Commented on

My opinion. NO rules infraction caught on camera should be enforced. OMG WHY?? Simple-Not EVERY player or shot is on camera and the rules are to be enforced for every player not just the ones on TV. No one cares or sees what the #150 pro does before the TV coverage starts so why care when TV sees a rules infraction from the #1 pro? If TV can't catch everyone and every shot it should not be used as that kind of tool. Penalize-able infractions should seen by an official, reported by another player or caddie or by someone in the gallery that sees one and informs an official (quickly) with some kind of proof. TV infractions can be used to reprimand and or fine a player. The governing bodies need to Keep a list of ALL infractions (including slow play) and if needed suspend a player. Yes, someone will catch a break this way but the media storm will be relentless for that player and any player/caddie that failed to report a seen rules infraction. Players and caddies are watching each other all the time so the chances are the will see one. They just need the guts to report it. If not, it's up to the reporters and social media to call them out.
So whom is more of a cheater? The one that breaks a rule (with or without intention) or the one that lets him or her get away with it??
Checks and balances. We have them. We/they just need to use them!!
That is my opinion.

Commented on

And BTW,

CBS has lost me. Refuse to watch another CBS golf show.

Hey, CBS, air your BLM stories somewhere/sometime else. Your feigned "wokeness" just lost you a viewer. Especially when the person conveying his experience regurgitates a sequence of events that has been proven to be false, but is still used for a narrative hoping those who do not know better will believe it.

Commented on

You sound like a bitter old golfer (who was a "want to be pro") and/or private course member. If YOU want play to a USGA handicap than play with others like you! Most people play golf for the fun (you remember fun don't you?) Getting on a golf course for many is a way to get away from the stress of work or personal problems. If a person can sit down after a round with a beer in hand and a smile on their face what is the harm. If you don't let the person you are playing with know that you are a "by the rules golfer" or don't call them on an infraction - you are just as guilty and get what you deserve - a no fun round of golf.

Commented on

I saw Rahm's on TV and raised an eye but turned of the coverage before hearing he was assessed. To me, his action appeared deliberate, not unintentional.

Getting harder and harder for me to find someone to play golf with. I stew incessantly (to myself) when I see someone cheat and it affects my play to the point I just tell the partner that I am not keeping score. Finally got to play this year with a long-time buddy that his chipped me for years, and he somehow managed to card a bogey on the first hole despite a ball in the water, improper drop and a top.

Commented on

I agree with Dennis. Wasn't there a rule change a few years ago stating the PGA and LPGA would no longer use zoom-in camera shots "after the fact" to review a shot for possible penalization. The zoom lens can see what the naked CANNOT see. Case in point when Anna Nordquist lost a major a few years ago because her club touched ONE GRAIN of sand in the bunker, was assessed a 2 stroke penalty after she had finished the round, which if known sooner may have changed her strategy for playing 18. Thru the zoom lens the teeny tiny pyramid of sand looked like a small mountain and was also from the side view, but to the naked eye you could not even see that it was a small mound of sand and from above, the mound was under her club and not visible to her. Lets not forget what happened to Lexi Thompson at the ANA Inspiration because her marker was not in exactly the same spot and she lost the major by 1 stroke because of a ZOOM LENS. I think the officials also need to adhere to the rules they themselves have put in place. If there is a blatant infraction of a rule by a player, by all means penalize, but some of the decisions are questionable. I personally feel that by and large 99.9% of the pros are honest and do not deliberately cheat. Thanks!

Commented on

Look closely at Rahm’s action. Assume that the ball did not move or that it returned to its original position. He puched down on the grass and it stayed down thus exposing more of the back of the ball. Much like Reed’s action in the sand trap, Rahm had a cleaner ball , less grass between the club face and ball. Look when these PGA guys approach their ball, what isthe first thing they do? They examine the ball on the ground and assess contact, just as Rahm did. In my opinion, he knew exactly what occurred. I watched him several times prior to the 16th, each time in the rough he did the same thing, push 5he grass. In short, a penalty for improving his lie whether it moved or not. The man is great but he is slowly buildinga history.

Commented on

Obviously, the solution is “body/cap cams” for all players! ;-)

Commented on

only slow motion tv was able to detect ball movement. If there was no tv nothing would have happened

Commented on

I think the commentators said it best. Rahm's lie in the rough was totally unaffected by the slight "movement" when the ball reacted to the movement of the grass when he soled the club. Therefore, no harm no foul. Move on......

Commented on

Was there not a rule that if a player signed his card and then was assessed his penalty and had to amend his score--was he not automatically disqualified?

Commented on

John
Depends upon whether the erronious lower hole score(s) is because of a failure to include a penalty the player was unaware of. Otherwise (with a couple of exceptions) he is disqualified

Commented on

Come play at some of the courses in Arkansas and you will see the rules go out the window. We play for the fun of getting outside and enjoying each others conversations. Our courses are "rough" to say the least. Jon's ball moving because the grass was extremely thick was inevitable, Your camera just happened to be positioned to where it caught the slight movement, which did not improve his shot in any way. You call that cheating? I don't. Cheating would have been him moving the ball 3 foot to a better position.