Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
57
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.6
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.6
Amenities
3.8
92.6%
Recommend this course
53 out of 57 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
22
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.5
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.6
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.6
90.9%
Recommend this course
20 out of 22 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.4
31
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.5
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.6
90.3%
Recommend this course
28 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 70
Length 6270
Slope 127
Rating 70.4
Type Private
Book a Tee Time at
Agawam Hunt Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 70 6270 yards 70.4 127
Middle 70 5923 yards 68.9 124
Forward (W) 70 5423 yards 73.0 126
Scorecard for Agawam Hunt
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 69.8/128 W: 75.6/135 422 175 502 459 168 545 293 165 347 3076 388 152 412 379 355 420 175 360 439 3080 6156
White M: 68.5/125 W: 73.2/129 400 162 475 439 145 508 266 135 329 2859 383 140 407 374 346 365 162 336 410 2923 5782
Yellow M: 65.7/116 W: 70.4/123 350 126 467 410 131 455 256 95 326 2616 301 102 406 329 341 274 134 324 396 2607 5223
Handicap 3 9 7 1 17 5 13 15 11 14 18 10 2 4 8 16 6 12
Par 4 3 5 5 3 5 4 3 4 36 4 3 4 4 4 4 3 4 4 34 70
Handicap (W) 4 10 2 12 18 6 14 16 8 7 11 17 3 9 1 13 15 5

Course Details

Year Built 1895
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 4/01 Closed: 11/30
Architect Willie Park, Jr. (1895) Gil Hanse (2007) Donald Ross (1920) Geoffrey Cornish (1963) Donald Ross (1911)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Pace of Play in the U.S. (2017 #8)
  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in New England (2017 #14) (2016 #19)

Reviews

4.5
57
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Private Country Club with Limited Public Access

This is a classic private country club with a Donald Ross Design. Course is always in great shape. The pro shop staff, Norm and Tom treat you like a member. They are super friendly and helpful, they drive the cart to your car and load your clubs. I’ve enjoyed it so much I’ve played it several times over the summer. Norm gave me a tour of the facilities and I am considering joining here next year. I would recommend you give it a try.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Wet weather

Beautiful classic course

This is a great course with a beautiful layout. Greens are challenging but fun.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good price, but course needs some work

Booked the course midweek for a Sunday morning round. Little tricky to find the clubhouse on the street, but found it. Clubhouse attendant was very nice and paired us with another Hot Deal pair. We split off after the first hole and played as 2. Some fairways and tee boxes needed work, but otherwise course was in good shape. Played at our own pace with nobody behind us. No real amenities at the course besides a soda machine and a pop up grill. Also the 18th fairway also doubles as their "driving range." It's a private course that opens to members. Good bargain for a weekend round of golf in late fall.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Wet after heavy rains for couple days but great layout

Greens were awesome, loved the layout and driving through a garage to get to other part of course. (6 holes across the street) the other part of the course which used to be metacomet were a great layout by themselves. I would definitely recommend

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Lift, clean and place

This excellent course gets even more challenging after a heavy rain. Traps become ponds, lakes form on the fairways, well waterproofed shoes are critical, greens were immaculate - slower than their normal very fast due to not being able to be groomed subsequent to heavy rains. Always a great course. Of local interest, in addition to deer on the course are 2 pairs of very well fed coyotes on the holes across the road. The good news about that is the lack of geese.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Agawam Hunt - classic Ross design

Course was in great condition. My favortive parts were the pristine putting surface and the beautiful, classic New England Donald Ross layout. Pace of play was very quick for a Friday AM as well. Will be back to try again in the Fall.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Definitely worth playing

First and foremost, there's no drink cart, no food available for sale, no bar for beer afterwards. Plan ahead and you'll be fine. Other than that I have no complaints. There were only a handful of groups at the course on a beautiful Saturday morning. We played in 3.5 hours. The greens are in great shape despite being aerated about a week ago. There are some bad spots in the fairways but if you decide to roll the ball as we did it's a non-issue. I'll be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

A Donald Ross Hidden Gem

This was my first time playing Agawam Hunt. When I think of Donald Ross courses in the Providence area names like Wannamoisett and Rhode Island Country Club come to mind but this course certainly didn't disappoint. Even with all the recent rain the course drained well and the greens were rolling fast. Like any other Ross course when you are above the hole you pay the price and that rang true today. The course only tips out around 6200 yards but it did not feel short with a couple of the par 4's playing close to 450 yards. What made the experience even better for me was Norm and other members of the staff. They couldn't be nicer and they all treated me like I've been a member for years. I cannot wait to go back and get another crack at this Donald Ross gem!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Worst course in newengland!!

My day started at check in when i was told the range was for members only.

( what dope pays membership type cash for this dump ill never get? )

Off the first tee and all seems well except my drive wich looked good from the tee down the fairway. Found hardpan in the center of the eehm fairway.

As we progressed down the cow like pasture fairways the many dust bowl rock filled bunkers anoyed your game with inconsistency.

The teriain was rugged and poorly maintained.

No services such as

A cart or snack bar

Are available. And alchol. Forget that.

The greens had just been areated a fact the clubhouse neglected to inform anyone in my group.

And for all this i was charged a premium price. I could play one of the many nicer courses on thw south shore. And be treated like a king in Plymouth ma. For that kind of cash.

my ADVISE AVOIDE THIS RAT HOLE. !!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Agawam Hunt on 09/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

We were disaapointed with the condition of the course. Tee boxes and fairways needed tlc. Not of a private course caliber. When we arrived we were told we could not use the range beacuse it was for members only. After further discussion with them, they allowed us to hit some balls. I had higher expectations and this was a let down. The nice thing there was no one there and we had the course to ourselves.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Agawam Hunt Club on 09/06/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Agawam Hunt Club, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Providence County area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Decent Course

My understanding is that the club has been having financial issues, which would probably explain their making tee times available to the public despite being a private course. The cost was a bit high compared to other courses on Golfnow, but the conditions weren't up to the standards I would expect from a private course. The greens were excellent, and some were very tricky with a lot of undulations. The fairways and tees were not as pristine. There was hardly anyone else out there, so the pace was very good. I would probably go back, but not as quickly for $75.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Beautiful course

Had first tee time in the morning

Had the course to ourselves

Got the hot deal special

Excellent value

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Boston Advisor
Top 25 Contributor
First Time Playing

One of the more enjoyable Ross courses

I really enjoyed playing Agawam Hunt. The layout was fantastic and the staff was really great. I will admit it was the first time I had to go THROUGH a garage to get from one hole to the next though. The course features elevated greens, well placed bunkers and some tricky grass features as well as a creek the sneaks up on you from time to time. I will definitely be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging

A challenging course with an over abundance of traps surrounding most greens. Greens are in excellent condition and roll well. Some greens have very challenging slopes so the first time through will have you scratching you head. For me this course would take several rounds to get comfortable but it is fair if you know where to land the ball. Give it a try.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excellent condition

Superb Greens. This is an old established private club which ran into financial difficulties. Nice opportunity to play it while you can

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Classic

Nice layout. Excellent conditions. Played on a Monday afternoon and the course was empty. Will play again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Rumford, Rhode Island
0.0
0
Seekonk, Massachusetts
3.2667
15
East Providence, Rhode Island
0.0
0
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
0.0
0
Seekonk, Massachusetts
4.2857142857
2
East Providence, Rhode Island
0.0
0
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
0.0
0
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
4.0
1
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
3.6181058824
77
Providence, Rhode Island
3.3452411765
47
North Providence, Rhode Island
4.4208117647
92
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$180 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 26, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
Perfect your swing on one of two golf courses at La Cantera Resort & Spa in the Texas Hill Country. Each course offers some of the most scenic vistas in the Texas Hill Country.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE