Mountain View Golf Course

4.1035529412 4.1 stars from 5 (174)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6682 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Back 72 6682 yards 72.5 133
Middle 72 6117 yards 69.8 122
Forward (W) 73 5376 yards 71.5 125
Seniors 73 5376 yards 65.9 117

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 174 Reviews
5 stars:
48
4 stars:
92
3 stars:
28
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

158 out of 174 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is near the airport convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals walkers advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes thick rough   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

RSchach's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Overrated"


Amir3019245's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

I saw all the good reviews and decided to play here last month, I booked it thru golf now, pro shop staff was very friendly however the starter wasn't as friendly. We got backed up at the par 3 fourth hole , it was dreadful from that point on. I talked to the ranger about the pace of play and he went on to say oh normally it's not like this. I gave it a try again this past Sunday, It was worse than my last experience, I was told that they had a first tee outing earlier therefore course got backed up,. I don't think I'll be playing this course again.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

We're sorry to hear about the slower play. Weekends can be busy for us especially if we've had an outing. We appreciate the very helpful feedback though and we hope you will give us another try in the future.


u6718860's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 09/19/2017:

Thank you for the four stars!

"The nicest pro shop staff in the area! Great conditions too!"


garymtwalsh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Gem of a course and facility. I come here weekly to play or practice. Staff is the best!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 09/14/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely five-star review! We're so grateful to have golfers like you and we look forward to your next round with us!


u000006484503's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 08/22/2017:

Thank you for the four stars! Please come and see us again soon!

"Top rated"


domenic1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a great time at mountainview. Always look forward to playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 08/17/2017:

And we enjoy having you! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review!


u455508297's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 08/29/2017:

Thank you for the very helpful feedback!

"Great course"


u238317820's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall great course. The staff was accommodated us showing up a little early. They weren’t very pleasant though. The course was in perfect condition. Overall a great day. Pace of play slowed down a lot. There were times where 2 groups were waiting to tee off but other than that it was great.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 08/17/2017:

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your round overall although we are sorry if you felt the staff wasn't as pleasant as they could have been. We hope you will return soon though for another great experience!

"Good course, friendly staff"


Chevvy579's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

First time playing here. Course was in great condition and staff was friendly. Good challenging course for a beginner to intermediate player. Would definitely play here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 07/17/2017:

Thank you for the great review! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our course and staff and we look forward to your next round with us!

"Cart path only ?"


kevko05's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First of all this is the first time Ive played Mountain view in close to 50 years. As I kid I played here a lot and was really looking forward to returning. I was not disappointed.

The course is challenging the greens conditions etc. were close to perfect. The only problem was the amount of rain during the week which made the rough..rough!! Some places very high. And the greens were maybe a day or two overdue for cutting. Otherwise a great experience.

Here comes the bad part. There was heavy rain in the morning which stopped around noon. We had a 2 oclock tee time. Because of the morning rain management decided to enforce cart path only. What a joke? The fairways, rough and all were well drained and basically dry. Nowhere did we see any hint of wet conditions. I'm 63 years old and had to walk basically the entire course because of this nonsense directive. When I did get tired I did the 90 degree fairway thing and immediately drovet to the rough as soon as I could. The ranger saw this and reprimanded us not once..but twice ! Then said do it again we take the cart key. Besides the walking it really slowed down play and made the day an almost 5 1/2 hour round. Yawn !!!!

Use your heads Mountain View staff. You have a beautiful course....lets equip it with beautiful minds too !


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 08/17/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you felt the cart path only conditions were unwarranted. We can assure you, it is always with the great course conditions in mind and we hope it won't deter you from play here again!

"Good Course, Bad Staff"


Michael6724273's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

I have played this course several times over the past few years and have enjoyed the course itself for what it is, an average public course. However, the staff seem to think they are Pebble Beach as they refused to wait for our last member of our group (who had a family emergency) for two minutes, even though the course was empty! We offered the group behind us to play ahead and we would go off after, but the starter's ego got in the way of that. The starter was extremely rude and pushy to both our group and the group behind us. He claimed that "they follow rules around here" even though he was wearing jean shorts and disrespecting his customers. The course itself is a decent track but not worth the trouble if we're treated like this again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 06/22/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback. We're so sorry to hear that you felt the staff was being unreasonable and we're certainly going to look into this further. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we hope you have a great day.

"A little tight"


Joe5387752's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were great....Fairways great. Rough was perfect. Played in 4 hours 15 min. Tee time was 7:40.

The only issue i has was that it was a little tight, meaning, some tee boxes were literally feet away from greens and the opening tee was right on a public street. We definitely liked the front more than the back. All in all, nice.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 06/13/2017:

Thank you so much for the great four-star review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our conditions and that pace of play was snappy! We appreciate your feedback on our layout and we hope to see you again soon!

"Fun and Challenging"


RMDunson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I absolutely loved this course! It's a challenge but even a beginner golfer can have fun on this course. Green and Fairways will certainly make you think about your shot, but that's how you get better. The staff and Marshalls were very friendly!

The scenery was beautiful and even saw a group of deer peacefully eating. The fairways and greens were in excellent condition. I would certainly play there again when I'm visiting the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

Thank you so much for the excellent 5-star review! We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your round with us and we're looking forward to your next visit!


u000006796397's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I received no assistance from the very rude staff. It took me asking another golfer to find the first tee box. There was no warning that the greens were airified so I was upset to see they were when I started playing. Surely wouldn't have paid full price for airified greens.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 06/01/2017:

We're so sorry to hear that you didn't receive assistance from our staff or aerification notices and we'll be looking into that. Thank you for the feedback!

"Mountain View"


u865060158's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course and pretty wide open. I am a 27 handicap and it just about the right challenge for me.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 06/01/2017:

Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so glad that our course met your skill level and provided a fun experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


u994468458's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



theoabt's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 04/02/2017:

Thank you for the 4 stars!

"Good course"


Brendan7189691's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Every hole is pretty straight yet I found alot of holes difficult because of the bunker locations. We went out in the morning when everything was frozen and ended the day in mush at 65 degrees but when can you expect for February golf. Overall I will be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 04/02/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Brendan! Yes, February golf conditoins can be hit or miss but we're glad that you overall enjoyed your round and we hope you'll be back to enjoy some beautiful Spring golf.

"Typical NJ course......"


ericgrafton's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

What is it with NJ golf courses and the haughty attitude of some of their staff? They act as if they're doing you a favor by letting you play there. My experience has been, NJ courses are relatively boring, and often overpriced. (read further).

It's difficult to write anything other than average for this course. The conditions of the course were good considering it's January and raining. Pace of play was fine until I caught up with a group on 11, but that's on me (I was playing fast). The ranger was very nice, and accommodating. It's an open course with a lot of long straight shots......greens played surprisingly quick given length of grass and wet conditions. I'm sure it's a more scenic place with mid season greenery. For the most part, a decent place to play mid season for the right price.

Here's the rub.....

If you purchase a Hot Deal round through this place, expect to be treated poorly. I was greeted with a non smile "you arrived" attitude. Upon receiving my starter slip, I was told the cart needed to be returned by 4:30 (sunset). This was after i booked a full round for a 2:00 PM tee. When i asked if I was expected to play a full round in 2 1/2 hours, I was told, quote; "for what you paid, it's really like 9 holes anyway'. Wrong answer......what i paid for a round is irrelevant. Not to mention sunset was 5:07, not 4:30. If you need the carts back by a certain time, put the specific time on your listing. Ironically, I had no intention of playing a full round. Had they not said anything, they would've had the cart back after 9 holes, and I would've been happy. Golf courses pay Golf Now by providing a certain number of Hot Deals. That's the cost of doing business. The customer should be treated no differently. I can't tell you how many full price rounds i've booked/paid, based on an experience I had with a Hot Deal, there were many. But that will never happen here..... Certain staff here may not see the forest past the tree.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 02/08/2017:

We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your interaction with our staff. It is never our intention to make our golfers feel snubbed or unwelcome. We will certainly look into this further and thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

"Mountain view golf course"


RAYMOND7557666's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is still in excellent shape this time of the year is rare even though the green is a little slower then during he summer time. Overall I still enjoyed the course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Mountain View Golf Course on 01/09/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Raymond! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our conditions despite the chilly weather. We look forward to your next visit with us!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed