This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.5
117 Reviews (117)
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
28
Conditions
2.0
Value
3.1
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.7
45.4%
Recommend this course
73 out of 117 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.3
20 Reviews (20)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
8
Conditions
1.5
Value
2.8
Layout
3.8
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.8
StaffFriendliness
3.7
35.0%
Recommend this course
7 out of 20 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 71
Length 7041 yards
Slope 147
Rating 76.0

Editor's Note: Course closed for business in 2018.

Formerly known as Cape Golf & Racquet Club.

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 7041 yards 76.0 147
Blue 71 6511 yards 73.9 138
White 71 6012 yards 71.6 133
Green 71 5510 yards 69.7 124
Green (W) 71 5510 yards 75.2 137
Red 71 4832 yards 65.6 120
Red (W) 71 4832 yards 71.1 126
Scorecard for Masonboro
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 76.0/147 431 412 219 475 442 416 542 172 469 3578 450 355 354 541 433 188 564 230 342 3457 7035
Blue M: 73.9/138 388 383 196 465 415 384 507 146 413 3297 408 330 330 499 401 173 521 205 318 3185 6482
White M: 71.6/133 360 358 173 438 393 362 470 124 398 3076 379 295 310 473 368 156 491 175 295 2942 6018
Green M: 69.7/134 W: 75.2/137 335 328 155 414 371 328 438 103 383 2855 364 268 276 446 333 132 465 150 249 2683 5538
Red M: 65.8/120 W: 71.1/126 315 298 123 358 308 267 408 91 308 2476 326 251 247 351 292 108 442 113 226 2356 4832
Handicap 11 13 5 3 7 15 9 17 1 6 18 12 10 2 16 8 4 14
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 5 3 4 36 4 4 4 5 4 3 5 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1984
Fairways 419 Bermuda Grass
Greens Mini-Verde Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Bob Moore (2008) Gene Hamm (1984)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, American Express, Mastercard, Discover
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirts, no jeans.

Reviews

2.5
117 Reviews (117)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Forced Carries 9
Narrow Fairways 9
Water Hazards 9
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 12
Locals 10
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 7
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 7
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser

Closed

The GOLF COURSE IS CLOSED AND GOLF NOW TOOK MY MONEY. BECAUSE ON THERE SITE ITS LISTED AS OPEN AND AVAILABLE T TIMES. DROVE TO THE COURSE TO PLAY AND THE GUY SSID THEY AREL CLOSR INDEFINITELY. SO GOLF NOW CALLS GETS NO ANSWER AND TELL ME THEY CANT ISDUE A REFUND BECAUSE THEY CANT VERIFY IT WAS CLISED.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

a once great course

It is a shame what has happened to this place.It was in very poor shape.Tee boxes and greens were beat up.Bunkers had weeds growing in them.Too bad it is a great layout.And after the round was told that we didn't have to come back if we didn't like it.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 08/20/2018:
Thank you for playing Masonboro Golf Club. We're sorry to hear you feel the way you do about our course but your feedback is still appreciated. We hope you'll consider coming back and giving us a chance to exceed your expectations in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Wonderful people running this course with a restoration in progress

Overall conditions were severely hampered due to the extended rains in NC for the last 16+ days. Not the courses fault!

Overall, you can see where they are working diligently to revitalize this challenging course.

All the people we touched base with from the cart guy, pro shop and course maintenance team were awesome!

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 08/20/2018:
Thank you for playing Masonboro Golf Club! We appreciate you pointing out how hard our staff is working to make the necessary improvements. We hope you'll join us for another round soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
1.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

rained out

it rained nearly 5 inches so I did not play obviously

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 07/23/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Masonboro Golf Club again and for leaving us a review. We are sorry that you were disappointment that you were not able to play due to the weather, but we are puzzled at why you would leave us a 1 star review simple because of the weather. Is there a reason that you gave us a poor review? Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any concerns.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Awful fairways terrible greens

This course could be very nice and i think was a few years ago. Now it’s exteemely under maintained. Very over grown which ruins what could be picturesque The fairways were more dirt and sand than grass. the fairways are literally sand and soft dirt. With random patches of grassy green
The greens were erratic some too thick and slow and others mostly dirt.
I do not recommend this course to anyone

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for coming to Masonboro and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions. Our staff is working hard to improve the course, and we hope you will be able to see improvements the next time you visit us.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Poorly Maintained

I had played this course a few years ago and it was in excellent condition, not the case last week. The course was poorly maintained with more weeds and grass in the bunkers than there was sand. The greens were almost lost and had been punched recently. There was no mention of any of this when we contacted the club for a tee time or when we checked in. My playing partner had a coupon with no expiration date, however they immediately denied the coupon saying it was out of date. I will not return.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 08/20/2018:
Thank you for playing Masonboro Golf Club, Barry. We are sorry to hear your experience was anything less than 5 stars. We have been working hard to make improvements since your last round with us and we hope you'll consider giving us another chance.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Mase is coming back...

Mase is a place for golfers. Yeah it's hard, and the conditions aren't great right now, but for a song you can get out easily, have a few cheap beers and bang the sticks around. Good luck with the 6 hour rounds at the Muni if you want something comparable in price, or pay an extra $20 to play the development formerly known as Beau Rivage (don't get me wrong, Beau is great, but will all the construction, it's not the same experience it once was). They are working hard to improve the course, but it's not gonna happen overnight. Nonetheless, I enjoy it every time out. Swallow the pride a little, pay $25-30 and go have some fun. Isn't that the point of golf anyway?

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 08/20/2018:
Thank you for playing Masonboro Golf Club! We're very appreciative of you taking the time to share your kind words and feedback about our golf course and the improvements being made. Come back soon and be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not what it used to be

This course has fallen on some tough times. Not sure what happened but it is in awful shape. Tee boxes are sand with patches of “grass”. Fairways are not much better. Greens are diseased, aerated and bare sand patches cover 50% of the surface. It is cheap but not worth the savings.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for leaving us here at Masonboro Golf Club with a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointments with the condition of the course. We will keep working to have the course in shape during the summer months. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Needs TLC

Loved the layout and features. Course conditions not good. They are working to make it better but it will be a while before that’s accomplished.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Masonboro and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the course conditions, but we are happy that you liked the layout and features. Our staff will keep working to have the course in shape, and we hope you will be able to see improvement the next time you are here.
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 07/10/2018:
We're sorry to only see 3 stars. What can we do better next time?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Getting bettet

Conditions are improving but are still very poor. Hole 18 is a giant dirt patch. Borderline unplayable.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/25/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear the conditions of the course weren't up to par during your round. The winter was tough for many courses in the area and our staff is working hard to make the necessary improvements. We hope you consider giving us another shot in the near future. Thanks for playing Masonboro Golf Club.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Frustrating

Hdcp 0-8: The design of the course is punishing. The designer is from the look easy/play hard school of design. Many times obstacles are hidden from the tee. The course is relatively narrow from tee to green. The day I played the tees were moved very far forward. It frustrated me. I was told to play to the 150 markers as a general rule. I guess that is sound advice. Overall the course condition is 2/5. Most of the bunkers are in process of becoming grass bunkers. The greens were quick and rolled decently but overall they were not in healthy condition. They do have a driving range and it was in good condition. The staff was friendly. I don’t believe I will try it again any time soon. The price was fair.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/25/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the layout of the course and that the conditions weren't up to expectations. This winter was rough on many courses in the area but our staff is working very hard to make improvements. We hope you consider giving us another shot soon. Thanks for playing Masonboro Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Course needs work but very playable and priced well

Subpar reviews based on course conditions are understandable, but the course was priced accordingly. $29 on a Saturday morning was a great deal. Course was extremely playable and the layout is just amazing. I think most of the flak comes from people who struggle with the difficulty. Hitting to the 150 markers keeps you out of trouble on almost every hole. If you try to bite off more than that, you bring in a lot of trouble. Unless you're a single digit handicap, no way you should be playing anything past the white tees (6k yards).

Also, be careful around the water hazards as I've seen gators the past two visits. Ask the gent in the pro shop to see the 14 footer they call "Big Al" that is known to be found on the front nine.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/20/2018:
Hi hsctiger, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had an enjoyable round with us. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Masonboro Golf Club.
Played On
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your round with us was anything short of 5-stars. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Masonboro Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Great Course for cheap

I read some really bad reviews on this course but the deal was too cheap to pass up when just playing by myself. To my surprise, i was told that after 2PM the rate is only $25 for 18. It was a rainy day but the course was challenging and beautiful, the staff were polite and helpful and the golf carts were top of the line. The only drawback I could come up with was some patches of dead grass on a few of the greens. Still though, for the price its unbeatable.

Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Masonboro Golf Club!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

improving nicely

I am really glad to see that MCC is staying open as an 19 hole layout! While the course is still in need of improvement, management is doing what it takes to bring it back as one of the few semi private courses in ilm.

Looks like new irrigation system has been added and the effort is paying dividends! Fairways and t boxes are much better than a few weeks earlier. Greens, like most all in se nc are beginning to recover

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Hi nelgresom, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your patience as we continue to work on our course conditions. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thank for playing Masonboro Golf Club.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Under repair

I knew this course wasn't in good shape from reading reviews ( thanks for that golfnow users). I only played here because it wasn't heavily booked and I knew I could take my 4 year old and let him play around a bit and I could use it for practice. It seems that they're trying to get the course back in playing shape and, if they do, this would be an awesome course. It has a great layout and definitely wouldn't be an easy course. The fairways are tight and some of the par 4's play very long. Big greens and lots of bunkers. I hope they get this course into shape, it could be a great one.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/11/2018:
At Masonboro Golf Club we are always looking to improve and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you were able to bring your child out. We hope that you still had an enjoyable day on the golf course, and we hope to have you back soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The course has a good layout.

The course needs to be maintained better. Course needs watering badly as well as the greens. Greens are very brown and weedy in spots. Sand traps weren’t raked and in spots very weedy. We enjoyed the layout and feel course could potentially bea very beautiful course

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for playing Masonboro Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words regarding the course layout but also your feedback about the conditions. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor condition

Good price, but the course is in terrible shape. Looks like it's been years since they spent some money on that course. New gas carts are very nice but I wish they would've spent money in upkeep.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/06/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really value our customer experience, so your feedback is important to us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the conditions of the course. We will pass this feedback along to our staff, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Times Change

A couple of years ago, this was an acceptable course. Decent routing (though tight...not for 20+ handicaps) ok conditioning, very few houses, lots of scenic wetlands, etc.
Not anymore.
The owner decided to stop supporting the course and the conditioning is horrible. Large bare spots on fairways, greens and rough. Everywhere. This course needs a $2mm investment to make it playable. I heard that the owner just hired a new superintendent. Who would want that job? No way the owner will get this right. Stay away unless the $28 afternoon weekday rate is all you can afford.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Masonboro Golf Club on 06/01/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Masonboro Golf Club, in the New Hanover County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Request A Vacation Quote From Fore Myrtle Beach
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Fore Myrtle Beach will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Wilmington, North Carolina
3.8395117647
81
Winnabow, North Carolina
3.1714285714
6
Wilmington, North Carolina
0.0
0
Boiling Spring Lakes, North Carolina
3.0
4
Leland, North Carolina
4.5351705882
61
Wilmington, North Carolina
4.1428571429
3
Wilmington, North Carolina
4.0833333333
3
Leland, North Carolina
4.0703058824
57
Wilmington, North Carolina
0.0
0
Leland, North Carolina
4.0703058824
57

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: May 23, 2019 - Jun 30, 2019
2 Nights lodging at the Best Western Plus of Santee (or comparable lodging partner) and play 3 Rounds of golf on Santee Cooper Resort’s two courses.
Stay and Play
Stay & Play in Golf’s Little Big Town!
$466 Starting price
Stay and Play
Summer Golf Getaway in Santee!
$240 Starting price
Stay and Play
Come play in the Olde English District!
$576 Starting price
Stay and Play
Summer Special in Greenville, SC
$554 Starting price
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE