Island West Golf Club

3.1875058824 3.2 stars from 5 (394)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6803 yards
  • Slope: 140
  • Rating: 73.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire. No jeans & shirts must have a collar.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6803 yards 73.2 140
White 72 6208 yards 70.5 128
Silver 72 5454 yards 67.2 108
Red (W) 72 4856 yards 69.5 123

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.2 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 394 Reviews
5 stars:
46
4 stars:
176
3 stars:
104
2 stars:
45
1 stars:
23

recommend this course

315 out of 394 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Gardenway's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



Ronald9787849's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Muggsy004's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout, reasonable price (golfnow.com). Course needs marshals, slow round 5 hours. Backshop has this dangerous practice of jumping on the back of the cart to go to the parking lot. Carts have warning signs not to do this, but they are ignored.

Jim Taylor


I recommend this course


"course in rough shape"


uFJFG2721FJ's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not among our favorites in the area but got a reasonable price. However we were disappointed in the overall condition, especially the greens.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Best Deal in Bluffton"


Mayfiemi's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I am a local so I play many courses in Bluffton. This course is in great shape considering the weather here this winter has been wet and cold. Greens were fast but in great shape. Fairway was dry 85% of the course. This is the best value around. All courses in Bluffton are in the same shape but cost more. Will play again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Likable Layout"


u000008204702's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed the layout however the course was a bit rough (early season). The greens were a bit bumpy. All told I would play it again.and we got a Hot Deal thru Golf Now which made us happy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good Course for fun"


u000004992275's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is good for the price cant complain its great to get out and have fun or if you are more serious and are working on your game you can do it in relative privacy staff is friendly. I would recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Decent Course, Bad Golfer"


Chuck2063203's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the time of year the course was in excellent condition.

The Fuzzy Zoeller designed layout was extremely challenging due to narrow fairways, water in just the wrong (for my game) places and unnervingly fast greens - we didn't get a straight putt the whole round.

After feeling good coming off the drving range I had one of the worst rounds in a long time due to the unnervingly fast greens, bad hits and judgement.

Would love to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course for the off-season ."


uHIZZ3506HI's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We stayed in HH on our way to FL. Found the discounted round ,booked it and enjoyed the course and the weather .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"play this course every year"


u000003028382's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Affordable nice course. Was the first out and played in 2 1/2 hours.


I recommend this course


"Friendly staff...greens rolled well"


Tiger099's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed our day. Know second time around would do better. Some challenging holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Not bad for the money"


dbwanthal's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions were average. Many greens needed some attention. Pace of play was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"This course"


somvil's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I'll start with the good. For $24 I got to play my favorite game on a course that is laid out very well in a quality golf cart. I played 18 holes in just over 2 hours because the other golfers, including the groups of IJGA kids bunched up randomly around the course, were kind enough to get the heck out of my way. The staff was accommodating and helpful, loading my clubs without asking and even escorting me to my truck after finishing the round. The driving range was perfectly adequate. I value local businesses in the age of large scale corporate mediocrity and I love golf, so it pains me to write bad things about a local establishment. That being said, it's not fair to stop my review there. Ughh, here we go. I have two complaints. The first one I will not defend and I will not excuse. That is the story of the cart paths. The cart paths here are an absolute disgrace. I will not play here again without neoprene covers for my irons and I'm being dead serious. The banging and clanging around in my bag is going to cause damage to my clubs if I play here again the cart paths are that bad. It's inexcusable. Gravel would be better than what they have. It's insane how bad they are, to be honest. Alright, second complaint. The greens at this course are a a shame. I don't know if they're having a water or disease issue, but they're in rough shape. To Island West's credit, they appear to be trying really hard. It's not like they are just ignoring them. They know. I see headlights on their lawn equipment every morning on the way to work. They're out there in the dark working on the greens, but they're bad. Look, you can putt on them, you can read them fine. Unless you are a better golfer than I am, and I shot an 80 yesterday, they aren't going to affect your game too much. Just hold on tight because your ball is not gonna stick them and the slightest tap of a putter is gonna send your ball racing. They're patchy and they're dry. They aren't bumpy though, and they're not uneven. Just ugly. That being said, I paid $24 and I had fun. The course is relatively challenging. The front reminds me of some courses out west. Wide in spots, large fairway humps that will eat your carry. Well placed hazards that put you in a pickle at times. I hope they get their course management straightened out before it turns into a municipal practice facility rather than a golf destination, which it totally could be given its design and location.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 12/16/2017

This is the best course review I have ever read. Thanks for taking the time to write this....makes me want to try this course anyway on my drive home from FL


"Tough Rough"


u080851615's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course has seen better days. Tee boxes need attention and maintenance. Fairways were good with only sporadic spots of crabgrass and weeds. It is necessary to stay in the fairway. Even 6 inches off the fairway could cause time searching for lost ball. A number of times we were lucky to find the crown of the ball. The fairway had no first cut, just Bermuda rough. When able to find the ball, the rough was still tough to escape unless using wedges. The greens are where this course could use a lot of work. Weeds and crabgrass are on most, in some places they deflect putts. All in all we had an enjoyable day with perfect weather, it was still better than working.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Downhill??"


Onthego1022's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played this course in March 2017 and since then, it seems that the course maintenance has deteriorated, perhaps due to financial troubles(?). The Greens were infested with what looked like miniature bunchgrass weeds that were pressed into the soil together with the odd colored grass which ruined the greens aesthetics . I felt as though I was putting on something “artificial” and not on a regular green. Fairways were acceptable but the rough immediately adjacent to the fairway sometimes “hid” the ball and unless you were directly on top of the ball, you would not see it. Cart attendant seemed “selective” in his choice of who to help or not help. He never greeted us nor assisted with course information and from the first tee to the parking lot at the end was nowhere to be found. We have played just about all the surrounding courses on 278 and sadly I have to say Island West’s condition is at or near the bottom of the list for recommendations for places to play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"going down hill"


u00004800856's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I started playing here 10 years ago, and haven't played since February, 2017. The course lay out is so-so, but the conditions are just horrible. Greens were BROWN, tee boxes chewed up, and the cart paths were so bad you need a kidney belt when driving the cart on them. Don't bother going there


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



Chukycheese's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course infrastructure such as bridges and pathways in disrepair

50% of greens terrible

Fairways good

$20 value and that is what I paid


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



lwatson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very disappointed with course conditions"


Chapgolf's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Having played this course every year during our visit this was the worse year for the conditions of the course. The greens have weeds grown up in them, tee blocks very bare with grass and overall the rough was definitely that, ROUGH! Even though the rate was reasonable we understand why as the course was not worth more than we paid through Golf Now. Com. We cannot recommend to our friends who are coming next week that this is the course to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Shipyards Golf"


HHIDALE's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition. The starter got me off even though the course was busy. You will not be disappointed if you play this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed