Crumpin-Fox Club

4.7237000000 4.7 stars from 5 (76)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7007 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • Parmenter Rd, Bernardston, Massachusetts 01337, Franklin County
  • (800) 943-1901, (413) 648-9685
  • (413) 648-9749
  • golfthefox.com
Write a review

Year built: 1977
Architect(s): Roger Rulewich (1990), Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1977), Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1989)
Type: Semi-Private
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/15

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7007 yards 73.8 141
Blue 72 6508 yards 71.3 136
Gold 72 6095 yards 70.1 133
Red (W) 72 5432 yards 71.5 131

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

Average Rating 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 76 Reviews
5 stars:
61
4 stars:
11
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

74 out of 76 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers entertaining clients a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A real New England gem"


MikeBaileyGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/22/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Two of the most important factors in rating a course is how memorable is it and was it interesting? On both accounts, Crumpin-Fox comes through with flying colors. Having just played it, I could remember every hole, and no two holes were alike. Elevated tees, water hazards, interesting greens complex and a variety of doglegs make Crumpin-Fox one of the most interesting courses in New England. Well worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course




u255492065's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They are working on the course, but it didn't really effect play. Staff were helpful. We ate after golf and the food was good, but they only offer pub food. We will go back again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u9981165's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Noticeable improvements"


u000007441838's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played this course on May 17th with the Safari group. It was in great condition. Having played it last fall, it was very obvious how much work was done on the course to bring it back to its usual top condition. The greens weren't quite as fast as I remembered, but it had rained quite a bit prior to playing, Nice place for an outing. The staff is very accommodating.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging Course"


Steve182T's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played here last Wednesday with the Safari Club. Gorgeous day. Always a challenging track, and that day was no exception. Course was in excellent condition from tee to green. Had a very enjoyable day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"A true test of skills"


William1776111's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

If you want a true test of your skills, go to Crumpin Fox. As a member of the Safari Club, I had the pleasure of playing the Fox for about my 6th time. Each time it is a real challenge. Many holes are difficult to hit the greens in regulation without good drives strategically located. The conditions were great and many holes have had trees removed to allow more sunlight in to enhance the grass conditions. This course is worth a drive from anywhere to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Safari Club Outing to Crumpin Fox GC"


u1568351's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I attended our Safari Club outing at Crump and the course was outstanding as usual. Unfortunately, they had just hosted a US Open qualifier, so the rough lived up to its name, "rough". That aside, the place was in great shape and I enjoyed the entire round, even if I didn't score as well as I had hoped. The staff was very friendly and helped us get our large group (144 golfers) in carts and onto the course. They are doing some improvements to the club house and have cleared quite a few trees and brush from around some of the holes, which should allow more light and air to reach some of the greens and tees. I will look forward to the next time I get to play at Crumpin Fox.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"The Crump, wow"


Fstedy's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great layout and beautiful . Very hard, bring your A game and ammo. Cool clubhouse.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"SAFARI GOLF ASSOCIATION"


OMER2003's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

On May 18th i played Crumpin Fox with the Safari Golf Association.

when we arrived they were ready for us , the staff and Management were great, the course was in excellent condition as well.

This golf course is always in great shape

looking forward to playing there again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Safari golf"


Morninggolf's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Crumpin Fox is a great place to golf and test your golfing abilities. The course is beautifully laid out and very well maintained. Staff members were so helpful and courteous. We enjoyed an incredible day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Long trip, wonderful experience."


rusty13's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Had a wonderful day at Crumpin-Fox with other people from the Safari club. The day was warm in the 90's and the course

was in wonderful condition. We did fill the course which may have slowed the play down a bit, but that did not take away from the experience. Our group definitely had a wonderful time. I always enjoy playing here and the buffet planned for us was great. I don't mind the 78 mile trip from Sturbrdge as the experience is well worth it. I will be back again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


philipberube's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I played the course last Wednesday with the safari club member 19 and enjoyed the course very much. It is one of the great courses the safari club has us play every years. Always look forward to play there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Better & better all the time"


Bullguy's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

The Safari Club of Golf just completed its organization's annual pilgrimage to this incredible golf course. All 140 plus members attending were thoroughly impressed with both the conditions of the golf course, as well as the attention and service we received from the entire staff.

There's lots of renovations and upgrades currently underway that will no doubt return this course to one of the highest ranking public courses in the country.

Our club members can't wait to return to this mecca of golf next season.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Worth the drive"


garygb56's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Our Safari Club group had a great time at Crumpin-Fox. The course was challenging but fair, the staff was top-notch and the food was delicious. It's one of the highlights of our golf year to get out to play here.

Gary B. (Safari Club member #22)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"167 Safari Golf member"


papabillyb's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Last Wed. the Safari Club with 144 members played at Crump and Fox. The weather was super the course was in excellent shape. It is not an easy course in that it is a long course and the course is rolling fairways ,elevated greens surrounded with bunkers. Many of the par threes have elevated tees looking down at greens surrounded with bunkers. The staff could not have been kinder and was very professional. We did not have to wait very often during the round. Super Day


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Improvements are ongoing"


Donald1911242's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The Safari Club of Western Mass. had the privilege of playing one of the finer courses in western Mass. There were well over 100 golfers who participated in this fun outing. The pace of play was tolerable based on the number of golfers. The course was going through quite a few of renovations including the removal of many trees on the perimeter of the course. This enables more sunlight to improve the condition of the course and speeds up play. There was work being done on the cart paths and construction of a new patio area. The only minor complaint was that the bar service at the end of round was somewhat slow because of the amount of players converging at the end of the shotgun schedule. The course management was extremely generous in offering discounts in the pro shop plus a demonstration of Bridgestone equipment. This is a course highly recommended for group outings and food service is available for large groups at the end of the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Safari Club Outing"


elykC's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

From the music at the practice range to food after the game this place was outstanding. Its long 6095 yards from up front . The course was in great shape. The greens are fast. If you want a challenge this is the place to play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"A great Safari outing"


Golfmanputt1946's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Another great event for Safari at a great golf course there has been a lot of changes inside and and out that has made this course even better...over 3000 trees have been taken down which opens many of the holes we played it the day after the US Open qualifier and was in tip top shape...will return soon


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Go out of your way to play here"


RickM298's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played the course yesterday (5/17/17) with the Safari Club and had a great time. Course provides many challenges to test your game. Course was in impeccable condition from Tee to green. Staff both on and off the course were just as great. Worth the time and effort to come and play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top Course"


rwgosssr's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

I had the pleasure of playing one of the premier courses in this area May 17, (the day after US Open qualifying at the course) with 140 friends from the Safari Club. The weather was hot (and my golf was not). We played a shotgun start, and while we were waiting to tee off, a fat turkey leisurely strolled across our fairway and into the woods. It was obvious the bird knew that it was safe to be in the fairway with my group on the tee.

The course was immaculate and greens were fast and true, the rough was thick and lush. A few holes play along water and there were a few carries over water for the brave.

The staff did an awesome job to accommodate all. And kudos to Zeke's grill for an amazing meal.

All in all, a great day with good friends at a great venue.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course in rough winter shape"


yomo45's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed the layout.Needs to recover from winter....The SAND traps have not been trimmed etc in last year????!...needs word...would return after winter recovery and SAND trap work....great layout...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed