Chatuge Shores Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
123
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.4
Layout
4.1
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.5
91.3%
Recommend this course
112 out of 123 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
14
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
4.2
85.7%
Recommend this course
12 out of 14 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.1
37
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.4
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.4
91.9%
Recommend this course
34 out of 37 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6498
Slope 129
Rating 70.8
Book a Tee Time at
Chatuge Shores Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6498 yards 70.8 129
White 72 6147 yards 69.4 122
Gold 72 5051 yards 64.4 107
Red 72 4801 yards 68.2 114
Scorecard for Chatuge Shores Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.8/129 352 365 192 451 347 395 184 491 358 3135 383 533 353 207 390 409 186 485 417 3363 6498
White M: 69.4/122 W: 71.7/123 333 356 175 437 334 378 171 475 321 2980 363 486 341 197 379 394 167 478 362 3167 6147
Gold M: 64.4/107 W: 67.1/113 267 275 140 376 268 303 155 402 228 2414 320 413 287 158 352 368 120 379 420 2817 5231
Handicap 2 8 12 18 14 4 10 16 6 5 15 7 11 9 1 17 13 3
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 5 4 36 4 5 4 3 4 4 3 5 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1972
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

4.0
123

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 6
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 17
Narrow Fairways 9
Bunkers 6
This course/club is great for:
Locals 17
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 12
Seniors 10
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 10
Convenient to the City 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great day in the mountains

Played in the late morning on a good day in November. I played as a single behind a foresome. Played in 3 1/2 hours - very good pace! Greens are in great condition. Putting very true. Not a country club, but a great deal if you just want to play golf. Great views of Lake Chatuga on several holes as well as views of the surrounding mountains. Very peaceful and relaxing.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course

Perfect vacation golf course. Relaxing, fun and beautiful mountain scenery.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Decent shape, fun day

Weather was good, mostly cloudy and pace of play was great. We moved along and it was an enjoyable round. The course was in decent shape, greens held the shots well and although the greens were a little bumpy they were puttable.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always know what to expect

I have played here numerous times and always enjoy myself. Conditions not always perfect ,but for the money it is VERY nice. Plan on keeping Chatuge amongst many courses I have play that are at most one hour from me.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good course

One of my favorite courses, very challenging. Greens need a lot of help.. I hope they rebound really enjoy playing this course. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Lost ball heaven

Stock up on balls before you play this course. Even the fairway has large clumps of grass in it

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Chatuge Shores Golf Course on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Lower your expectations

We decided to play here because it had a 4 star review and there was a discounted tee time of $25/player instead of their usual $40. For the course conditions, $25 was plenty expensive. The greens are inconsistent with some dead spots and plenty of unfixed ball marks. The fairways and tee boxes are essentially yard grass/weeds cut low. On at least two holes, I was hitting off dirt (blue tees).The pace of play was slow (4.5 hours for 18 holes). The grill was closed, so there was nothing substantial to eat there. Finally, the practice range is not great either. Overall the facility is a solid 2.5/5 on a good day. With the amount of better kept courses at a similar prices nearby, we will definitely look to go elsewhere next time.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Chatuge Shores Golf Course on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Chatuge Shores Golf Course on 08/01/2018:
We are wondering why you have given us such a poor rating. Do you have any feedback that you would like to share?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser

Great course

We love Chatuge Shores. It is a great course especially for the value.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Fun Time, Great Views

Staff very accommodating and competent. Carts & paths in good shape. Fairways good with significant weed intrusion, good mowing negated any ill effect on play. Sand hazards OK, not great. Rough good, evenly mown. Greens good, fast (12+ my guess) and challenging. Fun elevation changes. Several blind shots throughout course. Good map/guide available from starter was very helpful for first time visitor. Fantastic Blue Ridge and lake views! A long drive for us, but we will play again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great Course - Great Value

I played they course for the first time. The layout was very interesting with the front nine played through the hills with elevation changes and 2 holes on the lake and the back nine more of a meadow valley theme. I really enjoyed the layout. Bent grass greens are in great shape and the fairways had weed intrusion but were very playable because of mowing. This is a great value and very good golf and I look forward to playing it again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Friday round of golf with a good friend.

Fast play and perfect weather made for a great round of golf. Very happy with the outing.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Chatuge Shores Golf Course on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always looking to improve, and we would welcome any of your additional feedback.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Very Nice Place to Play

We picked up a great price on the hot deals for this course so we decided to drive the hour and half for the round. We really enjoyed the course. The front 9 was difficult for sure but the back 9 wasn't bad at all. These were BY FAR the best greens we have played on all summer. If there was a negative to the course it was that the fairways were just mowed and we had to deal with that a little bit. Will most definitely be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

OK Experience

Next layout for a small town course. Some fairways need work on the back 9. Most greens were in good shape. Good value for the Hot Deal amountvwe paid.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Chatuge Shores Golf Course on 07/09/2018:
Hello, on behalf of the Chatuge Shores Golf Course staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Nearby Courses
Young Harris, Georgia
4.5011705882
220
Hayesville, North Carolina
4.0528058824
156
Blairsville, Georgia
4.0139294118
190
Blairsville, Georgia
3.8028588235
87
Clayton, Georgia
4.1666666667
3
Helen, Georgia
4.0576117647
173
Franklin, North Carolina
5.0
2

Stay & Play Offers

$399 Starting price
Valid dates: Jan 11, 2019 - Mar 03, 2019
An oasis of elegance amid the harsh beauty of the desert that surrounds it, the JW Marriott Las Vegas boasts 541 oversized guestrooms and is located adjacent to TPC Las Vegas. Complimentary shuttle service and a seamless experience make this resort a first class option.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE