Red Hook Golf Club

4.3137294118 4.3 stars from 5 (45)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6539 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6539 yards 72.4 132
White 71 6134 yards 70.1 129
White (W) 71 6134 yards 74.8 134
Gold (W) 71 5244 yards 71.2 122
Gold 71 5244 yards 68.3 116
Red (W) 71 5155 yards 70.7 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 45 Reviews
5 stars:
30
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

45 out of 45 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals walkers advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes thick rough  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Tight narrow track, accuracy a must."


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Beautiful classic design parkland course. Not the longest course in length but still presents many challenges. Many holes have dog legs and with strategically placed bunkers, you must think where to place the ball for position. Thus pretty much a second shot course. On this hot and humid day, greens weren't really receptive and putts ran fast. Being a semiprivate course, tee times I guess aren't stacked so course conditions were great from tee boxes to greens. With no beverage cart and food available, off course amenities is what pretty much lacked. At least I was told this when I checked in.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course!!!"


u694497988's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

On this crisp autumn day, the vistas from every hole were breathtaking. The manicured greens and fairways could hardly have been nicer. The holes require a variety of shots and strategy, with the back nine surprisingly different from the front. Staff was very friendly and helpful. If I lived in the area, this is definitely a course I would play frequently. I strongly recommend the course to anyone who gets a chance to play it!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wonderful"


apelkofsky's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great as always. Great greens. Fairways were in good shape and the sand traps which I had the pleasure of being in were raked and ready for play. The best bang for your buck around here with or without a discount.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/08/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent condition and we had it all to ourselves. Always a great experience playing Red Hook and they are always improving the course. They are in the process of adding three new bunkers (two fairway, one green-side) to #17.<br/> Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"will be back....."


hosoh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

good course....always a pleasure to play here....Chris is always on top of things.....will be back


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course at a great price"


u00000742002's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2015
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played my round as a single in 2 hours and 45 minutes. Also shot my best round of the year with an 84 from the whites. Conditions were for the most part quite good, however they were aerating the tee boxes and there was a lot of sand on them. 1 green was a little shabby, but rest of course was in very good shape. If you have never played this course, I would recommend it to you. Pro shop and bar area are top notch.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice 1hr 10 minute ride, well worth the trip"


poppopsnap's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golf now made this a great value, played with Dave from Poughkeepsie and he knew the course, helped me with strategy. Staff was friendly, clean facilities. I'll show up an hour ahead next time, take advantage of the practice range. Excellent course design, fairways and greens were top notch, well bunkered, fair rough. I will return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course, staff leaves a lot to be desired."


Sean8872313's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/14/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course for the area, it's always in good shape. The fairways are plush and the greens roll very well. A few greens are in rough shape but overall very good. The staff however is another story. Everytime I go there I am met with rude people in the pro shop/restaurant. They never seem great fun for your patronage, more so inconvenienced by your presence.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hooked on Red Hook"


rockyback2ny's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout, fast greens, fun course. Well managed. Get there early and hit balls and putt.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"First time in a long time"


scgrant's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/04/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

With the exception of a couple holes, the greens were in excellent condition and rolled VERY true. The fairways were also in quite good condition. It was a pleasure to play this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the Drive"


bej7013's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2015
Previously played Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is about 90 minutes from my house. Staff extremely friendly and the course is in great shape, especially the greens, lighting fast. Overall round 4:15 not bad for a Saturday afternoon. Could have gone faster but the foursome in front of us were playing for nickles.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


ronlibutti's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is great in every way. Beautifully maintained; well planned holes, etc. well maintained greens & fairways


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great golf experience!"


Damommza's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, great price. Would recommend this course to anyone of all levels.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Greens excellent and memorable holes"


u000006396508's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great condition especially the greens were very smooth. Putted a 50 footer in. There were some very interesting holes which I wish I had studied beforehand requiring strategy.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Red Hook"


GLENNspider's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Red Hook is one of the better courses to play in the Hudson Valley Area. You get to use a lot of different clubs.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First time "not" Last time"


robert5093065's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a surprise, my first visit, greeted by friendly staff and enjoyed a great day on the course. Picked up a great deal on GolfNow and found a course that was in great shape all around. There were a few greens that needed work and they were doing that, however, after the winter we had it was the best conditioned course than any others I have played this year. Went out with a friend, we were paired with a couple who have played the course before and were very helpful on giving us tips, I felt I had my personal caddy. I will return, especially if GolfNow offers another great deal.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"excellent greens"


rob32562's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good condition and the greens were fast and trus


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Red Hook in the fall"


Pruntytom's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/12/2014
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Fair weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always love this course. Pro staff friendly and helpful. Scenic course. Front 9 newer layout more open nice open to a round. Back 9 more narrow, more position golf, nice challenge. Conditions very good with a good job of fall leaf removal. Greens in very good shape, medium speed with very little undulation


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Very nice laid back course"


rbronder's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

Open fairways that are deceptively difficult to stay on. The course is in excellent condition.Greens are excellent, but fast. Most upscale public course in the Valley. Other golfers are friendly and courteous .Love to play here and will make it a habit next season.

The restaurant is great, friendly, good food, good prices and reasonably quick service.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course, friendly staff"


amastro711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played for the first time ,course was in excellent shape. Staff very friendly, good restaurant.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed