Willow Wood Golf Club

4.3403529412 4.3 stars from 5 (60)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6138 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 69.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6138 yards 69.2 123
White 71 5547 yards 66.0 108
Red (W) 71 4737 yards 66.1 107

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 60 Reviews
5 stars:
29
4 stars:
22
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

58 out of 60 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers forced carries water hazards  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hydrated course"


meliswieting's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/10/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 9 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I always enjoy golfing here. They have really kept this course very hydrated during this horrible drought we have had this summer. One of the best around this summer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u4080758's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is well maintained, nice playing very nice course for a fair price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



tomtrump's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Enjoyed the course"


keschu110's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the course on a beautiful August afternoon. In good condition overall, it's a little dry around the edges. Had a good pace of play. Greens were challenging but fair. Will return to play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


Dumdog4's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Read the other reviews and it was a hot deal for $15 so decided to give it a try. Played on a Sunday morning with my wife. Not a very long course and a bunch of blind type shots, so it's one of the those courses that you would score much better the second time around. Very nice course for the ladies, the tee boxes were in great shape and greens were soft and rolled good. Will play it again for sure.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u4766491's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


markuz7777's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/28/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Friendliest staff around. Love the course...if I lived closer I would join in a heartbeat...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Everyone Should Add This Course..Really !!!!!"


Jeffery4383367's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very Friendly Staff,I was caught in a big construction jam and called the course and the staff who answered the phone was very friendly.Never complained not once about me being late 15 min. The course I thought would be ok but turned out to 5tar for me with everything included.Course is very good,well kept greens (fast) but perfect,fairways were tremendous and well kept also.Area look like used to be a farm it seems but still very nice also located next to a dirt track that you can here loud and clear

But anyone could blow that off I have heard worse for real I

Advise that anyone reading this do attend I'm telling you this I WILL BE PLAYING SOON AGAIN LOVE IT !!!!! And that's coming from a Grand Rapids,MI. Man. Also about 30 min. Away. I WILL TELL YOU THIS I WILL BE BACK HAVE TO PLAY IT AGAIN CANT LET IT DEFEAT ME LIKE THAT...lol !!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Ronald4180415's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Short but good condition"


AmotoXracer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Willow Wood is a good place to go if your fine with a short course. I don't think its even 6000 yrds off the back tees. So a low score here is kind of an inverted accomplishment. Great condition and a nice layout though.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"My round of Golf"


Chris6894956's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have been playing Willowood for three years, it has always been a very enjoyable place to play golf. However, my round of golf today was amazing . The greens were spectacular, the reaction to longshots with an iron to the green was beautiful to see and how the ball reacted once it hit the green . I was so impressed of the play today, compared to last year and the year before. I would definitely recommend this course and have on several occasions To my friends that play golf.

Please don't change the greens, they are almost perfect.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


E126477's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My college age boys and I love play this course, its off the beatin' path, has an up north feel, you can play it from the back tees or the average tees and it makes you be a shot maker. But you can also score when your on ....


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Staff"


u372965927's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

While waiting to tee off on hole one, there was a foursome backup that was starting before us. We decided that we could play the back nine first. We drove the green and a the staff member came flying down and said NO we couldn't do that. We could have finished the hole and been gone before holding anyone up. We restarted on the first hole following the slow foursome. We proceed to play, (while others were jumping hole to hole, Because they said they lived there). Everyone must abide by the same RULES. I WON'T be back.


I don't recommend this course


Response from Willow Wood Golf Club on 06/05/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course. We are sorry to hear about your subpar experience at our golf course. We’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to earn your business again.

"I"


mrcraps's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy playing this course, excellent condition and enjoyable. Management is great and always helpful and friendly. Prices are good, not only for the golf, but for the food and drinks.


I recommend this course


"Nice Course, slow play, no ranger"


u000006346543's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played as a twosome

2.5 hrs front 9,

At turn 5 groups waiting.

Packed up called it a day

The course was in great shape.

The greens rolling on fire.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Willow Wood Golf Club on 05/09/2017:

Hello Darrell, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the subpar pace of play, we will pass your feedback onto the appropriate department. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

"Great Course, GREATER Value"


LETHAL30LEFTY's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Located about 30 minutes from Lansing, you won't find a better course for the price. $20 spring and Fall rates, $30 Peak Rate. This course will challenge your shot making and is not a "grip it & rip it" style. Always well manicured with challenging greens and a great chance to score well. Definitely a Feel-Good course.

6 Stars for the Friendliness of Staff. They do an excellent job of leaving you with a feeling of wanting to return again and again. Keep up the good work.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great track"


Barber7580's avatar
Age:  45-54

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Fun track with great hospitality, well worth the value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Well kept"


Golfnutt3's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course is in very good condition. I played in june and October and the course was equally well taken care of both times. Will play as often as possible in the future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bargain Course"


u000001736083's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2016
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

Wonderful course hidden in rural area. Very playable with opportunities for birdies on first two holes. Well-maintained and very friendly staff. Great course for the $$$.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Best course"


u000007718153's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is my favorite course in mid michigan. It's beautiful and well taken care of. One of the best courses in the state.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed