Rose Hill Golf Club

2.9971941176 3.0 stars from 5 (484)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6961 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

  • 4 Clubhouse Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • (843) 757-9030
  • (843) 757-9046
  • golfrosehill.com

Year built: 1982
Architect(s): Gene Hamm
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Temptation 72 6961 yards 74.1 139
Braveheart 72 6672 yards 72.9 137
Fair Play 72 6281 yards 71.4 132
Silver Moon 72 5732 yards 68.8 125
American Beauty (W) 72 5137 yards 71.2 119

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 484 Reviews
5 stars:
40
4 stars:
179
3 stars:
158
2 stars:
64
1 stars:
43

recommend this course

347 out of 478 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers narrow fairways   Great for drinks 19th hole specials brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good value especially for hackers. Pretty soggy in spots."


bwaronker's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Building new clubhouse...not very busy. Staff couldn’t be nicer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Disturbing"


u000008052322's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were very disappointed with the quality of the grass less greens but, numerous traps under repair and a remarkable lack of directional signs on the course. The poor conditions certainly warrant at least a partial disclaimer on its web site.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Rose"


pro2be's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course design was good but a lot of Renovations and the greens were in rough condition. Can't wait to play it again when the grass greens up and greens are better.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000007978968's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice to see improvements"


u5078707's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played this course last year for the first time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the course layout, but felt it was a little neglected. We decided to give it another try this year. It was so good to see that the grounds and facilities are both in the process of being improved. This course has great possibilities and we are glad that it is getting some TLC. We are looking forward to seeing the finished product when we return next year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"New management clearly trying"


tarheelmd80's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Under new management, Rose Hill is in transition. A new clubhouse is under construction, so they are working out of trailers and parking is so what confusing and limited. The course currently suffers from winter conditions as well as ongoing efforts at improving sand traps, etc while not the greatest at present, the course offers good value and should be much improved by summer with completion of the current improvements.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Not fair to review"


parnelli1947's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

New ownership and you can see that they're doing renovation to the course. I can also say that they're constructing a new clubhouse and so, although things are not good now, there's a definite commitment to make things better for the whole golfing experience. There are brand new gas powered carts, but the course is in rather poor condition. My hope is that the new owners are rewarded in the future for their efforts now. We'll see how things go.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Course was in "awful shape"!"


PercyTaylor's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played with a member and he told me the course has gone through bankruptcy and is in transition. That is an understatement. One good sign is that the pro shop is being housed in a trailer and a new one is under construction.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



Sergei7890704's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve seen this course in better shape for the month of December, not sure what happened with it now...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Enjoyable round, unexciting course"


roscograves's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A nice inexpensive round of golf in the area, but most of the holes on the course are somewhat boring in layout. greens and sand need to be improved but had no complaints about the fairways.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Try this course during peak regular golf time"


u000006315463's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course under repair and most of the greens were dormant. However I could see this would be nice course during normal season


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Regret"


u000006117466's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

I took to of my Friends to the Rose Hill Course and I was enbarrased the course was in terrible shape ..We could not even Putt on at least 12 of the greens..Very upset with Golf Now for having this course on there list of courses to play...


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Not too bad for a course being renovatedh"


higgit3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of work being done but staff is really trying to make the experience a pleasant one.

Back 9 greens are very bad

Still good value for $25


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"course conditions"


ronkielback's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played on 8 different courses in HH area and this course is by far the worst. Greens have mottled grass and sand so impossible to make a directed putt. Gateways are just as bad with having to move ball to an area with any grass. Traps are hard packed sand and a number of them are under repair. money would be better spent on a driving range


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Cough a bit off guard !"


Robert9486017's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When we arrived we saw a newly framed structure where the clubhouse was before. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and there was temporary accommodations for everything but the porto-john was still a little scary. The course has gotten consistently better over the last year but still some greens are not completely recovered. There were also some bunkers under repair. The course is fun and challenging enough from the appropriate tee boxes. The cost was a little higher than I would expect for this time of year and the overall corse condition and temporary conditions but we had fun and I would still do it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Hilton Head - Perfect Day for Golf"


u2442630's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff. As we are beginners, we found the course one level up from where we normally play, so it was challenging, but still fun. It was a beautiful day, and the staff was very helpful and friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Getting much Better"


smeagol's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I noticed the last review was in August of 2017. Since then the course has come under new management and has been on the upward swing. All bunkers now have new sand and some are being eliminated. The tee boxes, fairways and rough off of the fairways are in much better condition. The front nine greens are in better shape and the back nine greens are getting attention to improve them. The difference from August to now is like night and day. I agree with the August reviews, the course was a mess thanks to Brown golf. Now under Stephens Golf the course is getting a makeover. It really deserves another try.


I recommend this course


"Horrible Conditions"


PondHopper44's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This is one of those courses where they're all bad and you're not sure it could be that bad because of where it is located. Well not only is it that bad, it's much much worse. I LOVE golf and hate unwarranted bad reviews, however, this is necessary. The front nine is worlds better than the back nine, which once you're on the course will strike you with fear. My biggest factor in reviewing a course are the greens and specifically how true they hold their line. These were the slowest greens by far in the area, even on the dead greens, and maybe the slowest I've ever played. Tee boxes were very long and so was the fairway. I was shocked that there was mown grass EVERYWHERE for two reasons. 1. how could you mow so much and not pick it up at all and 2. how could you mow that much and still have the course conditions that long. I would describe the fairway and tee boxes as a little longer than first cut rough at a championship course. Go play somewhere in savannah or bluffton for the same price and get a much better value. I spent a total of $55 on the round and a sleeve of balls and after what I just played I feel robbed and gutted. This course has a TON of potential but they need a miracle from God himself to save this course. I love the area but I will certainly not be returning to this course ever again.

PS staff was very nice on a positive note!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Wish it wasn't wet!"


u7905856's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played the course in early August and have had so much rain recently that when you would miss greens you could lose your ball obly being a few feet off the green because the grass was so long and thick. You could tell the crew is just overwhelmed especially with the uncharacteristic rain we have been getting. With that being said we had the course to ourselves and paid 20 dollars which if you aren't in this area 20 dollars is a steal on a goat track elsewhere. The Brown courses just need to do a little bit more to get the courses back on track. Love the layout of Rose Hill especially the back to back Par 5's on the front leading back into the club house with a fun Par 3. Just need it to be a little bit nicer conditions and I would never complain.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed