A view from Grand View Golf Club
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
194 Reviews (194)
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
78
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
10
1 Stars
11
Conditions
3.4
Value
4.1
Layout
3.6
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
75.0%
Recommend this course
158 out of 194 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.3
23 Reviews (23)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.7
Layout
3.6
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
3.7
60.9%
Recommend this course
14 out of 23 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.3
38 Reviews (38)
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
5
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.8
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.0
60.5%
Recommend this course
23 out of 38 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 70
Length 6096 yards
Slope 130
Rating 70.0

Grand View Golf Club in North Braddock is one of the area's most challenging layouts. The course's 160 acres were carefully carved from a woodland hilltop. From its perch, the golf course overlooks the Mon Valley with views stretching to the Edgar Thompson facility, Western Pennsylvania's first and last major steel mill. The distinctive layout will test your creative shot-making skills. It may seem relatively short at 6,111 yards from the back tees but it feels much longer thanks to the rolling fairways and undulating greens. The tight fairways are lined with cliffs, brush, and trees, leaving little room for error. You should also be prepared for forced carries and tricky doglegs. Grand View Golf Club can be punishing for the low handicapper, but high handicappers will find this course to be a unique test of their skills.

Book a Tee Time at
Grand View Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1996
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ferdinand Garbin (1996)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Soft spikes only
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.7
194 Reviews (194)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
19th Hole Scenic Views 20
Dinner 17
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 34
Elevation Changes 33
Forced Carries 14
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 29
Advanced Golfers 27
Locals 20
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 29
Worth the Drive 14
In the 'Burbs 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The scenery at this course is unmatched. Excellent views from just about every hole. Very challenging layout that makes the player hit golf shots and strategize.
As for the course condition.. Terrible. It looked liked the greens were not watered this summer, more dirt and sand than grass on them. The tee boxes were like hitting out of a sand trap. And the fairways were very bare.
They have a very special course but need to maintain better.

Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Surprised me

Course was in good shape considering how dry it has been. Incredible Weekday value for seniors at $28. Tee boxes need work, fairways were average to above average with greens in good shape. Overall, look forward to playing Grandview in the near future.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Walked

I play Grand View multiple times each week because of its price. The course is challenging, however, I recommend the course to golfers looking to improve accuracy while having a good time doing it! In my experience, the staff and maintenance crew create an exceptional golf experience.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/03/2020

Hi kcBF5Faz7qPs7tZhnT1c. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Grand View Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hi, u314160500431. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Grand View Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you at the course soon for another 5-star experience!

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Amazing Views, weird but fun course

For a hot deal rate of $28, it was a good value (anything over $35 would be too much). Most of the tee boxes and quite a few greens were burnt out, but with the drought this summer I don’t really blame them, have heard it’s in good shape during normal summers. Short, quirky course, only used my driver twice, need to hit a lot of irons and 3 woods off the tees due to blind shots and sharp turns.
Honestly if it wasn’t for the amazing views of the surrounding area this would just be another average course that I wouldn’t drive too but the views are simply stunning. Bring a camera and play this course at least once.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hi Nathan9752134. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Grand View Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hi u314160495341. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Grand View Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course was in poor shape. Round took 5 and a half hours due to poor play in front and no staff monitoring pace of play. Greens were super beat up .

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hello u314160480228. Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass along your feedback to the staff so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting us!

Default User Image
Anonymous
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Tough and challenging course. Narrow fairways, blind shots, lots of OB.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hi dave9575319. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Grand View Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser

Horrible

The “Greens” were horrible. More brown than green. The layout is horrendous, the tee boxes made it feel like you were hitting out of a bunker. The carts were okay though. And the hot dogs were left over and wrapped in foil from the day before. Nothing good about this course. 0 stars. Would never recommend to anyone. Definitely not worth the price. Should be a $15 course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hi, bradw14. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1 star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single star feedback very seriously at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Grand View Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good thing it was cheap

Tight course, so I was expecting it to be challenging. But the main challenge was trying to figure out how to putt through a minefield of unfixed divots. Tee boxes were mostly just dirt and just made it look like nobody cared. I will say the views from the course are pretty nice though!

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/31/2020

Hi t1987220965. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Grand View Golf Club. We hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

challenging

Requires the use of all the clubs in your bag. Shot placement essential. Great course for the money. Highly recommend this course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2020

crx7j4oe0rnpuET3n4hx, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Grand View Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 30
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Nice Course

The hot dry weather made the fairways and tees dried out.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/24/2020

Hi weathervane. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We appreciate the feedback and will pass it along to our grounds team.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Told to skip holes for members complaining

We started our back nine and the owner asked us to skip two holes because a group of 6! members (Already unfair) that we were playing slow because we had 2 beginners with us. Didn’t give us any money back. They course conditions were essentially burnt grass and the owner is a complete Joke. Save your green fees for a different course that’s fun to play

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at Grand View. However, it is important that we maintain a semblance of pace of play, especially on a busy weekend. As your group had multiple golfers stacked up behind you, including the three-some (not six-some) directly behind you, we asked that you skip the next two holes to keep pace of play moving along so that all golfers could enjoy their rounds. As a thank you, we offered to allow your group to play the back 9 after your 18 for free. In addition, we provided your group 4 free golf passes in the pro shop. We hope your group understands our desire to ensure that all our golfers are able to enjoy their rounds in a timely manner. Have a wonderful day!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Hello, Aedan2384869. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great pet usual

Super fast greens today that’s for sure. Such a difficult course but, so fun every time I get the chance to play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us nickhaser. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Grand View Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Hello, u314160419827. We appreciate the review. You rated us 3-stars which means there is room to improve on your recent experience at Grand View Golf Club. Let us know, in the comments, how and where you would like to see changes from the course. Thanks for the feedback!

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

All Dried Out

The fairways were extremely dry and hard, much of the grass was dead. There were also dried out spots on the greens.
There was no food at the clubhouse. The excuse was COVID-19. (hot dogs came in later)
This course does have nice views of the river and Kennywood Park, however the course conditions were more relevant to me.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/20/2020

Hi Slambam1! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back!

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great layout, poor grass

The layout of this course makes it challenging in spite of being a shorter course, my one complaint is that the fairways were not well maintained...part of that is likely due to the current dry season but it still affected some shots

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/13/2020

Hi dgrossman93! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Challenging course, amazing value

I booked this course on a whim as I just moved to Pittsburgh from Denver. The price ($25 hot deal including cart) was a steal compared to CO prices. Based on the distance, I figured it would be an easy round, but it was far from it. Excellent elevation change and hole variation, though there were plenty of dry, hard-packed areas on the course. I'll be back here for sure.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/02/2020

Hi u000007717287. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Grand View Golf Club!

Nearby Courses
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Private
4.5
2
Verona, Pennsylvania
Private
0.0
0
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Public
2.25
16
Verona, Pennsylvania
Private
4.0
1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Public
4.06
104
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Private
0.0
0
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
Private
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Private
0.0
0
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Public
3.0
3
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Private
5.0
2

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE