Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
92 Reviews (92)
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
10
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.8
Layout
3.6
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.2
80.1%
Recommend this course
68 out of 92 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
14 Reviews (14)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.4
Value
3.7
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.1
78.6%
Recommend this course
11 out of 14 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.6
19 Reviews (19)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.9
Layout
3.6
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
4.2
84.2%
Recommend this course
16 out of 19 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 72
Length 6528 yards
Slope 119
Rating 71.5
Book a Tee Time at
Knoxville Municipal Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1984
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect D. J. DeVictor (1984)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill

Available Facilities

Meeting Facilities

Reviews

3.4
92 Reviews (92)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 6
This course/club is great for:
Locals 8
Seniors 6
Walkers 6
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Enjoyment

This course and staff are great ! I am teaching my wife to play and she loves this particular course due to the fact there are no sand bunkers. The staff is always friendly and personal .

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Different Course

I was really concerned about playing this course due to past experiences. A friend and I found a good deal on Golfnow. We were both pleased with the condition of the entire course. The staff was really friendly! We will start playing this course more often!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/06/2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you enjoy our course and wonderful staff. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Enjoyable

Good course overall! I’m not the biggest fan of the back nine, but I really like the front so, sometimes it is what it is.

Green’s seems to be in good shape.

Fairways were extremely hard and dry. Good for roll. Not good for a “pick it clean” player like me...when I found the fairway that is.

I shot a “94” to give you my skill level.

I enjoyed it. Will probably stick to only 9 here though.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 06/15/2020

Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear you enjoy our course. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Hot but fun day on the course

The staff here is awesome! Course was in pretty good shape. It was hot, but the pace of play kept up.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 06/12/2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you enjoy our course and wonderful staff. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Greens need some work, Great staff and layout

I enjoyed my Memorial Day round. Staff is awesome. The greens had been recently punched and sanded...that was a mild disappointment. Keep working hard on making the course great.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 06/12/2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you had a great Memorial Day at the course and enjoyed our wonderful staff. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Less Than Mediocre

Uneven tee boxes, trash everywhere and a rude staff.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Terrible Workers!

Long story short, I called the day before to make sure 5 could play. They said it was okay, drove 1.5 hours to play and once we arrived, their extremely rude pro shop guy refused to let us play. Would not go if my round was free!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 04/24/2020

Why in the heck would you drive 1.5 hours to play at such a mediocre course?

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Not bad

This was the first time playing here. The course was in pretty good shape. Clubhouse was nice and grabbed a quick bite at the turn. This is a good course for a high handicapper. I played the white but should have played the blues. Its relatively short. The greens rolled true. This is a great scoring course. There arent many challenging shots. The 18th is a par 5 that plays as a par 4. I would say that all the par 5's are short. I would play again for sure.its a good course for the money.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 06/12/2020

Thank you for your review. We take your opinions seriously, and are constantly looking to improve the customer experience. Please feel free to reach out to us at info@golfknox.com to discuss your concerns further.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/12/2020

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are happy to see you enjoyed our course. We value your feedback, and hope to see you back in the future.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 04/03/2020

Thank you so much for your review, Garry! We are happy to see you enjoyed our course. We value your feedback, and hope to see you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 63
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

I had a great round

I had a great round of golf. We have gotten alot of rain lately so the greens were slow.
Some of the golfers were not fixing their ball marks on the green which overtime will hurt the greens.
I will play this course again in the next couple of weeks.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 04/03/2020

Scott, thank you so much for your review! We are happy to see you enjoyed our course. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate honest feedback to help improve our guest experience. If you have a specific area of our service or course that you'd like to discuss, please reach out to us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very nice condition and layout

This course was in very good shape and the staff was very friendly. It was a little crowded, but this course is very popular with East Tennesseans.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Come back soon!

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thanks for your honest feedback and review. We take this seriously and are working every day to improve. We'd like to continue this conversation with you more. Please email us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rain check

Are we able to get a rain check. We got through the first 9 holes and then got rained out. Wasn’t sure how it worked to try and request this. Any help with this would be appreciated.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review and comments. Please contact us at info@golfknox.com and we can figure out what's possible here.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/08/2019

u8634510 -

Thanks for playing at Knox Muni! Sorry to hear you're back 9 was rained out, but I would be more than happy to help with issuing you a rain check for those holes you were unable to play. Please shoot me an email to JSmedley@GolfKnox.com with your tee time information (names of players in your group, tee time, fee you paid) and I will make sure that we get you set up with that rain check.

Best,

Justin Smedley
GM

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Hit and miss

No pun intended with the title. This course is kinda hit and miss. Some very nice spots. The back 9 is in much better condition, in my opinion than the front 9. Some cart path issues, mostly on the front, course mostly in good shape. Just some weird things throughout the course, though. Spots in fairways and even just in the first cut that are inconsistent and out of place .Random holes all over the place. Anything off the fairway, even slightly, and you might have no idea where your ball is even if it wasn't unreasonably far and wide. Greens were in good condition. Not a lot of people on the course today, I was essentially alone. The second half of the day that was because of the rainstorm, but it doesn't seem to get a lot of action. Friendly staff. No driving range here, which is strange to me. But it was a nice, generally relaxing round. I would go again, but I don't live in town.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your honest feedback and review. We take this seriously and are working every day to improve. We'd like to continue this conversation with you more. Please email us at info@golfknox.com. Thank you!

Nearby Courses
Knoxville, Tennessee
Private
0.0
0
Knoxville, Tennessee
Public
4.6666666667
3
Knoxville, Tennessee
Private
0.0
0
Knoxville, Tennessee
Public
3.8243411765
107
Knoxville, Tennessee
Private
3.3333
3
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Public/Municipal
3.9144117647
203
Knoxville, Tennessee
Public
4.5091588235
173
Knoxville, Tennessee
Public
3.7647058824
4
Knoxville, Tennessee
Private
5.0
2
Farragut, Tennessee
Private
4.0833333333
3

Stay & Play Offers

From $389
Valid dates: Jun 06, 2017 - Jun 30, 2020
Let The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee create unforgettable Georgia vacations with packages that deliver adventure-filled weekend getaways, unrivaled golf outings or romantic escapes with your significant other.
Featured Content
Load More
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE