Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
54 Reviews (54)
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.9
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.1
74.4%
Recommend this course
42 out of 54 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.8
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.3
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
75.0%
Recommend this course
12 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
28 Reviews (28)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.3
Value
4.3
Layout
3.9
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.6
78.6%
Recommend this course
22 out of 28 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6124 yards
Slope 113
Rating 68.6
Book a Tee Time at
Sunset Hills Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1952
Golf Season Year round
Architect B. Frazier

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Reviews

3.4
54 Reviews (54)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course was in great shape. Some tee boxes were a little sketchy but pretty good. Fairways looked great. Greens were in good shape but they need to be cut. I know we've had a lot of rain lately and that could be the reason they were a little high. All in all, great course for the money paid

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great value

Course was in good condition considering the amount of rain we’ve had

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good for the price

This is a great course especially for beginners. Par 71 and a pretty simple course with a mix of dogleg lefts and rights and straight shots. Greens are in good shape but this is not a 5 star course by any means. If your looking for a place to play and learn and have a good time this is it. I played with 1 person and it took us 2:45 minutes and we were not rushing. during covid though so no one in front of us.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Value King

Great course for the money, so many options with all the extra things there. Pitching greens, putting greens, driving range and two courses!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Never again

The course was extremely wet which they cant really help. But the fact they allow people to tee off anywhere they like some guys bounced from different holes all over the place. Alot of people that have no golf etiquette. and course was in very poor condition. I will not play here again

Conditions Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 04/10/2020

I played here a couple days ago.....awful. The layout is actually decent and fun to play if you need a quick round but....
People in jeans, 5 and 6 player groups teeing off. Most of these players have no golf etiquette. I was playing as a single and I actually had a man in a foursome say "you just need to pass us when we are playing slow"
They couldn't even hit the ball 30 yards. Awful experience.

Default User Image
Commented on 03/06/2020

Hey! We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our course. Players bouncing around can be very frustrating and is something we try to continue to improve at the course. We'd be happy to discuss your time at Sunset Hills and what we can do moving forward. If you email dratcliffe@ratcliffegolfservices.com with your contact information and we will follow up with you!

Played On
Reviews 1
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Much better for price

Played here with 3 friends and it was a mess. Course is very torn up and everything is brown. Greens are in okay condition. If your looking for a good course to play in Charlotte do not go here. There many other options that are better

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather

Course is in need of a lot of love.

First time playing this course. I was first struck by the condition of the carts. The carts available all had low air pressure and were dirty. The seats all had torn and worn seats. Condsidering this is the winter not much grass available to get a good shot. The approach area around most of the greens was very muddy. The greens themselves have sparse green grass. This led to difficult speed control on putts.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing

Is what it is

Don’t expect Sunset Hills to be a Championship club experience. It is the epitome of a muni course. It is a great course for those wanting a good round of golf for cheap. The layout is classic, and there is not a lot of opportunities to get into trouble which is great for those learning the game. The greens are small and slope to the edges requiring some accuracy on approach. Once on, the greens are in great shape but very slow. Overall a great round at a great price!

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun Course, Great Value

Great course, especially for the beginner or average player. Tends to be a bit muddy around the greens, but good course layout and a great value.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Sunset Hills G.C.

I played 9 holes then another 18 that I booked through GolfNOW. With coupons from perviously booked rounds, my cost was $3. The staff was super friendly and prior to playing we told them that we would be eating hot dogs for lunch. They had none on the grill and were super friendly in making them.

The course was in a very wet state as it rained that day. My pants were muddy after playing. Some of the holes were water logged. However the fairways were in decent shape for all the rain we got and the green rolled really well. Although the wet conditions I would definitely play again!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Previously Played

Fun course, worth trying

Sunset hills is not a perfect course but it is perfect for me. This course is cheap enough that I can find the time to play weekly. It has a little bit of sand, a little bit of water and a great mix of hole lengths. The front 9 is tight and compressed, you need to be a good striker to score well. On the back 9 you can really open up with the driver. Hole 16 is my favorite hole. Hitting from blues on this 130ish yard par 3 you see a 100 yard lake just in front of tee box. The green is nestled tight just behind a bunker. Tough green to hit. Course condition can be an issue here. Some holes don't drain well and can get a bit swampy even days after a rain. Green are pretty decent and the ball rolls well. If your a consistent low 80 golfer this course will not be a huge challenge. For the rest of us amatuers, it is plenty hard.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public
0.0
0
Charlotte, North Carolina
Private
0.0
0
Charlotte, North Carolina
Private
0.0
0
Charlotte, North Carolina
Municipal
4.2386235294
58
Charlotte, North Carolina
Private
5.0
1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public
2.7352941176
8
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public
3.6186823529
69
Huntersville, North Carolina
Public
3.0336117647
49
Huntersville, North Carolina
Private
4.75
4
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public/Municipal
2.9693764706
77

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE