Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
318
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
158
3 Stars
70
2 Stars
18
1 Stars
6
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.1
Layout
3.9
82.8%
Recommend this course
273 out of 318 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
318
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
2.2
Value
3.4
Layout
4.1
57.1%
Recommend this course
24 out of 42 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
318
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.0
Layout
4.1
77.9%
Recommend this course
67 out of 86 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6071
Slope 125
Rating 69.6
Type Semi-Private
Book a Tee Time at
Wil-Mar Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6071 yards 69.6 125
White (W) 71 5661 yards 73.7 131
White 71 5661 yards 67.8 121
Gold 71 5410 yards 66.3 116
Gold (W) 71 5410 yards 71.6 126
Red (W) 71 4680 yards 67.5 117
Scorecard for Wil-Mar Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 69.6/125 331 163 469 356 196 355 491 184 396 2941 403 207 574 330 301 181 565 165 453 3179 6120
White M: 66.3/121 W: 73.7/131 314 145 447 336 179 340 472 166 374 2773 381 182 536 310 284 162 527 155 435 2972 5745
Gold M: 67.8/116 W: 71.6/126 283 112 435 318 157 327 452 155 362 2601 348 157 522 293 263 146 505 147 428 2809 5410
Red W: 67.5/117 270 101 371 267 142 302 372 124 312 2261 294 118 447 260 229 103 467 120 381 2419 4680
Handicap 8 16 14 6 10 18 12 4 2 7 5 3 15 9 11 1 17 13
Par 4 3 5 4 3 4 5 3 4 35 4 3 5 4 4 3 5 3 5 36 71
Handicap (W) 12 16 10 14 8 4 6 18 2 15 9 3 13 5 7 1 17 11

Course Details

Year Built 1961
Golf Season Year round
Architect Gene Hamm

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.8
318

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 18
Patio Dining 9
Watching the Game 9
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 42
Water Hazards 28
Narrow Fairways 22
This course/club is great for:
Locals 49
Walkers 30
Seniors 28
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 44
Worth the Drive 23
In the 'Burbs 13
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Staff rudeness was diassapointing.

I have played this course several times during the week and had a great time. This was the first time I played it on the weekend. They have a no alcohol policy unless it is purchased from them that I truly didn’t know about. I had a 4 pack from a different store and paid $18 for a six pack there. We were waiting to tee off and the gentleman starting the groups came over very rudely and asked me what was in my cooler. I told him beer. He got pretty belligerent and told me I couldn’t be on the course with beer that I didn’t purchase there. I told him that I was unaware of that and returned the store bought beer to my car before teeing off. He continued to Harry’s me about it even after that. He told me it was a state law. The law actually leaves the option for the course to ban outside alcohol purchases, but does not require it. I tried to let this go however and attempted to start my round. Tee times here seem to have zero significance on weekends. I was playing a twosome and he let a walk on foursome tee off in front of us. They started everyone at the first hole instead of staggering between the front and back nine. This added over an hour to me and my partners round because of the congestion. When we finished the ninth hole and drove back by the clubhouse the gentleman again asked what was in my cooler and continued to rudely accost myself and my friend. I asked him where he thinks I may have picked up beer while on the golf course and he just got more rude and belligerent. I finally drove away to the tenth tee box and tee’d off. I have played around 6 different courses around Raleigh and this is the only course with the beer rule. It wasn’t the fact of the rule, but rather the entirely rude way the gentleman accosted me about it repeatedly. I will not return to Wilmar because of the behavior of this employee going forward.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from #WilMarGC on 08/03/2018:
Alfred, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we are truly sorry to hear your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations. Due to our onsite restaurant, Bogey's, ability to sell alcohol, it does create some very strict laws for us on outside alcohol at the course. However, we do apologize if this policy was poorly enforced and created a negative experience for you in any way. If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this, we invite you to contact Director of Golf, William Allen, at (919) 266-1800 so we may address them with you directly. We are committed to providing our golfers with a valuable golf experience and hope we can do so for you in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Albatross and hole in one

Had the time of my golf experience. Had a double eagle(albatross) on hole 7: par5 and an eagle on #8. Scored 65. 5 under my age. Might not ever do this again but it is a superb feeling knowing I did.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from #WilMarGC on 08/14/2018:
On behalf of all of us at Wil-Mar Golf Club, congratulations on your amazing round with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and 5-star review, and hope to welcome you back to Wil-Mar Golf Club for another great round soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing

Good value, condition spotty, staff friendly

It is unfortunate that they lost the greens. My observation is that other courses in the area did not suffer as badly. I have played here several times over recent years and overall contrition has been fair to good. Some tees are, well, awful. I did observe a good deal of work being done, such as tree removal, which is encouraging. My experience here has been wonderful. The staff is friendly and cooperative. The layout is varied and interesting. The off course services are very good and the small bar provides a nice spot for a "cold one" after golf. I look forward to playing under improved conditions later this year.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from #WilMarGC on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding as our staff has been working diligently in our greens recovery process. We have resurfaced the greens in a premier ultra-dwarf Bermuda grass known as Sunday, and we are very excited about this upgrade. We look forward to having you back later this summer to check it out at its best! All of your comments will be shared with our staff as we continue improvements, and we hope to welcome you back to Wil-Mar Golf Club again soon.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from #WilMarGC on 06/27/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review! Come back to Wil-Mar Golf Club for another great round soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great fun

The greens are non existent, but this round was one of most enjoyable in a long time. The fairways are in great shape and freshly mowed. Just played to have fun, done in two and a half hours. Can't wait to play the new greens.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from #WilMarGC on 06/19/2018:
Thank you for the 4-stars and sharing your feedback with us. On behalf of our staff at Wil-Mar Golf Club, we truly appreciate your patience and understanding regarding our temporary greens, but we're excited to have you back for the new greens later this summer as well! Come back soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from #WilMarGC on 06/12/2018:
Thank you for the 3-stars! We hope you enjoyed your day with us recently at Wil-Mar Golf Club and appreciate any feedback. We hope to welcome you back for another round soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played

Temporary Greens

Not hitting to the greens became too much to take so I dropped after 9.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from #WilMarGC on 06/19/2018:
Rick, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we are sorry to hear your recent experience with us may not have met your expectations. We hope your next round with us will be much improved, as our Sunday Bermuda Ultra dwarf sprigs arrive tonight and start going on the greens tomorrow! We're looking forward to an exciting summer ahead at Wil-Mar Golf Club and hope we can welcome you back for an improved experience soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from #WilMarGC on 07/02/2018:
Benjamin, thank you for the 4-star review. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding as our staff works on course improvements with our new greens, but we hope you still enjoyed your recent round with us. We can't wait to have you back at the new and improved Wil-Mar Golf Club later this summer!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Vernon McCallum 12:00 Tee Time

I am a person who likes to think I pick up on things pretty quick, that is, before taking up golf about 6 years ago. I gave up on the game and just started back playing recently. This weekend I got to visit Wilmar, my favorite course in NC and really enjoyed myself. I had a buddy from out of town that played with me that enjoyed the course also. After 9 went into the new grill & bar “The Bogey”. The food was great!! I will definitely be Teeing up again this weekend and having lunch at The Bogey!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from #WilMarGC on 07/02/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review and sharing your feedback with us! We truly appreciate your dedication to playing our course and we hope you can make it back to Wil-Mar Golf Course for another great round soon. Stop by The Bogey again as well!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great workaround for damaged greens.

In many ways the temp greens were more enjoyable than the regular greens. Great job!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Wil-Mar Golf Club on 05/30/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 4-stars! We truly appreciate your patience and understanding regarding our temporary greens and are glad to hear you were still able to enjoy your round with us. We can't wait to welcome you back to Wil-Mar Golf Club for an even better experience again soon!

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Raleigh, North Carolina
2.9444333333
42
Raleigh, North Carolina
5.0
1
Raleigh, North Carolina
5.0
2
Raleigh, North Carolina
5.0
2
Raleigh, North Carolina
5.0
1
Wendell, North Carolina
3.6238647059
73
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE