Miami Shores Golf Club

4.2291058824 4.2 stars from 5 (35)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6410 yards
  • Slope: 116
  • Rating: 68.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: No
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirt and shoes required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6410 yards 68.6 116
White 72 6068 yards 68.8 112
Gold (W) 72 5313 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 72 5187 yards 68.8 111

Donald Ross designed Miami Shores Golf Club in 1949. Since then, the course has had the front greens renovated in the 70s and the back nine's were updated in the 90s, but the best features of the original design have been carefully preserved. The municipal golf course covers 130 acres but it is seemingly short at just over 6,200 yards, a characteristic of older courses. The classic layout has fairways that are straight and offer some room for error, but there are stands of mature trees situated throughout the course that golfers will have to contend with. If you are used to playing longer, more modern layouts, Miami Shores provides an interesting contrast that is also a challenging but fair test. The course's affordability is also an appealing factor.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 35 Reviews
5 stars:
12
4 stars:
15
3 stars:
7
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

33 out of 35 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"good day on the course"


836chick's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had a great time. The course was in good shape and the weather was perfect


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



gmikey's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



gmikey's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Overbooked. Players on course were a**holes."


mmckenna9's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff was nice. Course was delayed and overbooked. Course was filled with some a**holes who were rude to other players.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"course review"


u658919186's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

my wife and i played this course and found it to be a nice well kept course, and we would highly recommend to other friends that play. well laid out


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good Layout"


u000005851681's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course with a good layout. Good balance of tough holes with good scoring holes in between. Gives you the opportunity to take chances off the tee if you can carry the trees!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Saturday"


u000007968159's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were in great shape and the overall course was in nice condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Miami shore golf course"


Sajjad6600174's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in good shape.

Fairly straightforward outlay, just keep the ball straight and you can score


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great course for all Ages"


xpfi001's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in good shape for late season.Great deal through GOLF NOW !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u8109982's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A flat golf course with challenging greens. Pins are typically located in tough sports. The fairways have always been in great shape, open enough for higher handicap players as well. Enough sand and ridgy greens to challenge the better golfers. Always holds rain really well.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Pro shop guy needs work"


kelly2832860's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course on good shape, no problem there, it was before we got out on the course, u had an issue. First , when I arrived and started to check in, I told the guy behind counter that I had a digital golf pass coupon, he said we don't accept them, we use golf now. I said yes you do, there is a paper on the wall behind him with the company logo. Then I had to walk him thru the process of using the 2 for 1 coupon, we were in the pro shop , no lie, 10 to 15 minutes waiting for him to do the math. 2 for 1, 2 carts and a green fee, not that hard.

Course in good shape, had a good round after that, just frustrated at beginning


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u6878800's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Straight Forward"


dtownchris77's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Well maintained and straight course. Not a ton of character but you will do well if you hit it straight.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Course, Slow Play"


u608980818's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I thoroughly enjoy the course. The pro shop staff is friendly and they have a descent bar area. They do seem to be always running slow. I played 15 holes in 4 hours and had to leave.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Marvin1785201's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great day"


u4106496's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great day!

Course was in great condition, Thanks!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fall Golf"


bsk1023's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape for late fall, greens recovered from being aerated and roll true and fast. Course is short and greens are it's best defense. Ken always makes you feel welcome.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed