Cleghorn Plantation Golf & Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
200
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.1
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.7
Layout
4.7
96.9%
Recommend this course
187 out of 200 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
200
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.2
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.6
Layout
4.6
96.0%
Recommend this course
24 out of 25 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
200
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.7
Layout
4.6
97.9%
Recommend this course
47 out of 48 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6762
Slope 136
Rating 73.3
Type Public/Resort
Book a Tee Time at
Cleghorn Plantation Golf & Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6762 yards 73.3 136
Gold 71 6131 yards 70.6 128
Silver 71 5440 yards 67.2 124
Bronze (W) 71 4617 yards 68.0 117
Bronze 71 4617 yards 63.3 117
Scorecard for Cleghorn Golf and Sport Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.3/136 324 382 185 557 403 403 217 433 342 3246 423 412 187 407 530 391 198 395 573 3516 6762
Gold M: 70.6/128 314 349 170 519 369 357 182 365 307 2932 379 381 147 390 468 331 184 378 541 3199 6131
Silver M: 67.2/124 W: 69.2/126 254 318 118 496 329 328 156 336 277 2612 333 357 124 337 428 317 140 337 455 2828 5440
Bronze M: 63.3/117 W: 68.0/117 221 258 84 432 285 231 146 298 219 2174 226 352 119 272 381 276 110 265 442 2443 4617
Handicap 18 12 16 10 6 8 2 4 14 3 13 17 1 7 5 15 9 11
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 4 35 4 4 3 4 5 4 3 4 5 36 71
Handicap (W) 14 12 18 4 8 6 16 10 2 17 3 15 11 5 7 13 9 1

Course Details

Year Built 1972
Greens Champion Ultra Dwarf Bermuda
Golf Season Year round
Architect George Cobb (1972)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Shirts with collars are preffered, sleeves required.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in North Carolina (2016 #11)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Value Courses in the U.S. (2016 #8)

Reviews

4.3
200

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 20
19th Hole Specials 12
Brunch 9
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 52
Water Hazards 35
Bunkers 32
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 39
Advanced Golfers 34
Locals 34
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 49
In the 'Burbs 7
Convenient to the City 4
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing

Best

I play several times a week and play a wide variety of courses. This is the best course I have played in the past couple of years. My group got a great price on Golf Now ay $29 each. This is a must play course just over the SC NC line above Spartanburg SC. Tough layout, large greens, great condition. I can’t think of one complaint that my foursome had except for some of our own golf. Lots of elevation changes and challenges. I will go back. We are just under 2 hours away but we’ll worth the drive.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great track

Had a great experience with my GolfNow booking at Cleghorn. This was a getaway opportunity, playing with my wife, her from the bronze and I from the gold tee boxes (6100 yds). There has been a lot of heavy rains recently so there were some areas with wash out but none of which effected the fairways, bunkers or greens which were in great shape. Some holes were very unusual and challenging. All in all this was a great value and we would return again.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

No rain and the course was wide open

Played at 12:30 and the rain didn't come until 3:30. Course was wide open and I played in 2 1/2 hours. Great layout and conditions. The only problem was that most of the tee boxes were rock hard and difficult to get the tee in the ground. Beware that #18 is a 3 shot hole including a layup (par 5). It plays longer than it looks. Play it this way and you will avoid the water.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Fantastic Course

Course had 3 inches of rain yesterday; therefore, we were on cart path only on the second nine. Greens were bumpy and slow because they had recently been punched. Great course that I will absolutely play again.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great layout and value

A great golf course for the money. Greens were recently aerated (reflected in price). Rest of course was in VG shape Will play it again!
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice course

Course was in great shape except that they plugged the greens last week.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Great track for a great price!

What a bargain!. My wife and I paid the Hot Deal $18 to play. The regular rate for the week was $20. TAKE THE DEAL!!! This is a very well maintained course with great scenery. The aerated greens were not a big deal given the excellent condition of the rest of the course. Challenging layout but certainly fair. We played in about 3 hours as there were very few on the course. Gem of a course!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great comeback

I haven't played this course in years but I will go back frequently. After lots of uncertainty about what would happen it's the course it has comeback in style. Conditions are excellent. Fairways are well covered and they run nicely. Greens are firm, moderately fast and true. It is a delight. The Pro Shop was warm and welcoming. We arrived very early and he sent us right out. Congratulations for bringing this challenging treat back. Go play Cleghorn, enjoy the test and send your friends.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Staff and Great Greens.

Staff was so helpful and genuinely glad to see us. True family atmosphere where we saw the Golf Pro helping the staff with food preparation for the members 4th celebration. Will keep bringing all friend that come to visit to this great course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
Previously Played

Good shape! Tough Course!

Played for the first time in a long time at Cleghorn this morning. First the course is in really good shape. If you are not hitting it well this course will absolutely eat you up. It did me especially on the front 9! The greens are near perfect. Firm and pretty fast but not overly so and really smooth. The fairways and tees were mowed or in the process of being mowed and were in good shape. Only thing that stops it from being 5 Star is there are a few spots on the fairways and tees with winter kill still and there are some spots around the edges that are rough. But you can see evidence that they are working on those areas. I had the first tee time off on a Friday morning and thought it was a good value for $36
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Forest City, North Carolina
4.0
1
Caroleen, North Carolina
0.0
0
Mill Spring, North Carolina
5.0
2
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE