Rose Hill Golf Club

2.7540529412 2.8 stars from 5 (538)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6961 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

  • 4 Clubhouse Dr, Bluffton, South Carolina 29910, Beaufort County
  • (843) 757-9030
  • (843) 757-9046
  • golfrosehill.com

Year built: 1982
Architect(s): Gene Hamm
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Temptation 72 6961 yards 74.1 139
Braveheart 72 6672 yards 72.9 137
Fair Play 72 6281 yards 71.4 132
Silver Moon 72 5732 yards 68.8 125
American Beauty (W) 72 5137 yards 71.2 119

Rose Hill Golf Club in Bluffton is situated amongst plentiful live oaks draped with Spanish moss. There are also sparkling, crystal-clear lakes that come into play on several holes. The golf course is a part of Rose Hill Plantation, giving it a truly Southern look and feel. Most of the holes are flat and straightforward but there are a few tricky doglegs to keep the course interesting. The layout features formidable par 3s that will test even the best players and a notably difficult par 5 that measures just over 600 yards. The challenging holes are balanced with player-friendly features that make it versatile enough for a wide range of skill levels. Four sets of tees, the longest coming to just over 6,900 yards, make Rose Hill Golf Club even more accessible.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 538 Reviews
5 stars:
40
4 stars:
186
3 stars:
174
2 stars:
81
1 stars:
57

recommend this course

366 out of 532 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include water hazards bunkers narrow fairways   Great for drinks 19th hole specials brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Enjoyable round, unexciting course"


roscograves's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A nice inexpensive round of golf in the area, but most of the holes on the course are somewhat boring in layout. greens and sand need to be improved but had no complaints about the fairways.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



dadairbp1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"This course needs work"


Slades52's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course. Orher than cutting the grass, it appears that no other maintenance is being done. Greens were especially rough. When putting, the ball bounces like you're on gravel. Tough to get a true read on a putt. Pace was great as there were no other golfers in sight.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I don't recommend this course


"They need to get it together"


u000007493953's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I realize they're clubhouse is under construction. That wasn't the issue. Don't wanna bash this place but if I had known how bad their fairways and greens were I would have played somewhere else. There are many other courses around in the $35-$40 range that have greens you can actually putt on, not play plinko


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



u2487715's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course for the price. No waiting, course needs a lot of work, especially the greens. Hopefully after the clubhouse is finished, the course will be in better shape


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I don't recommend this course


"very poor greens and fairways"


wasaga's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

its to bad the course is in such poor condition. it has a great layout and looks like it could have been a really nice course at one time. the saving grace was the golf now price of $23.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great price."


pacourt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course for the price. Make it your practice course and enjoy it.staff is friendly and you can buzz through the course.a few greens need a little TLC.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



nancy0345's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Couse in rough shape"


sprather's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

three greens were un-puttable and nearly destroyed by improper maintenance (told this once we arrived). Pace of play so very slow and backed up. Jumped holes to avoid slow groups. Fairways needed some mowing and care. Staff were friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Not Yet!"


jhreben's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in major transition after going through severe financial difficulties. A new clubhouse/pro shop is under construction, but the course is in horrible condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



JSLowes's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Any Price is Too High"


uWZPH8700WZ's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

There are no greens with grass on them. Thee are tufts of grass are and there. Impossible to see ball on fairway since there were so many weeds and multiple coloured plants that val was almost invisible. The rough was largely uncut weeds. Sand traps were in good shape. Lots of roll generated by the rock-hard, almost grassless conditions.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Good not great!"


Mikeer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course three times since arriving in HH early this month. As average players, we find this course enjoyable but not intimidating. There are many nicer courses in HH but for the money but Rose Hill worked gor us.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Surprised"


u184209887's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played the course frequently over the last few years, most recently in February, and have enjoyed it. At that time the course was in reasonable winter condition. This time the course was in rough shape. The greens were in terrible condition and the grass was going to seed on the entire course. Hope the course gets the work it deserves.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Back at it again"


121209's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course was fine for me for just getting back since sugery


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Horrible"


u1403509's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was very untidy, greens were terrible, and the tee boxes also, bunkers were good, probably worst course I ever played in last 5yrs .


Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"So, so play on VACAtion!!!"


Jason5085605's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens did not live up to the advertisement. The only redeeming value of the course was the cleanliness of the fairways


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Bad conditions"


oppercy's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They should spend money on the course & not a new clubhouse. Too many much better courses in the area. Greens were partially sodded and weeds on greens and fairways.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course




1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Work in progress but fun"


u3526247's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had read a few reviews lately that the course was horrible but it was not as bad as it was made out to be, especially for $28. Yes they are working on the course and some greens are a little rough but if you want a championship quality course, you are going to pay at least $50-75 per round. The staff was nice, the meet you as you pull up and get your clubs out and load them and after the round someone meets you and cleans your clubs and help you load up. I had a great time, especially playing with Todd from Pennsylvania. He made the day great and the round fun and that is what golf is all about.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"The course has gone down hill"


u034480976's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course several times over the ast ten years and it is in the worst shape I have ever seen it in. The greens are inconsistent and fairways are below what I would expect.

The staff seems indifferent.

They are building a new club house so the ammenities are lacking.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed