Meadows/Woodlands at Shaker Run Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
317
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
111
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
42
1 Stars
29
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.6
Layout
0
75.9%
Recommend this course
226 out of 317 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
317
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
2.0
Conditions
2.0
Value
2.0
Layout
5.0
0%
Recommend this course
1 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
317
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
4
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.2
Layout
4.0
72.4%
Recommend this course
21 out of 29 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7053
Slope 135
Rating 74.3
Type Public
Shaker Run Golf Club offers 27 holes of championship golf. 18 holes were designed by Arthur Hills while the remaining nine came from the design team of Michael Hurzdan and Dana Fry. The holes are divided into three nines that are played in three different 18-hole combinations. All of the nines have different characteristics but they share a rolling landscape that is unusual for a golf course in Ohio. The Meadows nine is considered to be the gentlest of the three nines since it doesn't have the trees and water that the other two do, but it still provides a good challenge. The golf course has a memorable finishing hole with out-of-bounds along the entire right side leading to the double-tiered green.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7053 yards 74.3 135
Green 72 6561 yards 71.6 129
White 72 6004 yards 68.5 124
White/Red 72 5673 yards 67.1 120
Red 72 5107 yards 64.9 116
Red (W) 72 5107 yards 69.3 119
Scorecard for Meadows/Woodlands
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.3/135 418 457 177 578 416 360 525 196 430 3557 540 452 423 486 203 365 411 181 435 3496 7053
Green M: 71.6/129 394 424 166 539 389 327 502 176 397 3314 525 410 395 457 190 300 390 170 410 3247 6561
White M: 68.5/124 371 392 145 496 360 292 480 150 351 3037 485 388 378 437 170 260 356 150 343 2967 6004
White/Red M: 67.1/120 371 368 145 456 360 259 402 150 351 2862 455 388 325 437 170 260 283 150 343 2811 5673
Red M: 64.9/116 W: 69.3/119 298 368 107 456 259 259 402 117 305 2571 455 360 325 382 95 234 283 123 284 2541 5112
Handicap 15 5 9 17 1 11 3 7 13 10 6 2 14 12 16 8 18 4
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 5 3 4 36 5 4 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

3.5
317

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 20
19th Hole Specials 9
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 38
Water Hazards 33
Elevation Changes 28
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 32
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 30
Locals 25
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 27
In the 'Burbs 20
Convenient to the City 18
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On 04/08/2018
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Disappointed

Wow! Is all I can say. 15 years ago this was one of Ohio’s top public courses... not anymore. We played the meadows/woodlands. The bunkers on the meadows are totally unplayable.... rocks and grass in the bunkers and the woodlands side Not much better. The course is under new management AGAIN... so we will see if anything changes.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 12/03/2017
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Under construction

They are adding housing and they have changed how the course plays. I was extremely disappointed in the condition of the course and the pace of play was SLOW!
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/07/2017:
Hello, Dan. Thanks for taking the time to review us. The current construction while not visually appealing will be finished sooner than you can imagine. The team is working fast to get everything taken care of so things will return to normal. We also expect to see a lot of positive updates coming from the change and hope you can give us a second chance to enjoy the course. We apologize the pace of play was slow during your visit. We will escalate this to our team in charge. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On 12/01/2017
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Shaker Run

A really enjoyable and surprising course! ...met the new owner - she was so unassuming and personal. Golf shop and cart personnel were inviting... the atmosphere here oozes of hospitality and golf! Sadly, on #3 and #4 they are doing construction... seems people want more houses in a place that should be secluded...
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/04/2017:
Hi, Marc. We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit. The team new and old are excited to hear they made your experience so memorable. We apologize for the current construction and look forward to it finishing up soon. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On 11/29/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Condo construction an/around the course was definitely a distraction.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:
Hello, Ed. We apologize for the current construction. We look forward to its completion soon. Thanks for your feedback!
Played On 11/28/2017
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Shaker Run Is still one of the best around.

Construction, Shortened holes, Still one awesome place to play...Staff friendly...Everyone is happy there. I Loved It....I do recommend playing Shaker Run, Its very very nice. Thank You...Butch McKinney, LUCKY Member of class of 2015 Hall of Fame Wall, Dayton Ohio.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:
Hi, Butch. Welcome back to Shaker Run! Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We also appreciate your understanding the current construction and how little control we have over its effect on the course until it is complete. We are going to pass on your feedback to our team, so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Played On 11/28/2017
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Shaker Run Expwerience

Some construction going on but the price is right so just deal with it. Shouldn't effect the golfing experience that much.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to review the course. We take 2-star feedback very seriously. Your comment about the construction is important to us. We hope for a speedy finish so that we do not have to worry about the issue going forward. You rated the layout, value, and staff all to be fair or poor during your game. We will look to make improvements where we can to change these elements before your next game. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you soon.
Played On 10/30/2017
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Used cart

bad day on a good course

Weather colder than predicted (43F) and windy with a bit of rain on the last hold. Cart path only and greens aerated. Still, the course is good and challenging. Only general complaint with the course is that my GPS could not find the Woodlands portion of our round and yardage markers are not always easy to find. A character building round of golf.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/02/2017:
Thanks for reviewing us. We are sorry to hear the weather did not corporate while you were you playing and that your GPS had some trouble during the round. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the challenge and pace of play. We will escalate your feedback to our team. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On 10/28/2017
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good golf course

Course was in great shape, greens were iffy, a lot of sand, they have just been punched, so they were ok. Usually greens are in good shape. Played all 3 nines today, all were in good shape, except the meadows, every bunker was empty of sand and had weeds growing in them. Very ugly to see on a nice course, embarrassing really when you have expensive condos and houses on the course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/01/2017:
Hello, Kelly. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. Your comment about the bunkers is important to us. We are in the middle of a project to re-tile them so rest assure they will be back to normal soon. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.
Played On 10/27/2017
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The skinny on shaker run

Shaker run is currently in the process of building homes between the golf holes. Fairways are now a lot narrower. Some holes are changing (shorter). The greens are the worst I’ve ever encountered on a course. They were airaited But the sanding did not help. What sanding did occur has sunk into the holes leaving quarter inch deep holes, leaving The greens unputtable. No matter how low a price you get, save your money. Shaker run continues to let me down.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Fair
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/01/2017:
Hello, Wiliam. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. The current renovations are only temporary and will offer our loyal golfers an even better way to become part of the Shaker Run family. We are also excited about how the new homes will help us become a better part of the community. The course was recently aerified. This is temporary and will keep our greens looking great. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On 10/21/2017
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice Course, But Could Be Great!

The course is fun to play and I would assume to be very nice back in the day. The course is maintained fairly well, but the bunkers are in desperate need of sand. Most bunkers are mud pits that are either holding water or the ground has split from the mud drying out. Their range is a great feature if you prefer to warm up before the round. The staff is extremely friendly and the course has a good lay out. There was some work being done on Lakeside so it was a little bit of a mess. It's not a big deal, just an effect of progress. All in all, I would recommend this course as a good one to play.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/07/2017:
4-star reviews are great to see and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We will work to continue to provide a memorable experience. We are glad you understand the current construction represents progress for us and the surrounding neighborhoods. We look forward to its completion. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again soon!

Stay & Play Offers

$119 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2018
Pala Mesa Golf Resort is a California-Ranch style hotel located between Temecula wine country and the scenic North County region of San Diego.This package includes Deluxe accommodations and unlimited golf for two days! Nestled among hillsides and rolling fairways, our Temecula golf resort provides an urban escape offering the perfect setting for a leisure getaway with a championship golf course where personalized service, attention to detail and exceptional cuisine blend to create memorable experiences.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE