Grand View Golf Club

3.9461647059 3.9 stars from 5 (131)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6096 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 70.0
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 1000 Clubhouse Dr, North Braddock, Pennsylvania 15104, Allegheny County
  • (412) 351-5390
  • (412) 351-2397
  • www.pittsburghgolf.com

Year built: 1996
Architect(s): Ferdinand Garbin (1996)
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Soft spikes only
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6096 yards 70.0 130
Silver 70 5862 yards 67.5 122
Gold 70 5303 yards 66.0 119
Copper (W) 70 4721 yards 67.0 133

Grand View Golf Club in North Braddock is one of the area's most challenging layouts. The course's 160 acres were carefully carved from a woodland hilltop. From its perch, the golf course overlooks the Mon Valley with views stretching to the Edgar Thompson facility, Western Pennsylvania's first and last major steel mill. The distinctive layout will test your creative shot-making skills. It may seem relatively short at 6,111 yards from the back tees but it feels much longer thanks to the rolling fairways and undulating greens. The tight fairways are lined with cliffs, brush, and trees, leaving little room for error. You should also be prepared for forced carries and tricky doglegs. Grand View Golf Club can be punishing for the low handicapper, but high handicappers will find this course to be a unique test of their skills.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 131 Reviews
5 stars:
49
4 stars:
56
3 stars:
16
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

113 out of 130 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include narrow fairways elevation changes forced carries   Great for 19th hole scenic views drinks dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"This course is awesome and challenging"


u000005082619's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I play this course weekly. It is so much fun. It challenges you to actually play golf instead of just grabbing your driver on every hole. It is very unforgiving and you really have to think about your ball placement. It is one of the best keep courses around. The food is excellent. I would recommend to everyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Grand View Indeed"


GaryFG160's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Play this course about once a week and have played here several years. It is a challenging layout and requires accuracy on all shots and I have to admit, an acquired taste. The course is not too long but some of the holes have very tight landing areas and there are quite a few blind shots. For a public course, they do a pretty good job of maintaining the fairways and greens. With the elevation changes on this course, your club selection is critical.

Probably the most impressive thing about the course are the views. The Pittsburgh skyline is visible and one can easily see Pitt, Duquesne, PA and Kennywood amusement park as well as a working integrated steel plant.

If this is your first time playing here, bring plenty of ammo (golf balls). You're gonna need 'em.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you so much for the terrific five-star review! We’re thrilled that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our views. We look forward to your next visit!


Joehardiman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you for the four stars! During the late fall and winter, we do ask our golfers to call ahead to make sure tee times are available and that someone will be on hand to check them in. We hope that you had a fun round and we look forward to seeing you again on the course in the future.

"Tight course"


u189907673's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was decent shape. They had just punched the greens but that was not weighing in on my rating. This layout is very tight and holes are on top of each other. This perhaps could have been a really nice 9 hole course. It’s on the top of a mountain so many blind holes and short drives. Only played one other course in Pittsburgh on golf trip which was quicksilver which I gave a five rating


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us great feedback. We do have a uniquely-challenging course that may not appeal to all golfers. We appreciate your review and we hope you have a terrific day!

"Billy Goat Goofy Golf"


jwills08's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Would not recommend this course under any circumstances, unless you're desperate to just find a place to hit golf balls. Unfriendly staff and overpriced. Greens were diseased. Drastic elevation changes, narrow and sloped fairways, and blind shots on almost every hole. Felt like I was playing an adult version of a miniature golf course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/09/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. Our course is famously challenging, which we take great pride in. In regards to the conditions, we have unfortunately had some unusually wet weather. But we are aerating this week and foresee them looking terrific once they've healed. Thank you for the feedback and have a great day!


dianebradford54's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Love this course. Best kept public course in this area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you for the four-star review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we hope you’ll be back again in the future!


cnoll59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart path only and course is a bunch of hillsides and they were aerating the tee boxes while we were playing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/29/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us due to the cart path only notices and aeration. We hope you'll return in the future though!

"Great views, very unique, have extra balls"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very cool course, lots of fun challenges, incredible views, not a flat lie in the place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Thank you for the five stars, Andy! We're so happy that you found the terrain fun and challenging!

"It's all about shot placement"


u792977182's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very good shape. Blind shots on at leas 1/3 of the holes. A driver is truly not necessary on this course. Even from the tips, you are better off laying up. It was fun to play placement golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review! It's great to see that you enjoyed a round that was both fun and challenging! Please come and see us again soon.


matnowa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 07/10/2017:

Thank you for the five stars!!

"Hill Top Challenge"


u000004483822's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Grand View is always a challenge .

The fairways are narrow and there is a lot of blind holes. The par threes in the front nine leave very little room for error. (pick the right club and shoot straight )

There are a few holes where the wind can pick up and will have a strong affect on you shots.

Don't be afraid to lose a ball or two on this course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:

You give great advice! We hope your round with us was fun as well as challenging!

"Hidden Gem!"


u2925475's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice coarse if you like challenging positioning shots.

Lots of dogleg right shots, very well maintained & everyone is very friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thanks so much for the great review! It's wonderful to hear that we provide our golfers with a great time while still challenging them! Please come and see us again soon!

"Grandview"


Paul9368923's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good condition . Pace of play was good not too crowed not being pushed. Beautiful views of the Mon Valley and the skyline of Pittsburgh , perfect day of golf!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:

Thanks so much for the lovely review, Paul! It's wonderful to hear that our golfers enjoy their time out on the course! Please come and see us again soon!

"A Nice fall day to play"


u00000369218's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/16/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played the course before so I knew the challenges of some of the holes. The greens were aerated recently, but overall the course was in good shape. There are some holes with landing areas and others that force you to think about club selection. It is a nice change from the straight away unimaginative lay out of some courses, but not one that I will play regularly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/18/2016:

Thank you for the 4-star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your round and found it both fun and challenging. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

"Even if you ride"


jim8831's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

you'll walk a lot. For someone with COPD, don't go there. Many holes are stay on cart path (the GPS system lets you know when you don't) because many holes have severe sloping. The tees and the fairways were lush. The greens were aerated (knew that going in), and were still pretty nice. I used my 6-iron and 7-iron off the tee a lot for placement purposes, also known as a flat lie. Fantastic views.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/17/2016:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Jim! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your round with us despite all the walking. We hope you'll come and play us again soon!

"Unique and enjoyable course"


flip2112's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Drove 2 hours to play Grand View. The course is very unique. I've played scores of courses and there are very few that compare.

The course is short but doesn't play like it. Course layout demands accurate iron play from any tee instead of your traditional "grip it and rip it" approach on most courses. It was my first time but the starter was helpful in offering advice, the cart GPS were fist rate, and markers were sufficiently placed.

The elevation changes are severe on several holes making club selection crucial.

The views throughout the round are spectacular, the grounds were replete with local wildlife, and the course was extremely well maintained.

We played on a nearly empty course as the Steelers had a home game and the weather was wet. Despite a few moderate downpours, the greens stayed firm, the fairways (recently aerated) did not bog down and there was no standing water anywhere.

Lunch buffet was available to golfers at $12 paper person to boot!

We will be back and hopefully get good weather out next trip in.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review! We're glad you found the course worth the drive and we look forward to seeing you again soon!


"Not your average course"


memonk's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 9 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

They call this the Monster on the Mon, for good reason. This is not the longest course, by any means, but it's a lot of fun. Elevation changes, ravines, narrow fairways, blind holes, there's something for everyone here. Bring extra balls when you play it. You'll need them. The people are great, the carts are first-rate, the course is always well maintained, the restaurant is excellent, and the view is truly "grand". Put this one on your bucket list. (One explanation- the price I paid was for 9 holes, Senior player rate.)


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

Great review and great tips! We love hearing from our repeat golfers and we hope to see you again and again!


"Great time"


u000006277902's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape and we had a really good round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your round! Please come and see us again soon!


"Difficult"


Nealer77's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Would rather have played the course before ... a few blind shots that local knowledge would have helped. Still ... great views and greens. Didn't appreciate the maintenance guy working on the tees while we were playing. I get the fact that the tees had been aerated the night before, but seriously ... pulling out the tee blocks before we get to the tee? Unacceptable. This guy was basically telling us that his job is more important than our golf experience. Then, later in our round ... he was teaching a new employee how to rake a bunker. While we were playing the hole. Unbelievable ... haven't seen that in my entire life. This guy never even acknowledged us, let alone apologized. Won't be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. We will certainly pass along your experience and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future.


"Truely a grand view"


toyota123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/22/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I found the tee boxes had just been air rated . It is good to see someone is taking care of the grounds .The grass was cut the greens were fast the views were great . This course is tough if you do not manage your game .This golf course is well worth your time to play it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/27/2016

Thank you for your understanding as we aerate! As you know, it's a necessary action to ensure that our greens stay healthy and beautiful. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed