Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
162 Reviews (162)
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.4
94.0%
Recommend this course
153 out of 162 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
7 Reviews (7)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.9
85.7%
Recommend this course
6 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
11 Reviews (11)
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.1
90.9%
Recommend this course
10 out of 11 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Private
Par 72
Length 6920 yards
Slope 130
Rating 72.2

Delaware Golf Club sprawls across rolling countryside that lends an idyllic and secluded setting. Donald Ross designed the original nine holes in 1922 and they were later joined by a second nine designed by Michael Hurzdan in 1998. The layout meanders through wooded valleys and ravines. The rolling fairways are fairly wide but they are lined with mature trees and bunkers heavily guard the small, undulating greens. There are also water hazards that come into play on a number of holes. Delaware Golf Club's second hole is notably challenging, it is arguably the toughest hole on the front nine. This par-4 requires not only accuracy in order to avoid the ravine on the left but also distance to carry the lake and remain in the angled fairway. Golfers will be faced with one of the most difficult putts on the golf course if their approach finds the wrong side of the green.

Book a Tee Time at
Delaware Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1922
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 3/01 Closed: 12/15
Architect Donald Ross (1922) Dr. Michael Hurdzan (1998) Fuzzy Zoeller (1998)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Colared shirt required

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
162 Reviews (162)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 13
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 26
Bunkers 25
Undulating Greens 23
This course/club is great for:
Locals 23
Advanced Golfers 17
Entertaining Clients 10
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 23
Convenient to the City 21
In the 'Burbs 16

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 03/30/2020

Thanks for taking the time to rate us!

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Difficult to find the tee off place

Overall condition of fairways and green was very good. But, the layout of golf course cannot understand due to many crossover the roads and near to houses. Also, some course was very difficult to find the exact location due to no direction of course.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 03/30/2020

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back!

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 03/30/2020

Thanks for taking the time to rate us!

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

Course and greens were in great shape given the time of year. Course never disappoints as it is challenging yet fair.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 03/30/2020

Thanks so much for the 5 star rating! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the course and we cannot wait to have you back here again soon.

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Love the course

First time visiting Delaware and will be going back. Love the challenging layout.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 03/30/2020

Thanks so much for the great review, Stephen. We're so glad you had a great time, and we cannot wait to have you back here soon!

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 03/30/2020

Thanks for the 4 star rating!

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bucket List Must

This course is always a good challenge and we always have a great time. The Donald Ross designed back 9 is a real treat. Despite the advantages in new technology the course holds it own.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Some good things some not so good

The service in the pro shop ruined the entire experience. The greeting was sad. He must have been having a bad morning. July 5th. He did not give good customer service. We asked about range balls and he snapped back and said I don’t have any right now with an attitude no apology or remorse. He was not pleasant and seemed Pre occupied. Just not a great way to treat customers paying $50 each for a round of golf.
Laurie at the snack bar was terrific and friendly as well as the marshal. Course was in really good shape. Overall had a great time, but the initial greeting I at the pro shop was not good, not pleasant, not inviting.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Highly Recommended

This was our first time playing here- the guy in the clubhouse told us that they had "the best greens in Ohio", and I don't think he was kidding. The greens (and really the whole course in general) were in excellent condition. There is water in play on a few holes, and some well placed bunkers that will catch errant tee shots and approaches. Everything considered, the course is just challenging enough to be quite enjoyable.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Good conditions, POOR staff!

First time making a trip to this course and to be honest, the course beat my expectations. It has a very private club feel which is likely due to it used to be in a private club. The course is in great condition from tee to green and the layout wasn’t bad either.

One of the rare aqua driving ranges you will find in the area which is not my favorite but at least they have a range. Surprising they don’t have a better practice area.

The staff…… When we arrive, nobody was behind the front desk. Being a former golf pro myself that has worked at The staff…… When we arrived, nobody was behind the front desk. Being a former golf pro myself, it is a huge no-no. Not only is the register right there but also all of your merchandise. Never seen that before. After about five minutes, the person working decided to show up while on the phone. Based on the bits and pieces of the conversation you could hear, it didn’t seem like a business call. He was more interested in letting us know that he was about to play himself. Little did we know he would be right behind us. Unfortunate for both of us.

Because he was more interested in his phone call, there were no questions about if we knew where we were going or if we knew the carts did not have keys or any of that. I literally came in two minutes later (needed a cart key), and he didn’t even remember that I was there before.

And then to make matters worse, not only did he himself, hit into us at least twice, he would constantly drive the cart around the tee boxes when we were teeing off. We were waiting for the group in front of us which is why he was able to catch us. He should know better than to do something like that. I had to ask him to not do that anymore. He should be above that and no better being a employee of the club. Embarrassing.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Perfect Conditions

Best Conditions across the board for the entire course I have ever seen. Nothing else to say and an absolute steal of a twilight rate for $25.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

cut out of woods

this course has everything to offer from a short par 3 to a challenging par 5s its cut out of the woods so you better hit a straight shot... greens are big and for being april were in rather good shape, cant wait to play it again !!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Anonymous
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good value

For the price, it's hard to complain. It's a decent course in a nice area. They were obviously understaffed as the guy at the pro shop was the guy at the bar, but he was very nice.

The problem is the same for golf in general - slow play. I hate it and won't go back to places that tolerate it. Good or bad doesn't matter, just play quickly.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Delaware

Course was in excellent conditon. Very fun and challenging holes.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Closed the course

After a thunderstorm rolled through they sent someone out to tell us the course was closed. The course was not in bad shape. The clubhouse said that the superintendent called in and closed the course. It would have been nice for the super to come look at the course. Course was in great shape and I love this course design.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Beautiful Course

When I played it had been raining for a few days so the course was wet but it was in good condition especially considering how early in the year it was. The differences between the back 9 and front 9 are fun and unique. Only complaint is that Big Tree in the fairway on # 13 ! will play again for sure !

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

A windy 9 holes!

Course was beautiful with fall colors and in good condition. Great sand bunkers! Critiques? No bar or grill available and I could not get a rain check because we had to leave early.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Tricky, but still great

Great course, need more info on a few holes such as carry distances for instance on 16. From the tee you can not see any hazard, or even know how far the hazard is so if you plan on playing this course for the first time, might want to grab a yardage book. But not a boring hole on the golf course!

greens were about a 10.5 on the stimp meter and the practice green is probably the fastest on the course.

All in all great course will come back again if i can get it for the right price.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Great course, but gimmicky

The Donald Ross nine is fun but three holes ruin it. #11 and #17 both have greens that are on severe slopes that are beyond ridiculous. There is a par 5 on the back that has a large tree in the middle of the fairway 200 yards out, and the fairway is tight so you have no bailout option if you decide not to challenge it. The rest of the course is great. The greens are exceptional for a public course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Nearby Courses
Delaware, Ohio
3.9420117647
157
Galena, Ohio
5.0
2
Delaware, Ohio
3.9313705882
123
Lewis Center, Ohio
1.6923
13
Powell, Ohio
4.1728117647
152
Ostrander, Ohio
4.0357166667
15
Sunbury, Ohio
3.4742705882
140

Stay & Play Offers

From $239
Valid dates: Apr 04, 2020 - Sep 30, 2020
Here at Coachman's Golf Resort we pride ourselves on the high quality of magnificent golf, superb amenities and outstanding service that we offer our valued customers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE