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



wallen7afairway's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Slow play and lack of golf etiquette by golfers playing the day


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course, beautiful scenery"


armden1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We play this course at least once a year when we are in New England for our annual vacation. The course was in great condition and the pace of play was as good as it gets. We are both intermediate golfers and love the challenges of the course.


I recommend this course


"Always good."


u440271515's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just got back from 25 years of South Florida golf. Feels like home.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Charles2814179's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Bona Fide Gem"


rayging's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was nearly a 90 mile drive to play Crumpin Fox but well worth the effort. Using a Hot Deal helped this senior golfer and, as I experienced a while back, the course was in great shape and the staff as friendly as ever. I was able to play a two-ball scramble since the group in back of me were two holes behind. Even the senior tees (over 6,000 yds.) presented a challenge but a fair one---the number 1 and 2 handicap holes deserve their rating and nailed me with a double bogey on #1 and bogey on #2. As an old expression goes, "try it, you'll like it."


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wonderful course"


u979534503's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Layout, staff, conditions, food, anything you can think of all up to top standards. They drive your cart out to you at arrival. Load your bags for you. Beer cart was around all afternoon. Just a great place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Crumpin Fox"


madmax92618's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course in excellent shape. Greens rolling very nicely and pace of play was a reasonable 4 hours. Lunch in clubhouse was a few notches above average. All in all, a terrific play date. Rate through golf now made it extra special.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Best course in western mass"


ROMAN8374322's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course to play each hole is private . Greens in exceptional shape

Fairways as well in great shape . Greens roll at about 13 on the meter and have

Many brakes on them . Numerous elevation changes. What ever you shoot at other courses add 7 to 10 strokes to your game when you play there. Need to play conservative golf to score well . Very chalenging course .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Robert Trent Jones Sr classic"


u788871066's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Staff was great. The course was in great shape. Each hole demands a precise tee shot and precise 2nd shot. Greens were fast but fair. What wasn't fair was the rough. Needs to be cut to make it playable. Rough was thick and high enough to host a USGA event. The course layout can stand on its own without the brutal rough. The course lacks yardage makers but they are getting new carts with GPS so that problem will not be an issue. A true gem. Worth the trip to play for sure. Must bring your A game. The only other negative was the range was mats only. Make it grass and cut the rough and you would have one of the best courses in the country.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


Tom6595575's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well worth the time, really nice course and a friendly staff, but if you play on the weekend you need to be prepared for a possible 5 hour round


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Slightly disappointed."


Otis22's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Course is a mix of good holes and gimmicky holes. A lot of blind tee shots. Local knowledge is critical. Did not live up to my expectations.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Crumpin-Fox Club on 06/28/2017:

Hello Peter, thank you for taking the time to review Crumpin-Fox Club in the New England area. We are happy to see that you had a good experience with our staff and that you had a smooth round. We hope that you will give our course another shot and thank you for golfing with us.

"Beautiful but Tough"


thorntond's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played this course again with the Safari Golf Club of Western Massachusetts. It was in excellent condition as always. For an average bogey golfer like myself it is a fairly challenging course. Very hilly, a lot of woods with some narrow fairways. the large greens were fast and rolled very true. I'm glad I had a cart. Will definitely be back this year.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u255492065's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They are working on the course, but it didn't really effect play. Staff were helpful. We ate after golf and the food was good, but they only offer pub food. We will go back again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u9981165's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed