Windmill Lakes Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
251
5 Stars
163
4 Stars
76
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.6
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.5
95.9%
Recommend this course
245 out of 250 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.4
25
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.5
Layout
4.6
Pace
3.8
Amenities
4.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
96.0%
Recommend this course
24 out of 25 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.5
35
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.6
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
4.4
97.1%
Recommend this course
34 out of 35 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6936
Slope 128
Rating 73.8
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Windmill Lakes Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 70 6936 yards 73.8 128
Championship 70 6503 yards 71.9 124
Regular 70 6141 yards 69.7 118
Hybrid 70 5834 yards
Silver 70 5591 yards
Forward 70 4809 yards 67.5 113
Scorecard for Windmill Lakes
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Tournament M: 73.4/127 450 182 409 567 440 419 385 188 427 3467 425 411 208 379 191 449 546 442 418 3469 6936
Championship M: 71.4/122 429 165 380 544 410 397 364 163 401 3253 405 389 186 353 172 422 515 413 395 3250 6503
Regular M: 69.5/118 398 145 370 521 387 377 346 144 377 3065 387 369 170 329 158 398 495 390 380 3076 6141
Hibrid M: 68.4/116 385 145 356 475 307 377 346 144 377 2912 387 278 170 329 158 398 495 327 380 2922 5834
Silver M: 67.0/114 W: 77.2/134 385 145 356 475 307 341 346 144 343 2842 387 278 170 329 158 339 455 327 306 2749 5591
Forward W: 67.5/113 365 131 281 415 264 290 273 139 296 2454 350 278 107 245 153 303 343 310 266 2355 4809
Handicap 7 15 13 1 5 11 9 17 3 2 14 16 12 18 8 10 4 6
Par 4 3 4 5 4 4 4 3 4 35 4 4 3 4 3 4 5 4 4 35 70

Course Details

Year Built 1970
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ed Ault (1970)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed Yes
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code No tank tops or cutoffs

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.6
251

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 15
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 29
Undulating Greens 26
Plays Long 23
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 31
Locals 17
A Weekend Splurge 13
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 30
Convenient to the City 6
In the 'Burbs 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great 'Cart Path Only' Round

Great round. It has been raining on and off for the last week. 'Cart path only' was the play today. Still had a very fun round on a very fun golf coarse.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 11/02/2018:
Hi, thanks for the five stars! We are glad that you still had a great round of golf with us despite the recent weather. Thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. #windmilllakesgc
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Round

Go ahead and 'Make your Day' with around @ WML. I've play the track many times and it's always been a treat. Everyone is very professional and courteous.. WML is a special day of golf!

Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 10/26/2018:
Hi, thanks for the five stars! We are thrilled that you had a great round of golf at Windmill Lakes Golf Club the other day. We appreciate your positive feedback, and we can't wait for you to play your next round here! #windmilllakesgc
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart

Under normal conditions, I bet it would be better to play. It rained for a couple days prior to my round. Cart path only is tough as the paths are a ways from fairway. Driving range was also closed due to wet fairways. Check ahead of time to check status of cart path only or range. Tough long day if not able to run fairways.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 10/18/2018:
Hi Brian, thanks for the three stars. We are sorry to hear that you played our course when the weather wasn't the best. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Beautiful day on great course, but

it had rained for several days prior, so was cart path only. Course was very wet, standing water in some low lying spots. There was no roll after the ball hit the ground as it was so soft. Otherwise, course is in great shape, and lots of advantages from the forward tees.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 10/18/2018:
Hello Sue, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that you played when the weather wasn't the best, but we hope that you still enjoyed your round of golf. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 09/25/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four-star review! We are glad that you had a positive experience with us the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pace bad, greens great

Had a 1:28 tee time. Was told they were 20 minutes behind when reality was almost 35. My group got stuck behind high school kids walking, pace was very slow and there was no ranger the entire time. Waiting on tee boxes for 10 minutes. After 16 holes we called it a day as it was already almost 6:35pm

Course is always in good shape. Fairways were not cut as short as usual but understandable with all the rain we have had. The greens were in great shape as usual.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 09/17/2018:
Hello Craig, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that pace of play interrupted your round of golf. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 50 Contributor

Course was in good condition but did not like greens

Staff was friendly and professional. Fairways were in very good condition. Did not like the greens as the holes were on mounds (very unfair). Putts would not go in unless absolute perfect speed and line. This is pricey so will stay closer to home and golf nicer and less expensive courses.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 09/04/2018:
Hello Lori, thank you for the three-star review. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our staff and found our fairways in good shape. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

this tee time should not have been allowed

there was a tournament going on in front of us. We finished the front nine quite late. But when we came to the back nine it was impossible and we are waiting for nearly half an hour. After which we were asked to go back and play the front 9 again.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 09/04/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that you got mixed up in a tournament that day. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope that next time will be better.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Boring traditional layout

The course is a solid average. Traditional tree lined fairways going back and forth and back and forth. Not a good course for a high handicapper. Very nice staff and the greens were in excellent condition. Just thought the layout was boring and overall, not a very manicured course. Lots of ground under repair that isn't marked, lots of dirt (no grass), etc. Just trees on both sides of the fairway, back and forth, back and forth. Overall, better than some of the other courses in the area for sure.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 08/21/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the layout, but we are glad that you found our course in good shape.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 08/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are happy that you had a great round of golf at Windmill Lakes Golf Club the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Beautiful Brute

Nothing tricked up about this place. A straight forward come and get me monster. Well taken care of with lots of areas being repaired. Tee to green the course was in awesome shape. The swirling winds add to the difficulty as do the the huge greens that are super fast, but true. Best stocked pro shop in the Cleveland area. Only downside was that the 1st tee was almost a half hour off pace. Maybe with a 440 yard 1st hole, space out the tee times a bit more?

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/31/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five-star review! We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to Windmill Lakes Golf Club. Come back again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is in excellent shape. Staff are always very friendly and knowledgeable. One of the best in NEO. Enjoyable round every time we play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/24/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five-star review! We are glad that you found our course in excellent condition and that you had a friendly experience with our staff. We appreciate you stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/24/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We hope that you had a great round of golf out there. Thanks for stopping by, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A tester

Windmill is relentless—-long, trees, and water. Rough is very short. Greens are undulating, and roll nicely. Keep it in the fairway. Staff friendly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/23/2018:
Hello, thank you for the four stars! We are glad to hear that you had a great golf course experience and found our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/20/2018:
Hello Jason, thank you for the five stars! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable round of golf with us the other day. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/10/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five-star review! We are thrilled to see that you had a wonderful round of golf out there. Thanks for stopping by, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Disappointing

Sorry to say, this course has dropped a bit in my ranking. Have been away for a few years and was looking forward to playing again. Have to say while the course is great, the pace of play was extremely slow and the ranger knew it. They allowed way too many two player groups on the course and did not pair them up even though it was obvious many of them were slowing down the pace of play to a crawl. I like the course but too long of a drive for a 5+ hr round of golf on a Friday afternoon. May try them on a weekend to see if they manage pace of play any better.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/10/2018:
Hello Jay, thank you for the four stars! We are sorry to hear that the pace of play was slow during your round. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/05/2018:
Hello Dan, thank you for the five-star review! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable golfing experience. Come back again soon!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 07/02/2018:
Hello, thank you for the five stars! We are happy to see that you had a good time out there. Thanks for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Enjoyable Outing with Spouse

After a week of questionable weather, the forecast was for a “picture perfect day” and I was able to secure a tee time for my wife and myself to get in 9-holes. Conditions, course and staff were above approach. Though we were a twosome following a threesome following a foursome, pace of play was ideal (course knows how to pace groups).

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Windmill Lakes Golf Club on 06/25/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Windmill Lakes and for leaving us a 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you liked our staff, and we would look forward to seeing you all out here again sometime soon.
Nearby Courses
Ravenna, Ohio
1.0
1
Kent, Ohio
4.6787294118
120
Kent, Ohio
3.9582
43
Kent, Ohio
4.0262117647
138
Stow, Ohio
4.0629705882
164
Stow, Ohio
3.8067470588
159
Silver Lake, Ohio
4.5
2
Lake Milton, Ohio
3.3804705882
20

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE