Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
378 Reviews (378)
5 Stars
116
4 Stars
177
3 Stars
48
2 Stars
23
1 Stars
14
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.5
78.1%
Recommend this course
325 out of 378 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
86 Reviews (86)
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
7
Conditions
3.4
Value
3.6
Layout
4.1
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
69.8%
Recommend this course
60 out of 86 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.6
89 Reviews (89)
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
7
Conditions
3.4
Value
3.6
Layout
4.1
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
70.8%
Recommend this course
63 out of 89 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6369 yards
Slope 119
Rating 70.8

Hickory Valley Golf Club boasts two 18-hole, regulation-length courses, named the Ambassador and the Presidential. The Ambassador Course is the shorter of the two at 6,450 yards but it still offers a fair test. The classic layout is routed through towering hardwoods forests that stretch to over 70 feet high. The tall hickory trees loom over the fairways. The small greens are sloped back to front, presenting a challenge for even the most seasoned players. Water hazards come into play on several holes and there are a few tricky doglegs to contend with. The bunkering is minimal but the abundant trees will be enough to keep you on your toes. The golf course has some challenging holes but it's not overly punishing for the high handicapper.

Book a Tee Time at
Hickory Valley Golf Club - Ambassador
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1968
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Indoor Practice Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Conference Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.7
378 Reviews (378)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
Watching the Game 9
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 40
Narrow Fairways 37
Bunkers 31
This course/club is great for:
Locals 40
Advanced Golfers 30
Playing Multiple Courses 30
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 45
In the 'Burbs 34
Convenient to the City 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice course design

The course was in nice shape. Greens must have been aerated recently because still a bit bumpy

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Wet & Green Aeration still showing

To my very unprofessional landscaping eye, I think they aerated too late this year. They aerated the greens about a month ago and there are still lots of holes and bumps on the green. Now that it's mid-November, I don't see those growing in until the spring.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Hickory Valley Ambassador course

Have played this course several times this summer and always have found it to be well maintained. The only thing that I would add is more sand traps to make the course more interesting.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 11/12/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 11/12/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Image
Commented on 11/09/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 17
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please as reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please as reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course

Love playing here two courses very nice and challenging. Wish the signs per course were more taken care of

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 11/05/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care!

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Seen better days

It’s difficult to understand why this course remains underwhelming regarding conditions when similarly priced course in same area are always in much better shape. It’s not awful but for the price, there are many other & better options.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice layout, challenging but not out of hand by any stretch. Greens were receptive and rolled nicely. For this time of year it was in great shape with the expected thin spots etc. I liked it because it made you put the driver in the bag and think out the next shot a little more than usual. Looking forward to being back.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Very tight, OB, hazards, lost balls

Make sure you hit every fairway. Annoying search for ball every hole even with decent drives. Balls lost in rough, trees/woods. Tons of water, some hidden. Pace was god awful, they cramped tee times too close for late season money grab. Overall just a very non forgiving course and frustrating day.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/13/2020

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. Your review will allow us to follow up in areas you voiced concern. If possible, please reach out to us directly so we discuss your review in more detail. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 10/05/2020

Jim8105087, we want to hear more about your experience with us! Please call us at (610) 754-7733. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 10/05/2020

Hi Jim8105087. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Ambassador at Hickory Valley Golf Club.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Follow up. The course received massive flooding rain starting the day before and right up to a few hours before my tee time. There was a lot of casual water. The greens were in perfect condition as were most of the fairways. I said average value based on the rack rate. I got a hot deal and for that price I would play there once a week.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 10/01/2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star rating!

Played On
Reviews 37
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

I'm writing this review still on the course t time 1pm its now 557pm im.on 17th hole. EXTREMELY SLOW we joined the 4 some behind us and made a 7 group and still waiting every tee every shot. It's a joke how bad this is. Course needs some love on fairways greens are nive. Also with construction Its impossible to find course they may want to put some signs up. But loved playing this course growing up my father knew the pro and I wanted to share the course with my kids and they don't wanna come back. Stupid ridiculous slow was the reason.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care

Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience. Your satisfaction is a deep concern of ours as we always aim to exceed expectations. We would the opportunity to bump those 3 stars to 5. Please come back soon and allow us to wow you on your next visit! Until then, take care

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Wow - Thank you for the five star review! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations. We love hearing from you and are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Very nice

Played here for the first time, loved the area and surroundings. Course was overall very nice.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Default User Image
Commented on 10/02/2020

Thank you for leaving 4 stars! We love hearing from you and are glad you had a good experience. We would love the opportunity to bump those 4 stars to 5. We hope you will come back soon so we can wow you on your next visit.

Nearby Courses
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.6916294118
378
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9009235294
280
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9009235294
280
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9009235294
280
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
4.4143588235
289
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Public
4.3333333333
3
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Public
4.4621764706
341
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Private
0.0
0
Bally, Pennsylvania
Public
3.2
7
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
Public
3.9397058824
127
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Public
3.62805
150
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Private
4.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE