Sterling Hills Golf Club

3.6066058824 3.6 stars from 5 (479)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6813 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire is required. Blue jeans, cutoff pants, athletic shorts, swim suits and jogging clothes are not considered proper attire
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 71 6813 yards 72.9 133
Championship 71 6395 yards 70.9 126
Regular 71 5906 yards 69.0 121
Forward (W) 72 5482 yards 72.7 125

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 479 Reviews
5 stars:
97
4 stars:
208
3 stars:
94
2 stars:
44
1 stars:
36

recommend this course

370 out of 475 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Slow and Sloppy"


u00000726234's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has let itself go. The conditions tee to green are quite poor. The greens themselves are still in decent shape but as a serious golfer I would be embarrassed to associate myself with that facility. Furthermore, if I were an owner of one of the $1M+ homes on one of the fairways I would be extremely upset by the condition.

I went on a weekend afternoon, so slower play was expected, but this was unusually slow. 2hr 40min to play the front 9. Unacceptable. We elected to replay the (now empty) front nine rather than play the back and finished it in under 90mins.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/15/2018:

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback on course conditions is greatly appreciated. Please feel free to reach out to the pro shop to discuss your experience.


Clancy24's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/15/2018:

We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course. Please feel free to reach out to the pro shop to discuss your experience.

"Great Value"


birdiethis57's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They have a special until April. $40 for golf, cart, range balls and lunch. Course is in good shape and getting better by the day thanks to the new owner. Greens are really good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/06/2018:

We're happy to hear you're enjoying the new Spring Special!

"Here we go again..."


djenkins77's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is very difficult for me but it has taught me the value of using a plan and some simple course management. Have a plan and you might survive! It wasn't too windy so I relaxed and had fun. Perfect day too!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/06/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!


jbsocal's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/06/2018:

Thank you for sharing your 5-star recommendation!

"Rough"


shark6y's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tough course and a lot of hard pan and hard to find the ball even in the fair way. Right now I’m not playing there again until they get it in shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/08/2018:

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our staff is working hard to maintain the course. We hope to see you again!


johnandrews53's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/06/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review!


u000007467397's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They should change the name from Sterling Hills to Tarnished Hills. Course is in really bad shape. Greens are like rocks.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 02/06/2018:

Thank you for golfing with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our staff is working to repair problem areas on the course. Next time, please feel free to stop by the pro shop to discuss your experience.

"Making new friends"


u7219806's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the first time I have booked tee time just for myself. I have only been golfing for 3 months, so I didn’t know what to expect. The group that I was with were great. They were patient with my multiple wacks at the ball giving minimal advice but helpful. Only lost one ball. We finished 18 holes in 4 hours which seemed like a good pace. I will definitely try this again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 01/22/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation! A round of golf is always better with a good group at the tee box. See you soon!

"Course having new owner pains"


u167130959's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golf cart died on first 9, at the 19th hole having a beer found out we were not the only one with cart issues. Pace was bad as there were no course martial to push along the slow groups. Plenty of open holes the course was not crowded, Just inconsiderate golfers. We ended up skipping a couple holes to pass the slow players.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 01/22/2018:

Thank you for sharing feedback on your round. We're sorry to hear about your cart issues. Our staff is working hard to improve course conditions for your next visit. See you soon!

"The future looks bright"


12don's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

We were told of a change of ownership. My only problem with the course Friday were the fairways were a little beat up. Talking with staff I feel confident they will get the course in shape and plan on playing sometime in the future. Check out their current 40 dollar deal


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 01/22/2018:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on new management and the direction of the course. We look forward to seeing you again!

"Father Daughter Time"


u7219806's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed an afternoon of golfing with my daughter. Beautiful weather.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 01/12/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you had a great day with family. See you soon!


u355766392's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 01/05/2018:

Thank you for taking time to share your recommendation!

"Death of a golf course"


u000004287669's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I couldn’t believe what had happened to the course since the last time I played. The fairways are in shambles the greens are nicked up and generally in poor condition . They took a beautiful course and turned it into a run down trampled on public park. They obviously do not care about the pace of play or they would not have put out two groups of eight having a party. In front of us. There is one more minor issue to deal with, as the course is surrounded by agriculture there will be times where manure is used as fertilizer and this can get quite pungent. I would rather pay a little bit more and have a course that is fun to play in beautiful to look at.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/27/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your feedback! New management at Sterling Hills is working hard to improve course conditions. We look forward to seeing you again!

"I will never be returning"


shkatz14's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A few things:

Most importantly. My boyfriends car was broken into in the parking lot and there was only ONE camera and it was blocked by a tree. When the owner was notified, he could care less and wouldn't come out when the cop was writing the report. It was the worst customer service I've ever seen. He finally came out and had the audacity to say "would a round of golf suffice?" No. How about you get better security cameras or get insurance to pay for that sort of thing. The least you could have done was reimburse us for our round we had already completed.

The course:

Terrible shape minus the greens. Every tee box was sloped and every fairway was damaged. My boyfriend and I lost balls within the fairway cause they were covered in leaves or dirt. Very disappointed cause I loved this course growing up.

The staff:

As I already mentioned, the manager couldn't care less. The guys at the front were fine, but I only give this place credit for the wonderful cart gal. She was so nice!

I will never be returning here.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/27/2017:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! New management at Sterling Hills is focused on providing excellent customer service. We look forward to improving your next experience.

"Sterlimg Welll Worth It!"


kelly5857749's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sterling is a hidden gem. The course fairways are being reseeded right now (and need it), but the greens are really good. For a semi-private course this current hot deal is a steal. With some challenging holes and openness you wont be disappointed. Howecer, the first hole is a temporary Par 3.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/26/2017:

Thank you for playing and recommending the course! We're happy to provide good value to our golfers. See you soon!

"Fairways"


Ak47e6's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were good overall, most fairways need work and maybe that’s what they are trying to do. I will avoid this course for a while and see if the new grass they planted will correct some of the fairway problems.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/26/2017:

Thank you for sharing feedback! Our staff is working hard to improve playing conditions on the fairways. We look forward to your return!

"worse course I played of this in year Southern California"


johncurryjr's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/20/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was surly when I walked in the pro shop and up to the desk I said good morning the man behind the desk said in a very aggressive tone give me 10 minutes will you.

We paid for the golf and were then told that the first only the first hole was being worked on and had a temporary green I asked about. That was not true there were workers all over the course getting in the way.

This was a golf course in name only. The fairways were in terrible shape. It look like the surface of the moon in many places and the greens looked as if they had not been cut or rolled in months.

At the turn we ordered food to be ready when we arrived at the halfway house. It was ready, but, it look as if they put the sandwich in an used container. It had mustard on the bottom. My cart partner got mustard all over his golf pants and shirt. When we complained the counter person just shrugged he doesn't use mustard.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/26/2017:

Thank you for golfing with us! Sterling Hills is under new management and working hard to take your feedback and improve your next round of golf. We hope to see you back again soon.

"Getting better all the time"


Jon8106620's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The new owner is hard at work with the needed improvements


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/21/2017:

Thank you for commenting on recent improvements to the course. Our staff is hard at work improving playing conditions. See you soon!


u000004527460's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Sterling Hills Management on 12/21/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed