Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
49 Reviews (49)
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
5
Conditions
2.9
Value
2.6
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
3.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.4
51.5%
Recommend this course
31 out of 49 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.1
7 Reviews (7)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.0
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
3.6
57.1%
Recommend this course
4 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.4
11 Reviews (11)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.4
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
3.7
72.7%
Recommend this course
8 out of 11 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7013 yards
Slope 138
Rating 74.1
Book a Tee Time at
Birkdale Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Crenshaw Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arnold Palmer (1997) Ed Seay (1997)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.0
49 Reviews (49)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens

The greens are in terrible condition with weeds. Cart paths are in bad condition

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Awful greens

Haven’t played this course in 3-4 years and was shocked at the green conditions! Shaggy and missing turf on many of the greens. Other areas of course were typical for Birkdale.

Will not play again until they fix the greens!

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Green's

Not sure what's going on with the green's but they are in pretty bad shape.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Nice place

Met family last minute. Had a great day. Pace of play was great and nice difficult course. Recommend to anyone

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

TeeOff App

Booked my round through TeeOff. Payed over $30 up front for “taxes” that were supposed to be applied to my green fees. The course apparently has no association with the app and would not honor what I had already paid. Ended up paying $90 to play a $59 course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 29
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Overall good play

Very good layout, Affordable , good value for your money, Ok fairyway, poor green conditions

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

What a difference!

Had not played this course in several years. Staff was awesome and the course was in great shape. They have really changed the old “ cold and aloof atmosphere “. .

Greens were great but slow due to tons of rain .

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 68
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
North Carolina Advisor
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Bad Greens and Way Too Expensive

It's just nowhere worth the $59 they charge for a weekend round. While most of the course is in decent shape, the greens are terrible. They're patchy and extremely bumpy. And from what I've heard, this is the best the course has been in two years. I'd probably only pay about half of what they want to charge for this course now. Has some potential to be good, but the greens need to be completely redone. There are better and cheaper options out there.

OVERALL: 4.9/10

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Way Over priced

The charge for play is entirely because of the Arnold Palmer name. When we arrived, there was no one at bag drop and when I went inside to check in both the guest services emplyess were standing in the pro shop. Course was in terrible condition except for the fairways. Rough was so deep, half the time not one of us could find our ball. Lost 7 golf balls and 1 of them actually was to a hazard. Would not recommend. Especially to recreational golfers that aren't always in the fairway.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Sad

Grew up in the area and this course was once cream of the crop. Great layout; was always in good shape. My how the mighty have fallen. Greens were the worst I've ever played and I have played a few true goat tracks. Bumpy. Slow. Dead spots. Furry. With the amount of play they get you would think they would take heed from Mooresville GC 8 miles to the north and switch to a new hybrid Bermuda grass I.e tif eagle/ mini verde. I remain hopeful they will make some changes before it's too late. It really is a great track and it pains me to write this review. Get well soon, Birkdale

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Anonymous
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Very disappointed

I'd expect a course with Arnies name on it to be in better shape than this. It has such potential with that layout. Just in very poor condition all around.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from on 08/15/2017:
We're sorry to hear the conditions were not up to par during your round. We are working towards getting everything to pristine conditions like they always have been. We do hope you return soon, we can't wait to see you and would love to make your next round with us an exceptional one.
Played On
Reviews 21
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great layout, weekend rate too high for this course.

Had relatives in for the PGA tournament, played this course that Saturday. Nice course but was wet of course, enjoyed the round. Lot of the greens were in bad shape and some of the bermuda rough was a bit tall for most of us amateurs. $69 for this course is a bit overpriced and no senior rate on weekends is not a good policy.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 08/15/2017:
Thanks for your feedback, it is important to us. We're happy to hear you loved the course and your round overall. We are working towards the best greens and conditions possible, we hope you return soon and play another round.
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Arnold Palmer would be ashamed

For a 55$ round this is one of the worst values for your money. Course is in extremely poor condition, but they still have 6 rangers that were heckling us every hole to speed up our play. One ranger passed us and told us to speed up 4 times. He also saw my friend hit a poor shot and had the nerve to drive over to us in the fairway and demonstrate to him how he should correctly hit. The greens were a -1/10 condition. Tees look to have been in the same spot all summer as there was no grass to even tee up your ball on, only sand.
Will never come back

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from on 08/08/2017:
We regret to hear you did not have the best experience due to the conditions you may have experienced at the golf course. We will address these concerns with our staff and crews and work diligently to create the best golf course experience for you on your next round. We do hope you give us another shot soon.
Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Overpriced

If the round was free or if my money was returned, I would have left. Greens slow with weeds, bunkers need more sand, if you miss the fairway by a foot you may not find your ball. There is no 1st cut of rough, 5 inches, lots of long dead grass in the fairway. I will not play again until I hear several great reviews.

One good thing: the ball cleaners were nice and the pace was fast because no one else was playing the field.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from on 08/15/2017:
We appreciate your feedback and sorry to hear that the conditions may not have been up to par. We have informed our staff and crews on the matter and are working hard to rectify the situation and make this the best Birkdale GC possible for your next round.
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Slow greens

Course is always a good test but the greens were extremely slow today.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 06/07/2017:
Thank you for playing at Birkdale, we're sorry to hear the greens were a bit slower than usual on your round. We are working towards the best possible conditions for your next round. We will address this with our staff and crews, thanks for bringing it to our attention. See you soon at Birkdale Golf Club!
Nearby Courses
Cornelius, North Carolina
Private
4.8333333333
3
Huntersville, North Carolina
Private
4.75
4
Stanley, North Carolina
Private
5.0
1
Davidson, North Carolina
Private
4.75
4
Mooresville, North Carolina
Private
5.0
1
Huntersville, North Carolina
Semi-Private
4.0332176471
148
Denver, North Carolina
Semi-Private
3.3801764706
179
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public
3.6186823529
69
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public
0.0
0
Charlotte, North Carolina
Municipal
4.3366823529
57
Mooresville, North Carolina
Semi-Private
3.5714285714
3
Charlotte, North Carolina
Public
3.3556352941
54

Stay & Play Offers

From $646
Valid dates: Jul 01, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
The Residences at the World Golf Village offers a home style atmosphere for your stay near golf rich activities and history at the World Golf Hall of Fame, Slammer & Squire and King & Bear.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE