Meadows/Woodlands at Shaker Run Golf Club

3.6327941176 3.6 stars from 5 (317)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7092 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 74.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No Denim
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Meadows/Woodlands - Gold 72 7092 yards 74.1 134
Meadows/Woodlands - Blue 72 6584 yards 71.4 128
Meadows/Woodlands - White 72 5916 yards 68.7 123
Meadows/Woodlands - Red 72 5161 yards 69.6 119

Shaker Run Golf Club offers 27 holes of championship golf. 18 holes were designed by Arthur Hills while the remaining nine came from the design team of Michael Hurzdan and Dana Fry. The holes are divided into three nines that are played in three different 18-hole combinations. All of the nines have different characteristics but they share a rolling landscape that is unusual for a golf course in Ohio. The Meadows nine is considered to be the gentlest of the three nines since it doesn't have the trees and water that the other two do, but it still provides a good challenge. The golf course has a memorable finishing hole with out-of-bounds along the entire right side leading to the double-tiered green.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 3.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 317 Reviews
5 stars:
67
4 stars:
111
3 stars:
68
2 stars:
42
1 stars:
29

recommend this course

226 out of 315 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers water hazards elevation changes   Great for drinks 19th hole specials patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Disappointed"


Golfgrind71's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Wow! Is all I can say. 15 years ago this was one of Ohio’s top public courses... not anymore. We played the meadows/woodlands. The bunkers on the meadows are totally unplayable.... rocks and grass in the bunkers and the woodlands side Not much better. The course is under new management AGAIN... so we will see if anything changes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Under construction"


Dan2462969's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They are adding housing and they have changed how the course plays. I was extremely disappointed in the condition of the course and the pace of play was SLOW!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/07/2017:

Hello, Dan. Thanks for taking the time to review us. The current construction while not visually appealing will be finished sooner than you can imagine. The team is working fast to get everything taken care of so things will return to normal. We also expect to see a lot of positive updates coming from the change and hope you can give us a second chance to enjoy the course. We apologize the pace of play was slow during your visit. We will escalate this to our team in charge. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.

"Shaker Run"


MarcSmith1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A really enjoyable and surprising course! ...met the new owner - she was so unassuming and personal. Golf shop and cart personnel were inviting... the atmosphere here oozes of hospitality and golf!

Sadly, on #3 and #4 they are doing construction... seems people want more houses in a place that should be secluded...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/04/2017:

Hi, Marc. We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit. The team new and old are excited to hear they made your experience so memorable. We apologize for the current construction and look forward to it finishing up soon. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club.


HappyEd's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Condo construction an/around the course was definitely a distraction.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:

Hello, Ed. We apologize for the current construction. We look forward to its completion soon. Thanks for your feedback!

"Shaker Run Is still one of the best around."


butchmckinney's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Construction, Shortened holes, Still one awesome place to play...Staff friendly...Everyone is happy there. I Loved It....I do recommend playing Shaker Run, Its very very nice. Thank You...Butch McKinney, LUCKY Member of class of 2015 Hall of Fame Wall, Dayton Ohio.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:

Hi, Butch. Welcome back to Shaker Run! Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We also appreciate your understanding the current construction and how little control we have over its effect on the course until it is complete. We are going to pass on your feedback to our team, so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

"Shaker Run Expwerience"


HIVoltage's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some construction going on but the price is right so just deal with it.

Shouldn't effect the golfing experience that much.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:

Thanks for taking the time to review the course. We take 2-star feedback very seriously. Your comment about the construction is important to us. We hope for a speedy finish so that we do not have to worry about the issue going forward. You rated the layout, value, and staff all to be fair or poor during your game. We will look to make improvements where we can to change these elements before your next game. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you soon.

"bad day on a good course"


bruehr's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

Weather colder than predicted (43F) and windy with a bit of rain on the last hold. Cart path only and greens aerated. Still, the course is good and challenging. Only general complaint with the course is that my GPS could not find the Woodlands portion of our round and yardage markers are not always easy to find. A character building round of golf.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/02/2017:

Thanks for reviewing us. We are sorry to hear the weather did not corporate while you were you playing and that your GPS had some trouble during the round. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the challenge and pace of play. We will escalate your feedback to our team. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.

"Good golf course"


kelly2832860's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape, greens were iffy, a lot of sand, they have just been punched, so they were ok. Usually greens are in good shape. Played all 3 nines today, all were in good shape, except the meadows, every bunker was empty of sand and had weeds growing in them. Very ugly to see on a nice course, embarrassing really when you have expensive condos and houses on the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/01/2017:

Hello, Kelly. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. Your comment about the bunkers is important to us. We are in the middle of a project to re-tile them so rest assure they will be back to normal soon. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.

"The skinny on shaker run"


Williambuehrer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Shaker run is currently in the process of building homes between the golf holes. Fairways are now a lot narrower.

Some holes are changing (shorter). The greens are the worst I’ve ever encountered on a course. They were airaited

But the sanding did not help. What sanding did occur has sunk into the holes leaving quarter inch deep holes, leaving

The greens unputtable. No matter how low a price you get, save your money.

Shaker run continues to let me down.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/01/2017:

Hello, Wiliam. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. The current renovations are only temporary and will offer our loyal golfers an even better way to become part of the Shaker Run family. We are also excited about how the new homes will help us become a better part of the community. The course was recently aerified. This is temporary and will keep our greens looking great. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.

"Nice Course, But Could Be Great!"


tgabehart's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course is fun to play and I would assume to be very nice back in the day. The course is maintained fairly well, but the bunkers are in desperate need of sand. Most bunkers are mud pits that are either holding water or the ground has split from the mud drying out. Their range is a great feature if you prefer to warm up before the round. The staff is extremely friendly and the course has a good lay out. There was some work being done on Lakeside so it was a little bit of a mess. It's not a big deal, just an effect of progress. All in all, I would recommend this course as a good one to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/07/2017:

4-star reviews are great to see and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We will work to continue to provide a memorable experience. We are glad you understand the current construction represents progress for us and the surrounding neighborhoods. We look forward to its completion. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again soon!

"Not Impressed"


Ryan7487749's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The entire Lakeside course was under housing construction and we were not informed before booking tee time or even at the clubhouse before play. The construction made the course almost unplayable and very aggravating. There would be many blind shots for a first time player at the course which would end up out of play in the construction zones.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 10/24/2017:

Hello, Ryan. Thanks for the review. 1-star feedback is extremely important to us because it means we have serious changes to make. The current construction, while not ideal, is something we are working to complete to better our golfers and loyal visitors experience. We planned to have these additions help Shaker Run Golf Club become an even bigger part of the community. With golfers now joining our neighborhood, we hope to update the course and layout to best incorporate these changes to be seamless. Your comments are important to us and will be escalated to the team responsible. We look forward to seeing you at Shaker Run Golf Club again and hope you can give us a second chance.

"Buried in high grass and rock bottom bunkers"


kelleymiller's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lakeside course in under construction for the building of condos. The fairways in holes 3-8 are being revamped for the condos. Lots of dirt and machines can been seen on this course. Paid for Lakeside/Woodlands but as usual changed to Meadows/Lakeside. The bunkers and high grass roughs made for looking for a ball monotonous. The price for this day was not a good value it wasn't worth 20 dollars. They can keep their courses and their high prices.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 10/23/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. We know that the current construction is not ideal for a round but we are working to complete these projects as soon as possible so that new residents can help grow the community, the game, and the experience at Shaker Run. We will provide your comments to our team so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.

"Fantastic Course"


rfrench00's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nothing but good to say. Fairways beautiful, greens beautiful, tee boxes beautiful. Amazing course!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 10/12/2017:

Thank you for reviewing the course. We appreciate the 5-stars and are going to notify the teams responsible, so they know their hard work is paying off. We hope to see you for another round soon. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.

"Hmmm"


u6871799's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played this course several times on Lakeside and very disappointed with the construction. The Lakeside course , holes 3-8 are horrible no due to new town homes coming.the course was beautiful before , now Lakeside has lost its luster. I played the meadows for the first time ever and loved it, even both par 3's over 100 yards or so worth of water. Pared them both. Only issue was the bunkers. I will be playing the woodlands and meadows.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 10/13/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.

"a morning walk"


18kessler's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Received the first tee time, played as a twosome in about 3 hours. Played Lakeside/Woodlands. Woodlands was our last nine and came upon two foursomes who allowed us to immediately play through, which does not happen at many courses. The course was in great shape, we felt the greens were slower than they looked, and slower than normal, yet they held shots coming into them. They did putt very true to the line we choose.yardage markers were also very true and findable in the fairways. So all was very good. If a negative exists it was not on the course, but the work being done for new housing, which on most holes seem to run very close to the course, so until the housing is finished, it will be difficult to say how the visual, not the course itself, changes. I would play there every day if possible.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 09/25/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We are going to pass on your feedback to our team, so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. We hope the new homes are finished sooner than later and add to the aesthetic of the course. Time should tell but we appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

"Don't let Dayton Daly news article fool you"


rcomer's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/20/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Once a great course is not the case now, you went to shaker for the great scenery no houses just nature,,, well now all you see is houses and earth movers, the greed to pay off debt they sold land on lakeside so you will be surrounded by houses, when we made the turn to woodlands they put a outing in front of us no excuse for that just poor management! Lambert the retired owner should be proud, he ruined moss creek and now shaker? Save your money and frustration. I will never go back there again

Robert


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 09/26/2017:

Hello, Mr. Comer. Thank you for taking the time to review the course. We understand your frustrations and are looking to see what we can do to improve. The way you have provided your feedback does not offer us any room to grow or change. Making comments that cut down the course are not helpful to us or any golfers reading your review. Our partnerships are meant to bring truly passionate golfers one step closer to being a part of our great scenery. Our teams are working hard to get everything completed in a timely manner. We encourage you to update your review to fit a more constructive form so we can use your experience to make changes. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.

"Mnagement"


bishopat's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

played golf at this course hundreds of times before grass cutter cussed me and my son out and we still dont understand .the manager of course came by and was extremely rude he was suppose to review situation with employee and come back never did suppose to get a hold of me never has what a terrible manager he never offered a apology


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 10/16/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club.

"Nice"


thewiz999's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I'm sure at one point this was a really fine course. It feels like it needs freshened up a bit and needs more attention to the smaller things. Kind of rough around the edges


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 10/23/2017:

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.


u00000620923's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 09/14/2017:

Hi, Richard. Thank you for reviewing the course. We appreciate the 4-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to earn 5-stars next time. We are glad to hear you found the course to be an enjoyable challenge. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.

"Not what I've come to expect...."


u4013849's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played Shaker Run 5-6 times over the last year & generally I would consider it one of my favorite courses. Their Lakeside 9 is BEAUTIFUL & the Woodlands 9 is challenging & offers some unique and fun holes.

When I booked my reservation, I did not realize I was booking for the Woodlands/Meadows courses. Once I realized I decided to just play anyway because I enjoy Shaker Run & have never played the Meadows course. The Woodlands was nice as usual however it was extremely soggy. We have had some rain recently but not enough to create this much mush on the course. The real disappointment however was with the Meadows 9. The bunkers were atrocious. They were filled with rocks, grass, and standing water. There wasn't a grain of soft sand on the course.

I wouldn't want to discourage anyone from playing the Lakeside or Woodlands courses but steer clear of the Meadows course. It was definitely not worth the $40 green fee.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Shaker Run Golf Club on 09/14/2017:

Hello, Kyle. Let us first say that we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the Lakeside and Woodlands courses.We work hard to create a seamless experience so you can focus on enjoying yourself and let us do the rest. We also want to thank you for your honest and constructive criticism of the course. As you can tell from past reviews, not all feedback is created equal. Your comments about the Meadows Course are presented in a way we can incorporate them into actual change. We are going to escalate your review to our team in charge and do everything we can to improve before your next game. Thank you for visiting and playing at Shaker Run Golf Club. We hope to see you again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed