Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
78
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
9
Staff Friendliness
3.8
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.1
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.1
Layout
0
55.4%
Recommend this course
51 out of 78 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
78
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
4
Staff Friendliness
3.7
Pace
3.7
Amenities
2.8
Conditions
2.4
Value
2.8
Layout
3.8
45.0%
Recommend this course
9 out of 20 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
78
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
3.5
Pace
3.5
Amenities
2.9
Conditions
2.3
Value
2.6
Layout
3.7
40.9%
Recommend this course
9 out of 22 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6797
Slope 134
Rating 71.5
Type Resort
Book a Tee Time at
Sea Trail Golf Resort - Dan Maples Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6797 yards 71.5 134
White 72 6330 yards 69.3 126
Gold 72 6035 yards 67.6 116
Red 72 5110 yards 68.6 117
Scorecard for Maples
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 72.0/138 315 350 185 545 180 555 410 410 455 3405 420 178 550 345 365 575 360 198 401 3392 6797
White M: 69.7/127 295 335 150 525 170 535 375 380 445 3210 400 155 490 325 345 553 345 177 330 3120 6330
Gold M: 67.7/119 W: 73.1/134 275 315 120 510 160 520 365 365 420 3050 385 140 475 315 325 540 330 160 315 2985 6035
Red W: 68.9/117 245 275 100 465 145 475 330 235 360 2630 345 105 420 225 245 485 275 110 270 2480 5110
Handicap 15 5 17 9 13 7 3 11 1 2 18 12 14 6 4 16 10 8
Par 4 4 3 5 3 5 4 4 4 36 4 3 5 4 4 5 4 3 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 13 9 17 5 11 1 3 15 7 4 16 6 18 12 2 10 14 8

Course Details

Year Built 1986
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens A1/A4 blended Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Dan Maples (1986)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Single Allowed Yes
Walking Allowed No

Reviews

3.0
78

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 5
Forced Carries 5
Undulating Greens 4
This course/club is great for:
Locals 5
Beginners 4
Junior Golfers 4
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 4
Convenient to the City 3
Near Local Attractions 3

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Course needs to be closed and worked on

It appears that the course has been neglected for a while. Weeds growing all over the greens. Fairways and tee boxes and greens are very patchy. Course needs much work. I played here 2 years ago and it was in much better condition. Very disappointed. No beverage cart or water to drink on a 90 degree. And the price was too high for a poor condition course.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Response from Sea Trail Golf Resort on 07/23/2018:
Thank you for coming out to the Sea Trail Golf Resort and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions of the course. We will keep working hard to have the course in shape. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope that you will be back sometime soon and will be able to see improvements.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Still recovering

Maples course is still recovering from the cold winter. Lots of bare spots on the fairways. Greens are not great either. Give it some time.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Enjoyable Course

First time playing, chose to go during the afternoon in June. Almost no one out in the course as the heat scared almost everyone away. Greens recovering in several areas due to harsh winter conditions. But, didn’t effect putting too much, especially if one is willing to move the ball to a friendlier location. Overall, fun cool course for money and so close to sunset beach.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Hidden gem on Sea Trail Resort

Closed out some weekend play at Sea Trail with another round, this time on the Maples course. Very different layout and challenges when compared to the property's Jones and Byrd, which made it fun and a place we are definitely playing again. It was also our first time playing the course, so we were very happy with the round. Nice special for us locals, so something for anyone from the area to consider. Good people working the check-in place at the pro shop, as well as at the bag drop and on the beverage carts. Grabbed a few drinks at Brassie's Pub, which is the bar/restaurant on property, on the turn and got in and out in a timely fashion. The course is in great shape and playing again this weekend since the weather looks good.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Fair course at a fair price

The course is solidly average and that's not a bad thing. There are a few interesting holes and some that are just OK. Nothing wrong with the course...for $25 in the afternoon during peak season, it met every possible expectation.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best Conditions of the Three

The Maples Course is in the best condition of the 3 tracks at Sea Trail. The greens and fairways are in good shape, the rough is sparse and the bunkers are decent. The Maples is a fairly challenging resort course with some interesting holes. This year it is our course of choice at Sea Trail.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Sea Trail Golf Resort on 05/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at TSea Trail Golf Resort and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Worst Course EVER

My group and I have been coming south to play golf in Myrtle for 11 consecutive years. We've played over 35 courses down here and saying this place was the worst doesn't cover it. We played on May 3rd, the Maples course which was supposed to be the "best" of the Sea Trail as the other two had temporary greens and painted green fairways over the dirt. To start with they wanted $54 to play at 4:00. The tee boxes once you bounced your way over the broken, destroyed cart paths, were disastrous. Dirt. Hard. Uneven. Larry in the pro shop, was short, curt and very un-accepting. We are staying at the Sea Trail, which the accommodations are amazing, and they removed our breakfast, lunch and 2 free beers because we weren't playing their dogtracks anymore. The fairways, if you can call them that, look as though they forgot them 5 years ago. Nothing but dirt, sand and dead grey stuff around the "greens". Nothing green about them. Burnt. Hard as bricks. Patchy. Dead. Basically unplayable. The groundskeeper should be eliminated, if they have one. 2 course (which we played) were immaculate. Obviously zero care taken in well more than two years. The harsh winter has nothing to do with the conditions of this course, it's been abandoned for quite a while. If you bother to waste your money on anything other than accommodations at Sea Trail, it's your own fault. Absolutely the worst course I could imagine, even for the $25 I wasted.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Response from Sea Trail Maples on 05/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Sea Trail Maples, in the Sunset Beach, North Carolina area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the Course Conditions so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
3.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Staff over rated condition of course

This has been a hard winter for the courses in Myrtle and we all now know that. Courses with bent grass greens faired much better. We called multiple courses before we played and we were told conditions were good. NOT SO!! First 5 greens were poor and the rest were just ok. Tees are horrible and fairways were mediocre at best. The worst thing is that the staff LIED about the condition. I would to else where. We paid Long Bay yesterday and that was 75% better.......STAY AWAY
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Response from Sea Trail Maples on 05/03/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Maples, in the Sunset Beach, North Carolina area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Maples

I was a little concerned after the first 3-4 holes due to the poor conditions of the greens. As the round progressed the condition of the greens improved.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Sea Trail Maples on 05/01/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

For Locals ONLY

This course is extremely rough fairways are like concrete and half the greens was like putting on the fairways. any one on vacation i feel will be disappointed, look around you will find a lot nicer course for the money.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Response from Sea Trail Maples on 04/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Maples, in the Sunset Beach, North Carolina area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Request A Vacation Quote From Fore Myrtle Beach
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Fore Myrtle Beach will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE