Cleghorn Plantation Golf & Country Club

4.3350705882 4.3 stars from 5 (190)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6762 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.3
  • Layout

  • 183 Golf Cir, Rutherfordton, North Carolina 28139, Rutherford County
  • (828) 286-9117
  • (828) 286-3380
  • www.cleghornplantation.com
Write Review

Year built: 1972
Architect(s): George Cobb (1972)
Type: Public/Resort
Greens: Champion Ultra Dwarf Bermuda
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirts with collars are preffered, sleeves required.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6762 yards 73.3 136
Gold 71 6131 yards 70.6 128
Silver 71 5440 yards 67.2 124
Bronze (W) 71 4617 yards 68.0 117
Bronze 71 4617 yards 63.3 117

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 190 Reviews
5 stars:
77
4 stars:
83
3 stars:
20
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

177 out of 190 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks 19th hole specials brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Short drive for great course"


spamdaddy's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the second time playing this course. and I was not disappointed. The course was in great condition! Fairways were lush and the greens rolled quick and true. Take heed when putting from above the hole as the greens are sneaky fast. The scenery was awesome and would be worth the trip just for the views. The course was having a small tournament that had just teed off in front of us and I was pleased when the pro offered to let us start on the back 9. Pace of play was great! Slowed up a bit when we made the turn, but not too bad. We joined up with twosome behind us which helped us with the pace. The only negative I have is the lack of hole descriptions. The tee markers don't show the hole layout, and the scorecard only show the complete course layout for guidance. No yardage books are available, which would be very helpful for first time players at this course. It is easy to get into trouble here if you don't know where, or what club, to hit. STAY IN THE FAIRWAY. the Bermuda ruff is brutal.

WILL PLAY AGAIN!

Mark B.

Lake Wylie, SC


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good round"


u000008104740's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was disappointed that the back 9 was closed due to flooding. Otherwise, it was all good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/05/2018

This was my 1st time playing Cleghorn and I have to say I was disappointed that the back 9 was closed due to flooding! The front 9 looked great and I was having a great round until me and my friends got to the 7th hole and found the grounds grew cutting the greens and did not stop and move off the green for use to play thru. So we got thru then played the 8th hole and got on the 9th hole and there was the grounds crew on the 9th green again. Needless to say I was very unhappy it was 2 in the afternoon and they only had 9 holes that golfers would be playing why did they not cut the greens early in the morning! None the less why would the grounds crew not get off the green when there was golfers on the tee box. I voiced my thoughts to Mr Long the manager of the resort and he was a super nice gentleman and told us to play as much golf as we wanted the rest of the day and gave us vouchers to return and play 18 holes for free at anytime. I was disappointed but the pro shop staff was super nice and accommodating. I can’t wait to go back and play the whole 18 holes and I think things were said to the head grounds keeper and the grounds crew will be more respectful to golfers from now on. Thank u Mr. Long!!


"Beautiful setting with rolling hills"


u469338083's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very challenging course but in great shape. Definitely a place to return. Staff very friendly. The only negative was playing the same day a tournament was scheduled.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"can't wait to go back to Cleghorn"


l793407's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Don't forget to pack your camera with your clubs! Incredibly true greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Disappointing"


djapes's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Had a good friend visiting from Michigan and looking for a challenging course to play in western NC. After visiting the website and reading reviews, most of which were favorable we decided to give Cleghorn Plantation a try. Upon arrival we were greeted by an attendant in the parking lot who brought us a cart, so far so good. Couldn't believe that the round was only $33 and that the course was nearly empty at 9 A.M. proceeded to the 1st hole and lost my tee shot to the left after hitting the fairway and watching my ball slide off to the left and into the woods. Unfortunately we were to soon discover that the majority of the holes had severe slopes with little grass to hold a shot. I live and play on a mountain course in the Asheville area and am very familiar with a challenging track, but Cleghorn is ridiculous and hardly what I would describe as fair, more like penalizing. Greens had recently been punched and were hard and fast. Most of the tee boxes were devoid of grass and signage was poor. Aside from the staff and views, there is very little to recommend here. Save your money and look elsewhere for a mountain course, there are plenty in western north and south Carolina that far outshine this one.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Many improvements"


u000005294110's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You can see they have put a lot of work in on condition of the entire property. It is paying off. Best shape I've ever seen it. And ive played it many times over the last 9 years


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Really INTERESTING course"


GolfJamie's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I and from Pinehurst and have played a TON of great courses and this was by far one of the most interesting. The course elevation made things quite difficult and made for some amazing views! Pretty tough course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000005630776's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It’s a difficult course, with lots of ups and downs. But it was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging Mountain Course"


lnlarson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is a typical mountain course with very hilly terrain and tight fairways. The course condition was typical for a mountain course for this time of year. Fairway grasses had not come in yet so were hard with a lot of roll and lays were generally poor. Tee boxes could use a lot of work when weather conditions improve. I think this would be a good play in another month or two and into the fall. Would be a good location for a group outing as there accommodations and fairly extensive sports facilities available on site..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Tim7077288's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I make it to western North Carolina 3-4 times a year and Cleghorn Plantation has been my must play every visit since I discovered it 2 years ago. It's a challenge. I'm a 4-5 handicap and can enjoy a relaxing fair challenge from the middle tees or move to the back tees and be tested. It offers great views with challenging elevation changes. The greens have been in great condition every time I played. This last visit was the 1st time that the pace of play was a little slow for my liking but I still finished in 4 hours and 20 minutes. From the picturesque drive up to the club house, the driving range, practice green, club house, food and great course this place offers everything you need for a great day of golf.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



ritabiggerstaff's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u000001510543's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great mountain course and a great, great staff. Quite hilly and very picturesque. It will challenge your game.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Cleighorn"


John8929180's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape for March. Bermuda grass that’s dormant this time of year that makes fairways a bit difficult but greens are in great shape! Over all this is a tough golf course, if you’re looking to test your game this is the place to go!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


jpetty83's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in February, great condition for this time of year. Fun layout, unique challenges


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Can't Play Here Enough"


l793407's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff are incredibly friendly and the course is one of the prettiest ones I have played. Greens rolled very true; not too fast, not too slow. I played horrible but it wasn't the course's fault.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Hard course"


Jason2476135's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course and very affordable. Even in the winter months fairways and greens were in great condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Great course"


rrb22286's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wanted to try a new course so decided to try this course and it was a great. Course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"cart problems"


khgbi's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course in good shape, staff super, went through 3 carts andhad to push cart up hills on holes 17 and 18! Staff said they were getting new batteries today which is good have eed here for 20 years and is my favorite course in the area although this was my most frustrating round!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Round!"


u000008104740's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice round at Cleghorn. The course was in excellent shape and pace of play was good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Fun golf"


TerryAbbott12's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If your looking for a fun well manicured great layout challenge for all skill levels then this is the course you should play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed