Wil-Mar Golf Club

3.8694882353 3.9 stars from 5 (305)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6071 yards
  • Slope: 125
  • Rating: 69.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6071 yards 69.6 125
White (W) 71 5661 yards 73.7 131
White 71 5661 yards 67.8 121
Gold 71 5410 yards 66.3 116
Gold (W) 71 5410 yards 71.6 126
Red (W) 71 4680 yards 67.5 117

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 305 Reviews
5 stars:
64
4 stars:
153
3 stars:
66
2 stars:
17
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

265 out of 302 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals walkers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Greens are being worked on."


James4265425's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I typically enjoy the course. Good layout and great value for the money. However, the greens are being worked on. I wish I had know before booking ny round. The greens will need at least several weeks before they recover.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Overall, good."


u754124993's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played Hot weather

Reviewed on

I haven't played this course for a few months hoping that the greens would come in by then. Unfortunately, most have not. The greens will still roll fine, you will just have to overcome the visual of them. Any good shots right at the green will stick in the mud like greens ( which helped in most cases for me ). The fact that they give a discount and everything else is in great shape makes it worth it. Had a great time out there ! Go to the bar after, great people.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 4-stars. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding regarding the conditions of our greens as we are putting forth all of our resources to bring them back to where they should be. We're glad to hear you still enjoyed your recent round with us and appreciate your kind feedback regarding our staff. We hope to have you back at Wil-Mar Golf Club for an even better round soon!


PhillipPaugh's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 05/17/2018:

Hi Phillip, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and 3-stars. We hope you enjoyed your recent round with us and would appreciate any additional feedback on your golf experience. Thank you for choosing Wil-Mar Golf Club, and we hope to have you back for another round soon!


u7550618's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 05/15/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us 3-stars, and we would appreciate any additional feedback so we may improve your future experience with us. We hope you had a great day with us at Wil-Mar Golf Club, and that we can welcome you back for an even better round soon.

"Has A Lot Of Potential!"


Zero1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Although they have previously announced before our round, still it was dishearterning to see how a colder than usual winter could ruin all the 18 greens, which literally was the reason why it was only 2 stars for me, for the course conditions and value for your money. I am from the new England region and our courses here at this time of the year, despite having a colder winter and 3 bad winter storms in March, are looking way better than this one... but this has a lot of potential! Why? This course has a great staff, that can turn things around!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Pasture course"


u000005703883's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens lacking any grass, fairways Sandy but playable with mowed grass average public course. Would return if other options weren't available


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 05/01/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 3-stars, and we apologize if your first experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our staff is fully aware that our greens are less than ideal at the current time and we are doing as much as we can to help improve the putting surface, but unfortunately, need warm weather to get here and stay. We will be running special rates until conditions improve and truly appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. We hope to welcome you back for a better round soon.

"Great price and good experience"


Caleb5929509's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

They were working very hard to get the greens back in shape. The staff was extremely friendly, food was well above average.Price was a great deal and I’ll surely be coming back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Poor greens"


Ace1968's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Informed on website and in person after arrival about state of greens due to poor seasonal conditions . 2 temp greens and all the rest were not in any condition to putt on . Played this course many times in past and this is the poorest green conditions I’ve seen . With that ..pace of play was 3 hours as the course was fairly empty so that was a plus . Will play again by summer once green conditions improve .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 05/03/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 3-stars. We truly appreciate your understanding and patience regarding our course conditions, and please know we are doing as much as we can to help improve the putting surface, but unfortunately, need warm weather to get here and stay. We will be running special rates until conditions improve, and we hope to welcome you back for a better round soon.

"Course affected by weather"


u000005893916's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wil-Mar is a really nice, friendly playing course in the Raleigh area. The current state and in particular the greens do not reflect the beauty of this course. When the weather warms up it will get back in shape. Very friendly staff and good value.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/18/2018:

On behalf of our staff, we truly appreciate your feedback and understanding regarding some of the course conditions. We do expect to be on pace for a great golf season ahead once warmer weather comes to stay! Thank you for choosing to golf with us at Wil-Mar Golf Club, and we can't wait to have you back again soon.

"Great example for golf"


jpa137's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course itself was in bad shape due to the weather. The value and friendliness of the staff more than made up for it! The pace of play was remarkable as well. 18 holes finished in 4 hrs 5 minutes, which included a snack at the turn. Thank you.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/18/2018:

Thank you for the kind review and 5-stars! We truly appreciate your patience and support regarding some of the course conditions as we are still coming out of winter, but we are on pace for a great season ahead once warmer weather arrives and stays. We're glad you still enjoyed the day with us at Wil-Mar Golf Club, and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

"Course in bad shape"


Davebuompane's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the worst shape of a course that I’ve ever played. The greens were a total mess. Covered with mud and sand. Every putt would bounce all the way to the hole. The fairways and tee boxes were also in bad shape. This was my first round of the year and I was extremely disappointed. I don’t think I’ll be going back there for a while. I think a fair price for the round would’ve been $5-$10.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/17/2018:

Hi Dave, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and apologize that your first experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our staff is aware that our greens are less than ideal at the current time as we are still coming out of our winter season, but please know we are doing as much as we can to help improve these conditions. Unfortunately, we need warmer weather to get here and stay but will be running special rates until conditions improve. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time, and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.

"Rough rolling"


dpains's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The fairways and bunkers were fine, but on the greens you needed an all terrain ball. Unfortunately they haven't been invented yet. The shop said 6-8 weeks before they are back in shape. Played there several times and will be back in a couple of months.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that the greens may not have been in the best shape when you played as we are still coming out of our winter season and need warmer weather to help improve these conditions. We truly appreciate your patience and support during this time, and please know we are on pace for a great golf season ahead! We hope to welcome you back for an improved round soon.

"The course is in horrible shape"


Mark9067831's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played this course many times over the years and as recently as last fall. The greens were basically green painted dirt, I brought some family to play the course and I was embarrassed. The only saving grace was the pace of play because no one else was on the course.

The pro shop should at least had the courtesy to tell us the course conditions before accepting our money. I always thought the greens were this course’s best asset so I’m not sure what happened over the winter.

I hope they get the issue resolved because they’ll be struggling this summer.

Call before you book this course and hopefully they’ll be forthright which I expect they will have if you ask.

Good luck


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly apologize that the course was not in the best shape when you played recently, as well as for any miscommunication regarding the conditions. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome your family back for a much better round soon.

"Greens"


codygolfsalot's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

The course was nice, but the greens were the worst I've played in a long time. They have some work to do on those.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Hi Cody, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 3-stars, and we apologize that the course was not in the best shape when you played recently. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.

"Bad Greens"


mikec613's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were horrible to put on as they had overseeded which made the ball roll very unpredictable. For regular paying customers they were charging the winter rate of $26 which was way overpriced for the condition of the greens. I will not go back there for at least a month or a month and a half to let the greens grow back in.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we apologize that the course was not in the best shape when you played recently. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.

"Disappointed"


tbeard120's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the course under normal circumstances but greens are terrible.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

We are truly sorry to hear your recent experience with us need not meet your expectations, but appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.

"Work in Progress"


roberry25's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has several greens that are non existent. If the greens grown in the experience will be better.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, but we apologize that the course was not in the best shape when you played. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.

"wilmar just ok"



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

greens heavily rolled but in below average condition. cart path only on back nine with no noticeable water issues


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Hi Larry, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we apologize that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.

"Terrible Condition"


justintama's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Me and some friends wanted to try a new course in the area out. We saw this had a decent deal through golf now. Drove 40 minutes out there to find that their greens were pretty much non-existent. It was just mud, sand, and grass seed. Putting was literally not a thing. The fairways were in poor condition as well, missing complete segments of grass. The sand traps were completely flat, and had no sand in them. It was like trying to chip out of clay. Glad I got to try a new course to see what Wil-Mar was all about. I can definitely say I will never be going back there.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Hi Justin, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and are truly sorry that your first experience did not meet your expectations. On behalf of our staff, we are aware that our course conditions are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter and will be running special rates until they improve. Please know we are doing everything we can to help improve them but unfortunately, need warmer weather to come and stay. We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time and hope we can welcome you back for a much better round soon.


FMJQ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Geeens not really greens but they will be at some point in time , but right now terribel


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 04/04/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. On behalf of our staff at Wil-Mar, we are aware that our greens are less than ideal at the current time due to the harsh winter. Please know we are doing as much as we can to help improve them, but we need some warmer weather to stay. We are running discounted rates until our conditions improve, and we truly appreciate your patience during this time.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed