The Players Club at Foxfire Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
137
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
66
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.4
Layout
0
97.9%
Recommend this course
114 out of 137 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
137
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.2
Layout
4.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
137
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.2
Layout
4.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7077
Slope 132
Rating 74.2
Type Public
Foxfire Golf Club boasts 36 holes of championship golf, the Foxfire Course and the Players Club Course. The Players Club was added in 1993.The layout is a deft combination of traditional American golf and traditional British links design that provides the perfect complement to the original. The golf course is the more challenging of the two, but not by much. The layout features narrow fairways lined with trees and water hazards on eight holes. There are three particularly tricky carries over water. Strategically placed bunkers and contoured mounding also treacherously lurk by the greensides. The par-4 16th hole is the course's signature. This demanding hole plays uphill through trees to a green that is guarded by five bunkers. The most memorable hole though, might be the par-5 eighth, which features the longest sand bunker in the Midwest.
Book a Tee Time at
Foxfire-The Players Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 7077 yards 74.2 132
White 72 6705 yards 72.4 128
Green 72 6192 yards
Red(W) 72 5255 yards 70.3 121
Scorecard for The Players Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.6/147 418 181 362 386 537 367 177 541 470 3439 447 191 417 414 565 526 434 197 447 3638 7077
Blue M: 72.5/141 399 173 331 368 501 329 163 518 456 3238 431 165 390 396 547 517 426 171 424 3467 6705
White M: 70.1/133 373 160 315 342 472 314 138 499 430 3043 381 141 343 361 521 496 372 152 399 3166 6209
Green M: 66.0/122 W: 70.5/128 350 155 290 300 450 275 124 450 390 2784 337 121 321 341 485 476 362 147 378 2968 5752
Red W: 70.1/126 345 153 285 290 402 219 106 408 385 2593 287 104 281 272 480 421 362 143 312 2662 5255
Handicap 4 8 18 16 12 10 14 6 2 3 13 11 15 5 7 1 17 9
Par 4 3 4 4 5 4 3 5 4 36 4 3 4 4 5 5 4 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

4.1
137

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 19
Watching the Game 5
Brunch 4
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 23
Water Hazards 20
Undulating Greens 18
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 21
Locals 16
Playing Multiple Courses 11
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 17
Convenient to the City 13
In the 'Burbs 7
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On 08/05/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great Layout, Great Conditions except...

I love this course. The layout is fantastic and can get very challenging on a few holes. The condition (grass) of the course was decent except it looked like they didn’t mow the tee boxes and aprons all weekend. Very furry! The bunkers are a disgrace. Not sure what exactly is in them but it appears to be dirt instead of sand. They were practically cement the day I went which makes playing a traditional bunker shot impossible as you cannot dig in and hit 2 inches behind the ball without blading it 20 yards beyond the green. Some bunkers even had visible tree roots popping out of them. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE fix the bunkers!!!!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 07/30/2018
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On 06/23/2018
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great but for the pace

Very nice course. Laid out well, generally good condition except for the bunkers which were a disaster. All in all, it would have been an enjoyable place to play if it wasn't for the pace. Playing at a course like this on a Saturday afternoon at 4pm, one would expect to be able to play consistently. Not the case here. It took an hour to play 3 1/2 holes. Ultimately, we had to skip 5 holes just to get ahead of things and finish or else we wouldn't have finished in time before it got dark. Really disappointing for a course I was really looking forward to playing.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On 06/04/2018
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Excellent Course, Excellent Experience

A hidden gem. Friendly staff. Practice area is in good shape as was the course; tee boxes were well maintained, well irrigated and lush green fairways, adequate rough depth and soft conditioned greens. Mature trees, bunkers and water on some holes provides a challenge, but is scenic. This is a hard course to walk due to the elevation changes; better to ride. Just stay off the path; the paths contained lots of broken sections and really jeered the driver and the clubs.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 06/03/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Respecting tee time

Overall we had a wonderful round of golf at the Players Club as we expected. However, when I booked the round on Golf Now, the tee time given to me was 9:03 am and we arrived more than 30 minutes prior. When I went to make payment, we were told our tee time was now 9:20. Not a big deal on Sunday, but this was the first time this has happened to me.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On 05/06/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great layout.

Love the layout of the course and it’s challenging greens. Dandelions were abundant so that was a little disappointing and the reason for the 3 on conditions. Will be back though.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 05/19/2017
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good as Always!

Always fun to play The Players. Course was in very good shape, except for the bunkers (and they were busy working on those while we were playing). Always fun --- the entire course is fun but always look forward to holes #14-#16, which are an immense challenge! Go play it!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 03/24/2017
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Great golf course and excellent service!

What a great way to start the season! I had an amazing time playing last friday. The fairways and greens were in great shape. Specially the greens, you can tell they take care of their greens. I know some people commented on the quality of the bunkers last year, but it seems like they have worked on them lately, because most of them are in really good shape, there are only a few bunkers that need some work, but nothing major. Regarding the service, what can I say.... It's top notch! This really made a difference for me. Customer service was amazing from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. I called the clubhouse when we reached hole No.9 to ask if they had a beverage cart working, we didn't expect it at 5pm, but we called and asked anyway. They didn't have the cart out at that time, but they asked us what we needed and actually took our order and delivered it to the course. You can't really beat that! Thanks to Vince for such amazing customer service. We'll be back for sure!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 07/18/2016
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beautiful day, wish my game was the same.

All though it had rained cats and dogs that morning the course was in nice shape and the greens ran true. This is one of my favorite places to play. A wonderful course. The only negative thing I can say is that bunkers need to either be filled in or added to. Or I guess just don't hit I'm them. Still a wonderful place to play.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 06/24/2016
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The fox was a great value

The bunkers were the only thing in need of attention. In fairness to the course however they had experienced a tremendous rainstorm the previous evening. This course is always a wonderful challenge and typically in wonderful shape.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$114 Starting price
Valid dates: Mar 01, 2018 - Sep 30, 2018
Pine Cone Accommodations offers unique vacation properties in the Gaylord area and special package pricing for Stay and Play with Gaylord Country Club. Check out their web site for a comprehensive listing of available cabins, homes and condominiums that will make your next visit a memorable experience. TAKE THE TOUR! TOUR 54 3 Rounds of Golf & 2 Nights Lodging $114 per person per night
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE