Grand View Golf Club

3.7220588235 3.7 stars from 5 (137)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6096 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 70.0
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 1000 Clubhouse Dr, North Braddock, Pennsylvania 15104, Allegheny County
  • (412) 351-5390
  • (412) 351-2397
  • www.pittsburghgolf.com

Year built: 1996
Architect(s): Ferdinand Garbin (1996)
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: Soft spikes only
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6096 yards 70.0 130
Silver 70 5862 yards 67.5 122
Gold 70 5303 yards 66.0 119
Copper (W) 70 4721 yards 67.0 133

Grand View Golf Club in North Braddock is one of the area's most challenging layouts. The course's 160 acres were carefully carved from a woodland hilltop. From its perch, the golf course overlooks the Mon Valley with views stretching to the Edgar Thompson facility, Western Pennsylvania's first and last major steel mill. The distinctive layout will test your creative shot-making skills. It may seem relatively short at 6,111 yards from the back tees but it feels much longer thanks to the rolling fairways and undulating greens. The tight fairways are lined with cliffs, brush, and trees, leaving little room for error. You should also be prepared for forced carries and tricky doglegs. Grand View Golf Club can be punishing for the low handicapper, but high handicappers will find this course to be a unique test of their skills.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 137 Reviews
5 stars:
49
4 stars:
59
3 stars:
17
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

116 out of 136 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers locals   Challenges include narrow fairways elevation changes forced carries   Great for 19th hole scenic views drinks dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"This can be a tough course do to layout."


jac5040's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course and greens in good shape


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/18/2016

Thank you for playing with us. We will use your feedback to improve our golfers experience with us!


Commented on 08/18/2016

Thank you for playing with us. We will use your feedback to improve our golfers experience with us!


"Unfriendly service"


Jbl98's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

A friend and I wanted to catch up and play privately together as a twosome so we called around and the gentleman we spoke with over the phone the night before said they’d be happy to reserve a tee time for us. We clarified that we were requesting not to play with four total golfers and he said that wouldn’t be a problem at all. After we arrived at the course and paid, the starter said that we’d be paired up with another twosome. After we explained that we called ahead of time to reserve a tee time for a twosome we were told “they don’t control the tee times in there, I do. If you don’t like it then go request a refund”. We got our refund and left. It’s a shame such a nice looking course has such unfriendly staff.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 07/18/2018:

We apologize for any miscommunication on our part. Unfortunately, during primetime, we cannot guarantee that players can play solo or in groups of two, as all tee times are for foursomes. In off-peak times or in the evenings, it's far easier for us to accommodate a twosome. Or, if you prefer to play during primetime as a twosome, we can accommodate that if you pay for the full foursome. Again, we apologize if you in any way felt disrespected and we hope you'll return in the future.


u872183522's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 06/19/2018:

Thank you for leaving us four stars! We're glad to hear that your round was both scenic and challenging. Please come and see us again soon.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 06/19/2018:

Thank you for leaving us four stars!

"Lost Ball Paradise"


hazarddweller25's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

If you cannot consistently hit fairway off the tee followed by plopping your ball on the green, this course is nearly impossible. Running through a case of balls because you hit 2ft off the fairway is not fun. The "decision" to not hit driver off the tee each hole is to prevent from losing your ball. Disappointing because the course is well maintained and the golf carts are awesome. Perhaps building a course on a cliff wasn't the best idea


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for the great feedback! We do realize our course presents some unique challenges, but practicing here a few more times will definitely help you in mastering some of those challenges. We hope you return again in the future.


JudyMazz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Such a fun course and layout. Lots of blind shots. Not easy for the longer hitters! Always so much fun!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

We're so pleased that you had a great time. Please come and see us again soon.

"Don’t bother!"


a2audrey's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Staff was rude. Food and drink were poor quality. Course had a poor design and horrible condition. Golf elsewhere!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 04/26/2018:

If this review is in response to the Grandview in the news currently for engaging in racism, please note that you have the wrong Grand View. We're a totally different golf course located hours away in Pittsburgh. We're completely unaffiliated with the course in York. Please amend or delete your review, as you're hurting the reputation of the wrong business.

"This course is awesome and challenging"


u000005082619's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I play this course weekly. It is so much fun. It challenges you to actually play golf instead of just grabbing your driver on every hole. It is very unforgiving and you really have to think about your ball placement. It is one of the best keep courses around. The food is excellent. I would recommend to everyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/21/2018:

Thank you for the wonderful five-star review and recommendation! We're so pleased to hear that you embrace the inherent challenges of our course. Please come and see us again soon.

"A Grand View Indeed"


GaryFG160's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Play this course about once a week and have played here several years. It is a challenging layout and requires accuracy on all shots and I have to admit, an acquired taste. The course is not too long but some of the holes have very tight landing areas and there are quite a few blind shots. For a public course, they do a pretty good job of maintaining the fairways and greens. With the elevation changes on this course, your club selection is critical.

Probably the most impressive thing about the course are the views. The Pittsburgh skyline is visible and one can easily see Pitt, Duquesne, PA and Kennywood amusement park as well as a working integrated steel plant.

If this is your first time playing here, bring plenty of ammo (golf balls). You're gonna need 'em.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you so much for the terrific five-star review! We’re thrilled that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our views. We look forward to your next visit!


Joehardiman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you for the four stars! During the late fall and winter, we do ask our golfers to call ahead to make sure tee times are available and that someone will be on hand to check them in. We hope that you had a fun round and we look forward to seeing you again on the course in the future.

"Tight course"


u189907673's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was decent shape. They had just punched the greens but that was not weighing in on my rating. This layout is very tight and holes are on top of each other. This perhaps could have been a really nice 9 hole course. It’s on the top of a mountain so many blind holes and short drives. Only played one other course in Pittsburgh on golf trip which was quicksilver which I gave a five rating


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us great feedback. We do have a uniquely-challenging course that may not appeal to all golfers. We appreciate your review and we hope you have a terrific day!

"Billy Goat Goofy Golf"


jwills08's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Would not recommend this course under any circumstances, unless you're desperate to just find a place to hit golf balls. Unfriendly staff and overpriced. Greens were diseased. Drastic elevation changes, narrow and sloped fairways, and blind shots on almost every hole. Felt like I was playing an adult version of a miniature golf course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/09/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. Our course is famously challenging, which we take great pride in. In regards to the conditions, we have unfortunately had some unusually wet weather. But we are aerating this week and foresee them looking terrific once they've healed. Thank you for the feedback and have a great day!


dianebradford54's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Love this course. Best kept public course in this area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:

Thank you for the four-star review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we hope you’ll be back again in the future!


cnoll59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart path only and course is a bunch of hillsides and they were aerating the tee boxes while we were playing.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/29/2017:

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us due to the cart path only notices and aeration. We hope you'll return in the future though!

"Great views, very unique, have extra balls"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very cool course, lots of fun challenges, incredible views, not a flat lie in the place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Thank you for the five stars, Andy! We're so happy that you found the terrain fun and challenging!

"It's all about shot placement"


u792977182's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very good shape. Blind shots on at leas 1/3 of the holes. A driver is truly not necessary on this course. Even from the tips, you are better off laying up. It was fun to play placement golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review! It's great to see that you enjoyed a round that was both fun and challenging! Please come and see us again soon.


matnowa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 07/10/2017:

Thank you for the five stars!!

"Hill Top Challenge"


u000004483822's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Grand View is always a challenge .

The fairways are narrow and there is a lot of blind holes. The par threes in the front nine leave very little room for error. (pick the right club and shoot straight )

There are a few holes where the wind can pick up and will have a strong affect on you shots.

Don't be afraid to lose a ball or two on this course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:

You give great advice! We hope your round with us was fun as well as challenging!

"Hidden Gem!"


u2925475's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice coarse if you like challenging positioning shots.

Lots of dogleg right shots, very well maintained & everyone is very friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/31/2017:

Thanks so much for the great review! It's wonderful to hear that we provide our golfers with a great time while still challenging them! Please come and see us again soon!

"Grandview"


Paul9368923's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good condition . Pace of play was good not too crowed not being pushed. Beautiful views of the Mon Valley and the skyline of Pittsburgh , perfect day of golf!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:

Thanks so much for the lovely review, Paul! It's wonderful to hear that our golfers enjoy their time out on the course! Please come and see us again soon!

"A Nice fall day to play"


u00000369218's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/16/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played the course before so I knew the challenges of some of the holes. The greens were aerated recently, but overall the course was in good shape. There are some holes with landing areas and others that force you to think about club selection. It is a nice change from the straight away unimaginative lay out of some courses, but not one that I will play regularly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/18/2016:

Thank you for the 4-star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your round and found it both fun and challenging. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed