Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
149 Reviews (149)
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.2
Layout
3.6
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.8
83.8%
Recommend this course
128 out of 149 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
12 Reviews (12)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.6
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.7
100.0%
Recommend this course
12 out of 12 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
13 Reviews (13)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.4
92.3%
Recommend this course
12 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 70
Length 6096 yards
Slope 130
Rating 70.0

Grand View Golf Club in North Braddock is one of the area's most challenging layouts. The course's 160 acres were carefully carved from a woodland hilltop. From its perch, the golf course overlooks the Mon Valley with views stretching to the Edgar Thompson facility, Western Pennsylvania's first and last major steel mill. The distinctive layout will test your creative shot-making skills. It may seem relatively short at 6,111 yards from the back tees but it feels much longer thanks to the rolling fairways and undulating greens. The tight fairways are lined with cliffs, brush, and trees, leaving little room for error. You should also be prepared for forced carries and tricky doglegs. Grand View Golf Club can be punishing for the low handicapper, but high handicappers will find this course to be a unique test of their skills.

Book a Tee Time at
Grand View Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 70 6096 yards 70.0 130
Silver 70 5862 yards 67.5 122
Gold 70 5303 yards 66.0 119
Copper (W) 70 4721 yards 67.0 133
Scorecard for Grand View
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 70.0/130 309 402 362 348 163 294 412 409 137 2836 504 182 392 371 161 365 337 361 587 3260 6096
Silver M: 67.5/122 307 347 296 346 153 292 410 407 125 2683 502 180 390 369 154 350 335 359 540 3179 5862
Gold M: 66.0/119 287 318 271 320 105 230 336 383 108 2358 485 171 369 295 143 348 316 319 499 2945 5303
Copper W: 67.0/133 284 270 248 306 100 223 336 292 98 2157 405 114 332 282 139 320 257 311 404 2564 4721
Handicap 17 7 9 1 11 13 5 3 15 16 14 8 4 18 6 2 10 12
Par 4 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 3 34 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 5 36 70
Handicap (W) 11 7 9 1 13 15 3 5 17 16 18 6 12 14 4 10 8 2

Course Details

Year Built 1996
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ferdinand Garbin (1996)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed Soft spikes only
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.9
149 Reviews (149)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 20
Drinks 20
Dinner 17
Course Challenges Include:
Narrow Fairways 34
Elevation Changes 32
Forced Carries 14
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 29
Advanced Golfers 27
Locals 19
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 28
Worth the Drive 14
In the 'Burbs 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:
Thank you for the four stars! During the late fall and winter, we do ask our golfers to call ahead to make sure tee times are available and that someone will be on hand to check them in. We hope that you had a fun round and we look forward to seeing you again on the course in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Tight course

Course was decent shape. They had just punched the greens but that was not weighing in on my rating. This layout is very tight and holes are on top of each other. This perhaps could have been a really nice 9 hole course. It’s on the top of a mountain so many blind holes and short drives. Only played one other course in Pittsburgh on golf trip which was quicksilver which I gave a five rating

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/24/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us great feedback. We do have a uniquely-challenging course that may not appeal to all golfers. We appreciate your review and we hope you have a terrific day!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Billy Goat Goofy Golf

Would not recommend this course under any circumstances, unless you're desperate to just find a place to hit golf balls. Unfriendly staff and overpriced. Greens were diseased. Drastic elevation changes, narrow and sloped fairways, and blind shots on almost every hole. Felt like I was playing an adult version of a miniature golf course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/09/2017:
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. Our course is famously challenging, which we take great pride in. In regards to the conditions, we have unfortunately had some unusually wet weather. But we are aerating this week and foresee them looking terrific once they've healed. Thank you for the feedback and have a great day!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Love this course. Best kept public course in this area.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 01/12/2018:
Thank you for the four-star review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we hope you’ll be back again in the future!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cart path only and course is a bunch of hillsides and they were aerating the tee boxes while we were playing.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/29/2017:
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us due to the cart path only notices and aeration. We hope you'll return in the future though!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great views, very unique, have extra balls

Very cool course, lots of fun challenges, incredible views, not a flat lie in the place.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:
Thank you for the five stars, Andy! We're so happy that you found the terrain fun and challenging!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

It's all about shot placement

Course was in very good shape. Blind shots on at leas 1/3 of the holes. A driver is truly not necessary on this course. Even from the tips, you are better off laying up. It was fun to play placement golf.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 08/22/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great four-star review! It's great to see that you enjoyed a round that was both fun and challenging! Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 07/10/2017:
Thank you for the five stars!!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Hill Top Challenge

Grand View is always a challenge .
The fairways are narrow and there is a lot of blind holes. The par threes in the front nine leave very little room for error. (pick the right club and shoot straight )
There are a few holes where the wind can pick up and will have a strong affect on you shots.
Don't be afraid to lose a ball or two on this course!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:
You give great advice! We hope your round with us was fun as well as challenging!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Hidden Gem!

Very nice coarse if you like challenging positioning shots.
Lots of dogleg right shots, very well maintained & everyone is very friendly.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/31/2017:
Thanks so much for the great review! It's wonderful to hear that we provide our golfers with a great time while still challenging them! Please come and see us again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Grandview

The course was in very good condition . Pace of play was good not too crowed not being pushed. Beautiful views of the Mon Valley and the skyline of Pittsburgh , perfect day of golf!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 05/04/2017:
Thanks so much for the lovely review, Paul! It's wonderful to hear that our golfers enjoy their time out on the course! Please come and see us again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

A Nice fall day to play

I've played the course before so I knew the challenges of some of the holes. The greens were aerated recently, but overall the course was in good shape. There are some holes with landing areas and others that force you to think about club selection. It is a nice change from the straight away unimaginative lay out of some courses, but not one that I will play regularly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/18/2016:
Thank you for the 4-star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your round and found it both fun and challenging. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Even if you ride

you'll walk a lot. For someone with COPD, don't go there. Many holes are stay on cart path (the GPS system lets you know when you don't) because many holes have severe sloping. The tees and the fairways were lush. The greens were aerated (knew that going in), and were still pretty nice. I used my 6-iron and 7-iron off the tee a lot for placement purposes, also known as a flat lie. Fantastic views.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Grand View Golf Club on 10/17/2016:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Jim! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your round with us despite all the walking. We hope you'll come and play us again soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Unique and enjoyable course

Drove 2 hours to play Grand View. The course is very unique. I've played scores of courses and there are very few that compare.
The course is short but doesn't play like it. Course layout demands accurate iron play from any tee instead of your traditional "grip it and rip it" approach on most courses. It was my first time but the starter was helpful in offering advice, the cart GPS were fist rate, and markers were sufficiently placed.
The elevation changes are severe on several holes making club selection crucial.
The views throughout the round are spectacular, the grounds were replete with local wildlife, and the course was extremely well maintained.
We played on a nearly empty course as the Steelers had a home game and the weather was wet. Despite a few moderate downpours, the greens stayed firm, the fairways (recently aerated) did not bog down and there was no standing water anywhere.
Lunch buffet was available to golfers at $12 paper person to boot!
We will be back and hopefully get good weather out next trip in.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 09/27/2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review! We're glad you found the course worth the drive and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Not your average course

They call this the Monster on the Mon, for good reason. This is not the longest course, by any means, but it's a lot of fun. Elevation changes, ravines, narrow fairways, blind holes, there's something for everyone here. Bring extra balls when you play it. You'll need them. The people are great, the carts are first-rate, the course is always well maintained, the restaurant is excellent, and the view is truly "grand". Put this one on your bucket list. (One explanation- the price I paid was for 9 holes, Senior player rate.)

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 09/27/2016

Great review and great tips! We love hearing from our repeat golfers and we hope to see you again and again!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great time

The course was in great shape and we had a really good round.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 09/27/2016

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your round! Please come and see us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Difficult

Would rather have played the course before ... a few blind shots that local knowledge would have helped. Still ... great views and greens. Didn't appreciate the maintenance guy working on the tees while we were playing. I get the fact that the tees had been aerated the night before, but seriously ... pulling out the tee blocks before we get to the tee? Unacceptable. This guy was basically telling us that his job is more important than our golf experience. Then, later in our round ... he was teaching a new employee how to rake a bunker. While we were playing the hole. Unbelievable ... haven't seen that in my entire life. This guy never even acknowledged us, let alone apologized. Won't be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 09/27/2016

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your round with us. We will certainly pass along your experience and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Truely a grand view

I found the tee boxes had just been air rated . It is good to see someone is taking care of the grounds .The grass was cut the greens were fast the views were great . This course is tough if you do not manage your game .This golf course is well worth your time to play it.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 09/27/2016

Thank you for your understanding as we aerate! As you know, it's a necessary action to ensure that our greens stay healthy and beautiful. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

This can be a tough course do to layout.

Course and greens in good shape

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 08/18/2016

Thank you for playing with us. We will use your feedback to improve our golfers experience with us!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 08/18/2016

Thank you for playing with us. We will use your feedback to improve our golfers experience with us!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

A Must Play!

This course will challenge you, and will give you fantastic views all at the same time!
If you are just starting out golfing, this is not the course to start out on. But once you can play here and play off of any kind of lie, this will prepare you for any other harder course that's out there. The course is in Amazing Shape, and the Greens are ALWAYS in Great Condition! This is a Must play! Once you play it, you'll be hooked!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
4bc32f44-9483-5afd-8222-0652045a6f94
GolfGrandview
Commented On 09/27/2016

Thank you so much for the excellent review and tips! We love hearing from our golfers and we hope you'll visit us again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Nearby Courses
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
4.7142857143
2
Verona, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
2.25
16
Verona, Pennsylvania
4.0
1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
3.5984714286
100
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Irwin, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
5.0
2

Stay & Play Offers

$209 Starting price
Valid dates: Jun 18, 2019 - Aug 31, 2019
Fling and Swing! Golf Package for 2, includes 1 round of golf for 2 daily, a resort fee applies, 50 USD resort credit per night.
Stay and Play
Sewailo Golf Club Stay & Play Hotel Package
$184 Starting price
Stay and Play
More Fun Golf Hotel Package
$349 Starting price
Stay and Play
RiverWatch Golf Club Stay and Play
$100 Starting price
Stay and Play
Golf & Stay at Homestead Resort
$89 Starting price
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE