Grand View Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
137
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.9
Layout
3.3
Friendliness
3.7
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
71.1%
Recommend this course
116 out of 136 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.0
4
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.3
Layout
3.0
Pace
2.8
Amenities
2.7
StaffFriendliness
3.3
50.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.5
10
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.0
Layout
3.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
3.5
70.0%
Recommend this course
7 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6096
Slope 130
Rating 70.0
Type Public
Grand View Golf Club in North Braddock is one of the area's most challenging layouts. The course's 160 acres were carefully carved from a woodland hilltop. From its perch, the golf course overlooks the Mon Valley with views stretching to the Edgar Thompson facility, Western Pennsylvania's first and last major steel mill. The distinctive layout will test your creative shot-making skills. It may seem relatively short at 6,111 yards from the back tees but it feels much longer thanks to the rolling fairways and undulating greens. The tight fairways are lined with cliffs, brush, and trees, leaving little room for error. You should also be prepared for forced carries and tricky doglegs. Grand View Golf Club can be punishing for the low handicapper, but high handicappers will find this course to be a unique test of their skills.
Book a Tee Time at
Grand View Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6096 yards 70.0 130
Silver 70 5862 yards 67.5 122
Gold 70 5303 yards 66.0 119
Copper (W) 70 4721 yards 67.0 133
Scorecard for Grand View
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 70.0/130 309 402 362 348 163 294 412 409 137 2836 504 182 392 371 161 365 337 361 587 3260 6096
Silver M: 67.5/122 307 347 296 346 153 292 410 407 125 2683 502 180 390 369 154 350 335 359 540 3179 5862
Gold M: 66.0/119 287 318 271 320 105 230 336 383 108 2358 485 171 369 295 143 348 316 319 499 2945 5303
Copper W: 67.0/133 284 270 248 306 100 223 336 292 98 2157 405 114 332 282 139 320 257 311 404 2564 4721
Handicap 17 7 9 1 11 13 5 3 15 16 14 8 4 18 6 2 10 12
Par 4 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 3 34 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 5 36 70
Handicap (W) 11 7 9 1 13 15 3 5 17 16 18 6 12 14 4 10 8 2

Course Details

Year Built 1996
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ferdinand Garbin (1996)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Soft spikes only
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.6
137

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 20
Drinks 20
Dinner 17
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 34
Elevation Changes 32
Forced Carries 14
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 29
Advanced Golfers 27
Locals 19
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 28
Worth the Drive 14
In the 'Burbs 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Unfriendly service

A friend and I wanted to catch up and play privately together as a twosome so we called around and the gentleman we spoke with over the phone the night before said they’d be happy to reserve a tee time for us. We clarified that we were requesting not to play with four total golfers and he said that wouldn’t be a problem at all. After we arrived at the course and paid, the starter said that we’d be paired up with another twosome. After we explained that we called ahead of time to reserve a tee time for a twosome we were told “they don’t control the tee times in there, I do. If you don’t like it then go request a refund”. We got our refund and left. It’s a shame such a nice looking course has such unfriendly staff.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 07/18/2018:
We apologize for any miscommunication on our part. Unfortunately, during primetime, we cannot guarantee that players can play solo or in groups of two, as all tee times are for foursomes. In off-peak times or in the evenings, it's far easier for us to accommodate a twosome. Or, if you prefer to play during primetime as a twosome, we can accommodate that if you pay for the full foursome. Again, we apologize if you in any way felt disrespected and we hope you'll return in the future.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 06/19/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars! We're glad to hear that your round was both scenic and challenging. Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 06/19/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Lost Ball Paradise

If you cannot consistently hit fairway off the tee followed by plopping your ball on the green, this course is nearly impossible. Running through a case of balls because you hit 2ft off the fairway is not fun. The "decision" to not hit driver off the tee each hole is to prevent from losing your ball. Disappointing because the course is well maintained and the golf carts are awesome. Perhaps building a course on a cliff wasn't the best idea

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/18/2018:
Thank you for the great feedback! We do realize our course presents some unique challenges, but practicing here a few more times will definitely help you in mastering some of those challenges. We hope you return again in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Such a fun course and layout. Lots of blind shots. Not easy for the longer hitters! Always so much fun!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/18/2018:
We're so pleased that you had a great time. Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Don’t bother!

Staff was rude. Food and drink were poor quality. Course had a poor design and horrible condition. Golf elsewhere!

Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 04/26/2018:
If this review is in response to the Grandview in the news currently for engaging in racism, please note that you have the wrong Grand View. We're a totally different golf course located hours away in Pittsburgh. We're completely unaffiliated with the course in York. Please amend or delete your review, as you're hurting the reputation of the wrong business.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

This course is awesome and challenging

I play this course weekly. It is so much fun. It challenges you to actually play golf instead of just grabbing your driver on every hole. It is very unforgiving and you really have to think about your ball placement. It is one of the best keep courses around. The food is excellent. I would recommend to everyone.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/21/2018:
Thank you for the wonderful five-star review and recommendation! We're so pleased to hear that you embrace the inherent challenges of our course. Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

A Grand View Indeed

Play this course about once a week and have played here several years. It is a challenging layout and requires accuracy on all shots and I have to admit, an acquired taste. The course is not too long but some of the holes have very tight landing areas and there are quite a few blind shots. For a public course, they do a pretty good job of maintaining the fairways and greens. With the elevation changes on this course, your club selection is critical.

Probably the most impressive thing about the course are the views. The Pittsburgh skyline is visible and one can easily see Pitt, Duquesne, PA and Kennywood amusement park as well as a working integrated steel plant.

If this is your first time playing here, bring plenty of ammo (golf balls). You're gonna need 'em.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:
Thank you so much for the terrific five-star review! We’re thrilled that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our views. We look forward to your next visit!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:
Thank you for the four stars! During the late fall and winter, we do ask our golfers to call ahead to make sure tee times are available and that someone will be on hand to check them in. We hope that you had a fun round and we look forward to seeing you again on the course in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Tight course

Course was decent shape. They had just punched the greens but that was not weighing in on my rating. This layout is very tight and holes are on top of each other. This perhaps could have been a really nice 9 hole course. It’s on the top of a mountain so many blind holes and short drives. Only played one other course in Pittsburgh on golf trip which was quicksilver which I gave a five rating

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/24/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us great feedback. We do have a uniquely-challenging course that may not appeal to all golfers. We appreciate your review and we hope you have a terrific day!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Billy Goat Goofy Golf

Would not recommend this course under any circumstances, unless you're desperate to just find a place to hit golf balls. Unfriendly staff and overpriced. Greens were diseased. Drastic elevation changes, narrow and sloped fairways, and blind shots on almost every hole. Felt like I was playing an adult version of a miniature golf course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/09/2017:
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. Our course is famously challenging, which we take great pride in. In regards to the conditions, we have unfortunately had some unusually wet weather. But we are aerating this week and foresee them looking terrific once they've healed. Thank you for the feedback and have a great day!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Love this course. Best kept public course in this area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:
Thank you for the four-star review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we hope you’ll be back again in the future!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cart path only and course is a bunch of hillsides and they were aerating the tee boxes while we were playing.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/29/2017:
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us due to the cart path only notices and aeration. We hope you'll return in the future though!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great views, very unique, have extra balls

Very cool course, lots of fun challenges, incredible views, not a flat lie in the place.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:
Thank you for the five stars, Andy! We're so happy that you found the terrain fun and challenging!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

It's all about shot placement

Course was in very good shape. Blind shots on at leas 1/3 of the holes. A driver is truly not necessary on this course. Even from the tips, you are better off laying up. It was fun to play placement golf.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review! It's great to see that you enjoyed a round that was both fun and challenging! Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 07/10/2017:
Thank you for the five stars!!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Hill Top Challenge

Grand View is always a challenge .

The fairways are narrow and there is a lot of blind holes. The par threes in the front nine leave very little room for error. (pick the right club and shoot straight )

There are a few holes where the wind can pick up and will have a strong affect on you shots.

Don't be afraid to lose a ball or two on this course!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:
You give great advice! We hope your round with us was fun as well as challenging!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Hidden Gem!

Very nice coarse if you like challenging positioning shots.

Lots of dogleg right shots, very well maintained & everyone is very friendly.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/31/2017:
Thanks so much for the great review! It's wonderful to hear that we provide our golfers with a great time while still challenging them! Please come and see us again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Grandview

The course was in very good condition . Pace of play was good not too crowed not being pushed. Beautiful views of the Mon Valley and the skyline of Pittsburgh , perfect day of golf!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:
Thanks so much for the lovely review, Paul! It's wonderful to hear that our golfers enjoy their time out on the course! Please come and see us again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

A Nice fall day to play

I've played the course before so I knew the challenges of some of the holes. The greens were aerated recently, but overall the course was in good shape. There are some holes with landing areas and others that force you to think about club selection. It is a nice change from the straight away unimaginative lay out of some courses, but not one that I will play regularly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/18/2016:
Thank you for the 4-star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your round and found it both fun and challenging. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Nearby Courses
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
4.7142857143
2
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1.0
1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Irwin, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
3.0
1
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
3.0
2
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
4.3445764706
110
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
3.5625
16
Export, Pennsylvania
5.0
2

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE