Northcliffe Golf & Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.3
361
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
88
2 Stars
70
1 Stars
84
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.5
Conditions
1.9
Value
2.8
Layout
0
44.7%
Recommend this course
202 out of 361 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.3
361
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
13
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
2.3
Conditions
1.7
Value
2.5
Layout
3.3
36.7%
Recommend this course
11 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.3
361
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
23
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.5
Conditions
2.0
Value
2.9
Layout
3.4
50.7%
Recommend this course
34 out of 67 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6532
Slope 119
Rating 71.0
Type Semi-Private
Northcliffe Golf & Country Club is one of the most beautiful and well maintained golf courses in the San Antonio and New Braunfels area. The par-72 golf course is enjoyable for the average golfer, yet a challenge to the low-handicap players. Lots of water, trees and rolling fairways and greens make Northcliffe Golf & Country Club a fun course to play. Players of all skill levels will find this golf course a challenge. It's the closest course to Retama race track, so you heavy betters can have a full day and night. The Northcliffe Golf & Country Club staff is user friendly and professional.
Book a Tee Time at
Northcliffe Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6532 yards 71.0 119
Blue 72 6080 yards 68.9 115
Red (W) 72 5258 yards 70.4 115
Scorecard for Northcliffe Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Champions M: 71.3/131 520 120 415 434 365 153 415 330 544 3296 390 172 410 390 150 545 457 187 535 3236 6532
Mens M: 69.5/125 493 98 390 414 345 135 356 309 514 3054 376 158 388 377 130 515 445 147 490 3026 6080
Gold M: 66.4/118 450 98 343 325 319 125 345 275 430 2710 327 137 365 330 97 420 420 121 412 2629 5339
Ladies W: 64.0/113 401 81 272 255 319 125 282 275 352 2362 327 137 301 330 97 380 400 121 360 2453 4815
Handicap 9 17 7 1 13 11 3 15 5 12 14 4 10 18 2 16 8 6
Par 5 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 5 36 4 3 4 4 3 5 5 3 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1979
Golf Season Year round
Architect Joe Finger (1979)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

2.3
361

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 13
Watching the Game 6
Patio Dining 5
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 26
Water Hazards 26
Elevation Changes 17
This course/club is great for:
Locals 30
Beginners 18
Seniors 18
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 29
In the 'Burbs 22
Worth the Drive 17
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Dead Fairways

Greens are pretty bad fairways are real dry. Really need water
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Northcliffe Country Club on 08/01/2018:
Thank you for coming out again to Northcliffe Country Club and for leaving us another review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions. We will keep working hard to keep the course in shape, and hopefully the weather will cooperate to bring the best out of the course.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Have used Golfnow several but it the first time I was charged twice! Once on the 8th and again on the 9th. Hopefully this will be taken care of!
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Poorly maintained

The greens were weeds and bare spots everywhere. The fairways were burned, basically playing on dirt and rock.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Mowers needed

Many years ago this was a good course. The bunkers are overgrown with grass. Hard to find your golf ball if hit anywhere close to them. Green are very bumpy fairways are thin. Money must be spent to have golfers come back. $15 is cheap but you get what you pay for. Sorry about this review.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Response from Northcliffe Golf & Country Club on 07/05/2018:
Hello Dano, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Northcliffe Golf & Country Club, in the Texas Guadalupe County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Terrible Shape

Not worth the drive or money. Greens were trashed, fairways were just as bad.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Fair
Response from Northcliffe Golf & Country Club on 06/26/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Northcliffe Golf & Country Club. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Cibolo, Texas area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

NOT A REAL COURSE

If you have bothered coming this far to find out if you want to play here, just stop and find another course. I went against my better judgement and experienced by FAR the worst kept course I have ever been on. The staff was friendly, and I thought one was joking when he said, “You’ll notice a huge difference on the greens today! We just got a new mower to knock the heads off the weeds!” This course is sub par for even inexperienced poor golfers. There are better options. Any amount you pay is a waste of money.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Response from Northcliffe Golf and Country Club on 06/22/2018:
We are always looking to improve and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course. We thank you gain for sharing you concerns, and we will keep working to have the golf course in top shape.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Poor Greens

All of the greens had some type of weed growing in them. Most greens needed to be mowed. The grass on the greens was over an inch high. Friendly staff.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Response from Northcliffe Golf and Country Club on 06/22/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to review our course. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our greens. We will make sure to continue to work to improve the condition of our golf course. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. We greatly value everyone’s customer experience. Thanks again for leaving us a review, and we hope to see you out here again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

I'm rooting for them

This course is in the process of being rescued from an investment group who walked away from it. The conditions are not good, but rather than pile on with negative reviews I'd encourage people to consider if they want Northcliffe to join the long list of courses that have closed down? I drove an hour to play there, and had a good time. They have some significant work to do in order to get the course up to average conditions, but what is there today provides an opportunity to hit some shots, have some fun, and play conditions that are more like those that early golfers played on. The skeleton of a decent golf course exists there, and a good time can be had by those looking to practice, introduce someone to the game, or have a low pressure game. I hope people continue to give the course management a chance to keep the lights on and try to resurrect it.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from Northcliffe Golf and Country Club on 06/22/2018:
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your dedication to coming out and playing our course. We will continue to work on our course conditions to ensure that there are great times in the future, and we would look forward to seeing you out here again.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Traps are being re-done

They are starting to re-do the traps and the Greens are coming in
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE