Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
335 Reviews (335)
5 Stars
110
4 Stars
162
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
7
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.1
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.6
81.3%
Recommend this course
301 out of 335 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
46 Reviews (46)
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.1
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.6
84.8%
Recommend this course
39 out of 46 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
60 Reviews (60)
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.2
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.6
88.3%
Recommend this course
53 out of 60 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6369 yards
Slope 119
Rating 70.8

Hickory Valley Golf Club boasts two 18-hole, regulation-length courses, named the Ambassador and the Presidential. The Ambassador Course is the shorter of the two at 6,450 yards but it still offers a fair test. The classic layout is routed through towering hardwoods forests that stretch to over 70 feet high. The tall hickory trees loom over the fairways. The small greens are sloped back to front, presenting a challenge for even the most seasoned players. Water hazards come into play on several holes and there are a few tricky doglegs to contend with. The bunkering is minimal but the abundant trees will be enough to keep you on your toes. The golf course has some challenging holes but it's not overly punishing for the high handicapper.

Book a Tee Time at
Hickory Valley Golf Club - Ambassador
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1968
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Indoor Practice Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Conference Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.8
335 Reviews (335)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
Watching the Game 9
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 40
Narrow Fairways 37
Bunkers 31
This course/club is great for:
Locals 40
Advanced Golfers 30
Playing Multiple Courses 30
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 45
In the 'Burbs 34
Convenient to the City 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Review for the Ambassador course at Hickory Valley (not the Presidential)

Was only the runner up to their Presidential course but still nice, less expensive, and fairly well maintained. Well that has all recently changed as this course is in such poor condition the people that run this club should be ashamed for charging any money and not warning their customers what their in for. Almost every hole is a mess from tee to green. Not sure if it was caused by the storms a few weeks back but whatever the reason they need to put some of the tons of money they rake in everyday back into their course. Myself and others i play with will not return until we see management post something on their website addressing the course conditions and what/how they plan to fix it.
Oh, and to the management at HV "please update your 50 year old, falling apart, golf carts - it is ridiculous driving those clunkers"

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/11/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please as reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 24
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Log jam?

Well, the course was in pretty good shape since they had a Tropical storm 4 days before which brought down many beautiful trees that you had to play around if you steered off the fairways....fairways were damaged from overflowed creeks, but overall mostly fone to play. Greens were in good shape but very slow...our group's biggest gripe was the slow play which likely attributed to very poor golfers with no golf ettiqette which led to a 5 hour plus round.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice greens and course.

Greens were in excellent shape. Fairways were ravaged by the recent storm. Like the course and my foursome enjoyed. We will play it again. Presidential course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 08/11/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 08/11/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/11/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 08/11/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Default User Image
Commented on 08/11/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 24
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser

Nice day, BUT...

Course over all on good shape..greens nice, but a little slow....fairways alright except for a few spots..but the REAL problem was again, slow play. This group in front of us left their balls on the green to go flirt with the beverage cart girl...we thought they finished the hole, but when we got up to the green to chip saw that they had not completed the hole, and they then proceeeded to slowly put their beers down and rake their time to putt out while their was an open hole in front of them. 5 hours is too long to play 18.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Mr Fairway

I’ve been playing here for the past few years. This course is always in good condition but the green seems to slower than it looks.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 77
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Tight !

Course was in decent shape - the greens were smooth but really slow - the practice greens were mowed but none of the course greens were, so a bit disappointing putting through the dew almost all morning - otherwise good day !

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Way too slow

Pace was so slow, I started to lose interest. Bunkers were so poorly maintained that it was possible to putt out of some of them. Greens were unusually slow as well. Add to that a cart that required the driver to hammer the accelerator just to get it to start moving and the distractions added up to a "meh" day at the course.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Meh

I’ve played this course plenty of times. I feel like the course is tight with treelines and uneven rough throughout. Fairways were in ghastly conditions, but greens were better than average. I went off around 6:30am, thick fog and basically was hitting into a blind spot the first 9. Not ideal with the narrow fairways. Like I said the greens were the best part of this course and I was actually impressed with them. I will definitely play again, as I want to score low on this track that has always given me trouble.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/27/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great greens

A amazing course that is well maintained. Greens were lovely and the grounds crew was very friendly. We did not catch his name but he was from Maryland and very friendly and insightful. Will definitely be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Choose clubs wisely!

More challenging than average course w regard to club selection due to water hazard crosscuts. Conditions were very good.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great value

Great value for the money. Pace was a little slower than I’d like. Nice layout. Not many hazards. Conditions were great. Well manicured greens and fairways. Definitely playing this one again. Worth the hour drive.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A challenging beauty.

This course was difficult but beautiful interns of its landscape and greens. I’ve been playing for the last 3 months and have not seen greens like that in a long time. PGA level almost.

Conditions Excellent
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Presidential course is amazing

Great day out on the course, especially when teeing off at 6:40. Pace of play was great along with the other two guys plying with us. Definitely recommend playing from the championship tees gives you a whole different perspective of your second shot. Would certainly recommend this course to someone else.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great shape

My only complaint is that they didn't give you the pin locations there are a lot of holes that you can't see the pin from the fairway. So it's anywhere between a club or club and a half difference between front middle and back. so it affects the proximity to hole which I don't even have to say. Please update this because you have it on the scorecard and if you're cutting the holes it shouldn't be hard to record them and turn them in to the pro shop.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review and your feedback! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. in most areas. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review and your feedback! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations in most areas. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Nearby Courses
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.7997176471
335
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9166764706
250
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9166764706
250
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9166764706
250
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
4.3596470588
261
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
4.3333333333
2
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Public
4.1968058824
339
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Private
0.0
0
Bally, Pennsylvania
Public
4.2
5
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9831882353
95
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Public
3.6829666667
118
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Private
4.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE