Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
77 Reviews (77)
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
8
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.8
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.2
80.4%
Recommend this course
56 out of 77 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.4
9 Reviews (9)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.4
Value
4.0
Layout
3.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.1
StaffFriendliness
4.2
88.9%
Recommend this course
8 out of 9 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.3
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.9
Layout
3.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.1
StaffFriendliness
4.4
81.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 72
Length 6528 yards
Slope 119
Rating 71.5
Book a Tee Time at
Knoxville Municipal Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1984
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect D. J. DeVictor (1984)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.3
77 Reviews (77)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 6
This course/club is great for:
Locals 8
Seniors 6
Walkers 6
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

I had a great round

I had a great round of golf. We have gotten alot of rain lately so the greens were slow.
Some of the golfers were not fixing their ball marks on the green which overtime will hurt the greens.
I will play this course again in the next couple of weeks.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate honest feedback to help improve our guest experience. If you have a specific area of our service or course that you'd like to discuss, please reach out to us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very nice condition and layout

This course was in very good shape and the staff was very friendly. It was a little crowded, but this course is very popular with East Tennesseans.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Come back soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thanks for your honest feedback and review. We take this seriously and are working every day to improve. We'd like to continue this conversation with you more. Please email us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rain check

Are we able to get a rain check. We got through the first 9 holes and then got rained out. Wasn’t sure how it worked to try and request this. Any help with this would be appreciated.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review and comments. Please contact us at info@golfknox.com and we can figure out what's possible here.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 07/08/2019

u8634510 -

Thanks for playing at Knox Muni! Sorry to hear you're back 9 was rained out, but I would be more than happy to help with issuing you a rain check for those holes you were unable to play. Please shoot me an email to JSmedley@GolfKnox.com with your tee time information (names of players in your group, tee time, fee you paid) and I will make sure that we get you set up with that rain check.

Best,

Justin Smedley
GM

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Hit and miss

No pun intended with the title. This course is kinda hit and miss. Some very nice spots. The back 9 is in much better condition, in my opinion than the front 9. Some cart path issues, mostly on the front, course mostly in good shape. Just some weird things throughout the course, though. Spots in fairways and even just in the first cut that are inconsistent and out of place .Random holes all over the place. Anything off the fairway, even slightly, and you might have no idea where your ball is even if it wasn't unreasonably far and wide. Greens were in good condition. Not a lot of people on the course today, I was essentially alone. The second half of the day that was because of the rainstorm, but it doesn't seem to get a lot of action. Friendly staff. No driving range here, which is strange to me. But it was a nice, generally relaxing round. I would go again, but I don't live in town.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your honest feedback and review. We take this seriously and are working every day to improve. We'd like to continue this conversation with you more. Please email us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Don’t play this course

I was shocked at how bad this course was. There’s dirt everywhere, even in the fairway.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

We're sorry that you didn't have a great experience with us. We take customer feedback seriously. Please reach out to us at info@golfknox.com so we can learn more about how to make the customer experience better.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Improved

The course has made quite a few improvements and were busy with more today. The course was in the best condition I’ve personally seen it. Will play there more often.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your kind words and review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you play here again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Good public course..

Great staff and grill....good layout. Fairways need attention, grass very sparse.. .

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thank you for your feedback, Douglas. We take your opinion seriously, and are working everyday to improve the customer experience. If you have other comments that you'd like to share, please reach out to us at info@golfknox.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Don’t believe the pictures

GolfNow picture of course look very nice . This course needs to be closed down. Cow pasture .

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review. We work everyday against weather challenges to present the course in it's best possible condition to our golfers. We'd like to continue this conversation with you on how you feel that we can improve. Please email us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love the staff.

Willie, Alice and David are wonderful warm folks that welcome you every time you play.
The condition of the cart paths is an embarrassment. The greens were recently aerated so the balls would jump across the green with every putt. I understand this is only temporary and will improve, but just as your ball bounces across the greens, your cart will do the same down the cart path.
This course is a great little gem here in Knoxville. I wish it were better funded.
Alice keeps the best deli in Knoxville! Her hot dogs are spot on! If it weren’t for the staff, I would just drive to another course.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are delighted our staff meets all your expectations. We appreciate your feeddback and hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

Enjoyed playing this course yesterday. I've only been playing for 3 years and I actually played better this year than I did last year on this course. Everyone was friendly. The greens had been aeriated a week or two ago so they were still bumpy but the clubhouse had a sign up reminding everybody. If you've never played here, I would recommend this course in a heartbeat.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thank you for your 4 star review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review, Andy. We hope that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Come back and play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thank you for your review. We take customer feedback seriously, and are working hard to improve the customer experience. Please let us know if there is a specific service area you were dissatisfied with by emailing us at info@golfknox.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens are in tough shape

greens need to be resurfaced, fairways are in good condition and wide open. Would have been better if slower players had the courtesy to let faster players to play through.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Greens are ruined! Crab grass everywhere!

We love coming to play here, it's about a hour drive for my foursome. The guy in the clubhouse is Willie and he's is what every person at check in should be! Always in a great mood and very friendly! The course was full green, rough was playing rough as it should, but the greens are awful! The crabgrass had overrun them and they are in real danger of losing several greens! This has happened in the last two months and is really bad, I'd felt better if they were rarified than the mess they were in, $35 is way too much to pay for this current condition! When theirs prestige courses just a short drive away, we won't be back anytime soon!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Knoxville, Tennessee
0.0
0
Knoxville, Tennessee
4.6666666667
3
Knoxville, Tennessee
3.9432352941
85
Knoxville, Tennessee
3.3333
3
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
3.6682823529
175
Knoxville, Tennessee
4.5686882353
129
Knoxville, Tennessee
3.6666666667
4
Knoxville, Tennessee
5.0
2
Farragut, Tennessee
4.5
2

Stay & Play Offers

From $100
Valid dates: Dec 05, 2019 - Nov 01, 2020
Escape to Tennessee's 'Hidden Gem' RiverWatch Golf Club with the perfect Stay and Play Package, starting at $100/night for lodging and UNLIMITED golf.
Featured Content
Load More
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE