Union League National Golf Club - South/West

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
218
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
20
1 Stars
7
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.4
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.5
Layout
4.6
86.9%
Recommend this course
183 out of 218 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
218
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.8
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.8
Layout
5.0
83.3%
Recommend this course
5 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6895
Slope 136
Rating 72.1
Type Semi-Private
Union League National Golf Club on the Jersey Shore is a course that earns its former name (Sand Barrens), thanks to the varied sand traps and waste bunkers. Designed by Dana Fry and Dr. Michael Hurdzan, the South/West Course measures 6,895 yards from the longest tees and has a slope rating of 136. The front nine is a little open and has more undulating greens than the back. Look for No. 4, which plays 439 yards and is one of the course favorites. It gets no easier on the back nine, which finishes with two challenging par 4s.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Pro 72 6895 yards 72.1 136
Champion 72 6608 yards 70.1 131
Regulation 72 6270 yards 67.8 125
Regulation (W) 72 6270 yards 73.4 136
Senior 72 5695 yards 65.7 117
Forward 72 4971 yards 68.8 120
Scorecard for West/South
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Pro M: 72.1/136 386 561 175 398 514 203 384 448 440 3509 365 188 399 429 439 546 204 295 511 3376 6885
Champions M: 70.1/131 375 548 165 379 499 182 361 432 425 3366 353 179 372 406 428 523 186 285 500 3232 6598
Regulation M: 65.7/125 W: 72.0/131 362 530 141 356 478 177 343 413 409 3209 329 163 354 381 415 491 157 276 485 3051 6260
Senior M: 65.2/117 319 510 130 335 422 140 289 373 374 2892 305 145 328 353 358 459 129 255 461 2793 5685
Forward W: 68.5/117 250 448 113 279 400 97 242 351 308 2488 254 105 308 329 328 443 109 210 387 2473 4961
Handicap 8 12 10 14 18 4 6 2 16 9 15 5 3 1 7 11 17 13
Par 4 5 3 4 5 3 4 4 4 36 4 3 4 4 4 5 3 4 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Golf Season Year round
Architect Dr. Michael Hurdzan Dana Fry (1997)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Dress code strictly enforced for golf course AND practice facility. Please be prepared to comply. Collared golf shirts and proper length shorts required. No denim.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in New Jersey (2017 #14)

Reviews

4.3
218

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 17
Patio Dining 12
19th Hole Scenic Views 7
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 47
Undulating Greens 25
Thick Rough 17
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 27
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 23
A Weekend Splurge 20
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 25
Near Local Attractions 19
Convenient to the City 8
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great Course

Great course! Played the west course, felt like I was in a playing in a pine forrest. Some water hazards, but not bad. Would play again.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course, bad bugs

Nice course, super friendly staff. Course layout is nice, greens are huge and smooth. The flys decided my ankles were irresistible and made an otherwise nice day tough. They don't have bug spray for sale.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course

Played w/ a couple of friends from FL Nice course good deal fiendly staff
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Favorite public/private course in south jersey

What an awesome course. The staff are all incredibly friendly, the starter will sit there and have a conversation with you about your playing ability and pace of play, then will decide which course to send you out on. He listens to you and will take your requests into account. The rangers are very nice and do an amazing job at keeping play moving. The course is beautiful, but there is a serious problem with people not replacing their divots! I know this is not the fault of the course but it is very annoying when your drives are rolling into people's divots multiple times. If there were less divots this would easily get 5 stars for condition of course. Would recommend this course to anyone
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not like it once was

I've played this course multiple times over the past 5 years, but this last time it was not in nearly as well kept as in years past. It's a nice layout of a course. But I won't be returning to play at these prices if it isn't going to be taken care of. I've played much better courses for $20-$25, with their max cost is less than $50. And Sand Barrens would be in the ball park if their fees were equivalent. Tees and greens were fine, but waste areas, sand traps, and some of the fairways were less than ideal. As if they only have half or 1/3 of the staff needed. All the staff was friendly and helpful, I certainly appreciate that.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best Condition in Years

Course is in tip top condition. Greens were smooth and fast. Finished 18 holes in 3.5 hours.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Swainton, New Jersey
4.2984294118
218
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
3.9956529412
260
Swainton, New Jersey
4.2984294118
218
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
4.0
1
Clermont, New Jersey
4.0152705882
90
Ocean View, New Jersey
4.3382352941
8
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
0.0
0
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE