Sterling Hills Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
561
5 Stars
112
4 Stars
250
3 Stars
111
2 Stars
48
1 Stars
40
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.6
79.3%
Recommend this course
439 out of 557 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.6
49
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.1
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.4
77.6%
Recommend this course
38 out of 49 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.6
107
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
10
1 Stars
7
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.1
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.3
78.5%
Recommend this course
84 out of 107 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6813
Slope 133
Rating 72.9
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Sterling Hills Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 71 6813 yards 72.9 133
Championship 71 6395 yards 70.9 126
Regular 71 5906 yards 69.0 121
Forward (W) 72 5482 yards 72.7 125
Scorecard for Sterling Hills Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.0/132 433 417 223 523 444 378 348 183 386 3335 379 159 409 407 447 187 501 466 523 3478 6813
Blue M: 71.1/127 416 400 202 490 424 355 332 167 368 3154 355 144 375 392 420 168 464 429 494 3241 6395
Combo M: 69.7/123 369 371 173 490 400 355 332 167 368 3025 355 144 340 372 373 148 464 396 494 3086 6111
White M: 67.0/122 369 371 173 468 400 329 311 154 351 2926 331 126 340 372 373 148 436 396 458 2980 5906
Red W: 72.7/125 336 347 162 439 400 303 289 135 329 2740 301 105 315 349 340 123 407 370 432 2742 5482
Handicap 11 7 9 15 1 3 17 13 5 14 18 6 4 8 10 16 2 12
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 3 4 35 4 3 4 4 4 3 5 4 5 36 71
Handicap (W) 7 3 9 15 13 1 11 17 5 14 18 6 2 8 10 16 4 12

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Golf Season Year round
Architect Graves Pascuzzo

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire is required. Blue jeans, cutoff pants, athletic shorts, swim suits and jogging clothes are not considered proper attire

Reviews

3.6
561

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 26
Brunch 9
Watching the Game 9
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 47
Undulating Greens 41
Water Hazards 39
This course/club is great for:
Locals 43
Advanced Golfers 38
A Weekend Splurge 17
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 36
Convenient to the City 21
In the 'Burbs 20

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

Had a great time, weather was perfect, great green fee through Golf Now $16 first time seeing that. Only problem that day was most fairways were hoped off, greens had just been aerated 3 days earlier,but in perfect condition.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course is in bad shape.

Sterling Hills used to be so nice. Gone way downhill. Bare areas, wet areas, inconsistent fairways. Will not return.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/31/2018:
We are currently over-seeding and irrigating fairways intermittently during golfing ours. This process will create great fairways that we can all enjoy into the future!
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser

At least they're working on it..

The greens were very good. Most of the fairways were roped off to keep carts out. Parts of the fairways were soggy from the sprinklers. It was definitely "lift, clean, and cheat". The sprinklers came on while we were playing. My cart and bag got completely drenched on one hole. After I wiped off the water, I moved the cart to another location, and it happened again. I'm not sure why they are watering during the day. Late in the day, when the shadows were getting long, I could see that the greens were still smooth. I made a lot of putts. It was inexpensive to play. Overall I had a good time, but a couple guys in my foursome were complaining about the course conditions.

Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/31/2018:
Your feedback on course conditions is greatly appreciated. The agronomist practices we are taking now will result in good conditions the rest of the year. Greens are great! Thanks to Eddie Santiago and Omar Santiago for leading the team.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor course management

Had a 10:20 Tee time behind a tournament. Teed off at 11:15. I asked to jump to Fairway 10, which was vacant for 30 minutes at 10:45 but was turned down. Golfed 3 holes in an hour, then the fairways were 3 deep ahead. So I quit and went to Cam Springs where I had a great time.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/24/2018:
Thank you for posting a review. We look carefully at these to assist us in improving customer service. We strive to provide reasonable weekend golf rates and pace of play is important to our facility and staff. We would like to hear back from you at your convenience.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sterling Hills

Fairways improving and greens are still in great shape.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser

Struggling

Greens only area in decent shape. Hopefully they are on road to recovery after some neglect.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Could be great

I love the layout of this course. Unfortunately, the course is in terrible condition. The only thing in good shape is the greens, the tea boxes Fairways and rough are terrible. hopefully they will get this course back into good shape and make it one of the best in the area, like it was in the past. The staff is very friendly and the amenities are good but, if the course is in bad shape why go there?

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the course conditions. Our staff is always working hard to maintain the course. We hope to see you again.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course not in great shape

Course is good value but the last few times I’ve played the fairways have been a disaster. Feels like a low end municipal course. Good news is the greens were still decent. If you play as a single they just tell you to go out and play by yourself or find a group. So all over the course you have foursomes, threesomes, twosomes, and singles which causes pace of play issues. It’s a shame because this used to feel like a high end course.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for playing Sterling Hills! We're sorry to hear about your experience with the pace of play. Next time, please feel free to reach out to the pro shop during your round to report ant pace of play issues.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Timing

Great location, super nice staff. Unfortunately the course is in really rough shape at this time.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sterling hills a bust

My wife and I have been playing this course for the past 5 years. Having been unable to play for the past 4 months because of medical reasons we were amazed at the poor condition of the fairways. We will not be back until things improve

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
It's always good to hear from a few of our regulars! Your feedback on the course conditions is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

OK for the price

Sterling Hills is undergoing a lot of maintenance to improve the golf course...i.e. in the fairways, bunkers, and tee boxes. The greens are in pretty good shape! Hopefully we can see the improvements in the next few months.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation! Our staff is working hard to maintain the course and improve playing conditions. See you soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good course

Nice layout. Great mix of different types of holes.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
We're happy to hear you enjoy the layout of the course. See you soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for the 3-star review and course recommendation!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Sterling Review

Fairways were iin very poor shape. It appears as though they have not been water in weeks

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 10/17/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Greens were nice,fairways and tee boxes need some work

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 08/09/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 08/06/2018:
Thank you for the review and recommendation!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very Good Golf

Good golf track! Scoring opportunities from the Regular (White tees). Greens in excellent shape while fairways have some work in progress. 19th hole and beer cart were a plus!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Sterling Hills Management on 08/09/2018:
Thank you for playing Sterling Hills and rating the course 4-stars!
Nearby Courses
Camarillo, California
4.2857142857
2
Camarillo, California
0.0
0
Somis, California
4.0
1
Ventura, California
3.9474
19
Camarillo, California
0.0
0
Santa Paula, California
3.5
2
Camarillo, California
3.2788588235
232
Ventura, California
4.0714823529
188
Santa Paula, California
0.0
0
Point Mugu Nawc, California
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE