Panorama Golf Club - Thunderbird Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
218
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
93
3 Stars
44
2 Stars
18
1 Stars
10
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.3
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
88.8%
Recommend this course
186 out of 218 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.1
34
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.5
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.5
97.1%
Recommend this course
33 out of 34 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.0
89
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.4
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.5
94.4%
Recommend this course
84 out of 89 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 36
Length 3306
Slope 139
Rating 36.7
Type Public
Previously known as The Village Golf Club - Thunderbird Course.
Book a Tee Time at
Panorama Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 36 3306 yards 36.7 139
Blue 36 3155 yards 35.7 136
White 36 3046 yards 35.0 133
Red (W) 36 2697 yards 35.9 123
Black (W) 36 2697 yards 33.5 115
Scorecard for Thunderbird/Rolling Hills
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Blue M: 71.3/134 304 173 519 373 371 359 199 487 370 3155 6351
White M: 70.1/129 294 163 510 363 361 347 180 475 353 3046 6072
Gold M: 73.3/136 327 181 539 383 377 371 214 528 386 3306 6003
Black M: 67.1/115 275 125 449 315 333 304 168 432 296 2697 5326
Red W: 71.4/121 275 125 449 315 333 304 168 432 296 2697 5326
Handicap 15 17 1 9 11 7 13 5 3
Par 4 3 5 4 4 4 3 5 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1960
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

3.9
218

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Course Challenges Include:
Undulating Greens 9
Bunkers 7
Elevation Changes 7
This course/club is great for:
Locals 10
Seniors 7
Beginners 6
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 7
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good place to play.

Course is in great shape including tee boxes,fairways and greens.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

One of the best values in the area

The super needs some real recognition because the rolling hills 9 has some of the best fairways and greens I've played in the Houston area. The course layout is what it is but it does require accuracy off the tee and into the greens. Takes driver out of the long hitter but that's ok. For the money, it's fantastic. The other 18 holes are still in quality shape but you can tell a difference with the renovated rolling hills. It's absolute incredible what that grounds crew has done to maintain the greens and fairways with all the cart traffic.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for the very kind words and five stars! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our layout and conditions. Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

Excellent greens. Lots of trees. Challenging but fair. Free ice.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars and a great review! Please come back soon for another great round!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Lovely. Greens were worrisome

Some bugs or disease on several of the greens, otherwise beautiful.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for providing great feedback! We will pass this along to our grounds team.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course was in fantastic shape. The pace of play was great! It was a great day to play at panorama!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
That's terrific to hear! Thank you for leaving us five stars! Please come back for another great day with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars, Reginald!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Great Course Friendly Staff

I’m a regular at this course. Older amenities but the welcoming staff and price make it a great place to play a round. Course is in great condition for the value.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 10/16/2018:
We always love to hear from our regular golfers! Thank you for leaving us five stars!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

They just airaded the greens so you couldn’t get a good read on them! The only real issue was on 16 and 17 holes they turned on the sprinkles, right in the middle of the fairways! Not including all the rain they got! But, we will play their again soon.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 07/16/2018:
We appreciate the helpful feedback! We hope to see you again once the greens recover from aeration.
Played On
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Starter

Starter was a complete witch. Didn’t even play it was so bad!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 07/09/2018:
We're sorry to hear that you felt disrespected by our staff. That's certainly never the impression we want to leave. However, during busy times, it is commonplace to place golfers into foursomes to keep pace of play brisk so that everyone can enjoy their round. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Highly Recommended

Lush fairways, good greens and a challenging layout. Had a great time!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 07/02/2018:
Thank you for the wonderful five-star review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed our conditions and had a great round! Please come and see us again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Aeration!

Greens were aerated and sandy. Totally disappointed Golf now nor Panorama let me know before I booked and played!

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 07/02/2018:
Thank you for leaving feedback! We actually do have aerification alerts on GolfNow and our website booking engine but we apologize if those weren't included on the Hot Deal times.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

“members” most them retired that live in the community play in groups of 3-4 foursomes

thery are very slow and never look back to let nyone play thru

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 06/25/2018:
Thank you for providing great feedback and making us aware. We'll pass this along to our management staff.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Thank you for leaving us four stars!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Improvements

About 3 years ago when I played Panorama the course was in really bad shape . That's not the case anymore . They have completely turned the course around . The fairways are in Great shape as are the Greens . If your a person that enjoys being tested with Greens with a lot of slope you will be tested on these greens . The staff has been very friendly . With the course in Great shape there have been times when pace of play has been a little slow but that's understandable because everyone likes playing a course in Good Shape .

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a great four-star review! We've certainly worked hard to turn Panorama around and we're thrilled that all our hard work has paid off. We're so pleased that you had a great round with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Thank you for leaving us five stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Come on man

Overall the course is nice. Unfortunately, they had aerated and sanded the greens. Which, the website nor the golfshop happened to mention before. Then I find out there is also a tournament going on at the sometime, which they didn't mention that at sign in either. I was a single and it took over 4hrs.to play a round, ridiculous!!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Thank you for leaving us such helpful feedback. We're so sorry about the lack of communication and we will endeavor to improve in the future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Panorama Golf Club on 06/18/2018:
Thank you for leaving us five stars!

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 19, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
The package includes overnight accommodations, unlimited rounds of golf for two players, daily American breakfast for two at CORE Kitchen & Wine Bar and 10% savings offered at the Golf Shop.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE