Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center

2.9854117647 3.0 stars from 5 (74)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6797 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 71.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: Yes
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6797 yards 71.5 134
White 72 6330 yards 69.3 126
Gold 72 6035 yards 67.6 116
Red 72 5110 yards 68.6 117

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 3.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 74 Reviews
5 stars:
9
4 stars:
22
3 stars:
23
2 stars:
11
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

49 out of 74 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fair course at a fair price"


JohnKMoore1's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course is solidly average and that's not a bad thing. There are a few interesting holes and some that are just OK. Nothing wrong with the course...for $25 in the afternoon during peak season, it met every possible expectation.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Best Conditions of the Three"


a103golf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Maples Course is in the best condition of the 3 tracks at Sea Trail. The greens and fairways are in good shape, the rough is sparse and the bunkers are decent. The Maples is a fairly challenging resort course with some interesting holes. This year it is our course of choice at Sea Trail.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Golf Resort on 05/09/2018:

Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at TSea Trail Golf Resort and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.

"Worst Course EVER"


cheof99's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

My group and I have been coming south to play golf in Myrtle for 11 consecutive years. We've played over 35 courses down here and saying this place was the worst doesn't cover it. We played on May 3rd, the Maples course which was supposed to be the "best" of the Sea Trail as the other two had temporary greens and painted green fairways over the dirt. To start with they wanted $54 to play at 4:00. The tee boxes once you bounced your way over the broken, destroyed cart paths, were disastrous. Dirt. Hard. Uneven. Larry in the pro shop, was short, curt and very un-accepting. We are staying at the Sea Trail, which the accommodations are amazing, and they removed our breakfast, lunch and 2 free beers because we weren't playing their dogtracks anymore. The fairways, if you can call them that, look as though they forgot them 5 years ago. Nothing but dirt, sand and dead grey stuff around the "greens". Nothing green about them. Burnt. Hard as bricks. Patchy. Dead. Basically unplayable. The groundskeeper should be eliminated, if they have one. 2 course (which we played) were immaculate. Obviously zero care taken in well more than two years. The harsh winter has nothing to do with the conditions of this course, it's been abandoned for quite a while. If you bother to waste your money on anything other than accommodations at Sea Trail, it's your own fault. Absolutely the worst course I could imagine, even for the $25 I wasted.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Maples on 05/07/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Sea Trail Maples, in the Sunset Beach, North Carolina area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the Course Conditions so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Staff over rated condition of course"


DDeiasi's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

This has been a hard winter for the courses in Myrtle and we all now know that. Courses with bent grass greens faired much better. We called multiple courses before we played and we were told conditions were good. NOT SO!! First 5 greens were poor and the rest were just ok. Tees are horrible and fairways were mediocre at best. The worst thing is that the staff LIED about the condition. I would to else where. We paid Long Bay yesterday and that was 75% better.......STAY AWAY


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Maples on 05/03/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Maples, in the Sunset Beach, North Carolina area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Maples"


Chuck3509997's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was a little concerned after the first 3-4 holes due to the poor conditions of the greens. As the round progressed the condition of the greens improved.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Maples on 05/01/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.

"For Locals ONLY"


frednbrody's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course is extremely rough fairways are like concrete and half the greens was like putting on the fairways. any one on vacation i feel will be disappointed, look around you will find a lot nicer course for the money.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Maples on 04/27/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Maples, in the Sunset Beach, North Carolina area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Horrible greens"


smoothy4's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played the jones course on 4-10-18. Greens were the worst I’ve seen in 20 plus years of playing in the Myrtle Beach area. Basically putting on rolled dirt painted green. Very little true grass. At least fairways had grass. Tee boxes not mown but it had rained day before. They did offer breakfast/lunch and 2 free drink tickets and free replay but even with that it’s not worth it. Locals stated they didn’t overseed the greens. Not sure what we paid as it was part of a package. Plenty of other courses in the area with much better greens.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Golf Resort on 04/18/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Golf Resort. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the greens so we may work on any necessary improvements. We hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.


6547cartier's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center on 03/13/2018:

Thanks so much for your review. It is very disappointing to hear that you did not have a positive experience at our course. We take our customer feedback very seriously. We will share this review with our staff and make any corrections or improvements. Please give us the opportunity to change your opinion of our course. Thanks for choosing Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort.


Redfishfanatik's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Terrible"


navanman's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Hate to trash any course, but this is a public notice to my fellow golfers. Don't waste your money on this course. Maintenance has been totally ignored. Greens were punched and most had a lot of damage with little or no grass. Tee boxes were covered with leaves fallen months ago. Cart paths will shake you up and the fairways are hardpan in many areas. It looks like the course has been abandoned.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center on 03/13/2018:

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review our course. All of your feedback is greatly appreciated, good and bad. We will share your insights with the appropriate staff to correct any issues or make any improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back to our course soon. Thank you for choosing Maples at Sea Trail.

"Would not pay to play again"


Oaksmember's avatar
Age:  65+
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Worst conditioned course I have ever paid to play. Sandy conditions throughout the course...grass missing on tee decks, greens, around bunkers, and in fairways. Greens had been aerated, but would not have made a huge difference. Booked on Golf Now, having driven through the night to get to MB. When we arrived, staff greeted us at club drop with "No one tells me anything". Reluctantly placed bags onto carts and sent us off to tee #1. Course in poor condition. No bar cart seen during round. Stopped at club house at halfway point to grab a bite and a drink, only to be told "we are closed". This was at 4:00. Finished off round before 6 and no staff at bag drop to help with clubs, cleaning, etc. Would never recommend this course, nor play here again.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort and Convention Center on 03/13/2018:

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience was so unsatisfactory. We take our customer feedback very seriously and we will share your comment with our staff. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your mind. Thanks again for choosing Maples at Sea Trail.


Euniceanne's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort on 03/07/2018:

Hi Euniceanne! Thanks for your review. We really appreciate the feedback. It's very good to know that you enjoyed the course, particularly the layout and pace. We are also pleased to know that our friendly staff treated you so well.Thanks so much for choosing us! Please visit again soon.


rudywitlox's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice trac but needs tlc"


Roger777's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were good greens a little slow but decent shape, tee boxes need work but a nice layout use most clubs would play there again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Maples at Sea Trail Golf Resort on 03/02/2018:

Hi Roger. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We're very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the course layout, the pace and most of all that our staff treated you so well. Please come back and see us again soon. Thanks for golfing with us.


u3188106's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Sad"


u489326821's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in very bad shape -our playing partners said the course had been closed for six months . Not sure why but obviously nothing had been done in terms of maintenance or improvements


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Conditions below average"


MyrtleMaster's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Design was very nice. Interesting variety of shots and elevation changes.

Conditions were the worst in my 35+ years of golfing in Myrtle Beach. Greens had worms that were leaving 'castings', mole damage, and bare spots.

Tee areas very thin. Maybe a winter of rest and a good spring will help although it appears they are putting no money into it. No marshalls, beverage cart serving three different courses, restaurant closed.

Until they improve conditions recognize this as a Dan Maples layout (very nice) and conditions that are marginal.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Golf Resort -Dan Maples Golf Course on 11/06/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Golf Resort - Dan Maples Golf Course. We're very sorry to hear that the course may not have been in the best shape on the day you played, and we greatly appreciate your feedback so we may improve your future experience with us. It looks like you did enjoy our course layout, so we hope this was able to improve your overall experience. Thank you for golfing with us in the Myrtle Beach area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Course is in pitiful condition"


u000002601549's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course condition is horrible. Fairway grass is pathetic. Greens were terrible. We booked this course as one of GolfNow's hot deals, I think we paid $50 each as a hot deal. Knowing the condition now, I would not play for free. I refer to courses in such condition as a goat ranch. My advice to fellow golfers, avoid this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trails Maples on 10/03/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Maples, in the Myrtle Beach area. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience playing our golf course, specifically with the course conditions. Your feedback is appreciated so that we know where improvements can be made. Thank you for golfing with us and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Terrible"


JAMES9645387's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The condition was probably the worst i have ever played. With the greens this poor they should have shut the course down. It looks like they have not mowed the greens in over a month. They were un puttable


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Golf Resort - Dan Maples Golf Course on 08/04/2017:

James, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Sea Trail Golf Resort - Dan Maples Golf Course. We are sorry for your less than enjoyable visit. Your feedback is very helpful to us, as we are always trying to improve our course. We hope that you will give us the chance to earn your business again.

"Course was big disappointment"


u000001108638's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played the Sea Trail courses at least 6 times in the past 20 yrs. That is why I was so disappointed this time. While the starter was extremely nice and helpful, the folks inside were simply avg. There was little positive energy or concern for us as a customer exhibited. Course was very dried out which I can understand in July, but the greens were hideous. They had not been cut in days, felt like I was putting in rough. Green speed felt like it was a 5 on stipmeter. They were bumpy and had no control on direction. Very disappointing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sea Trail Maples on 07/31/2017:

Hello Brian, thank for taking the time to write a review about our course. We are sorry to hear about the sub par course conditions but we are happy to see that you enjoyed our course layout and pace of play.Thank you for your feedback and for playing Sea Trail- Maples and we hope to earn your business again.

Commented on 07/31/2017

I played it 7/30/17. The greens were unputtable.



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed