Woodlands/Lakeside at Shaker Run Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
317
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
111
3 Stars
68
2 Stars
42
1 Stars
29
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.4
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
71.3%
Recommend this course
226 out of 315 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
1.0
1
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.0
Value
2.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
2.0
StaffFriendliness
5.0
0%
Recommend this course
1 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.2
16
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.8
Value
3.4
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.0
70.6%
Recommend this course
12 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6883
Slope 136
Rating 74.1
Type Public
Shaker Run Golf Club offers 27 holes of championship golf that are played in three different 18-hole combinations. The Woodlands/Lakeside Course is the club's original layout designed by Arthur Hills. It was later joined by the gentler Meadows nine. Since opening in 1979, the Woodlands/Lakeside combination has come to be known as one of the best courses in the state. It features challenging elevation changes that are rare for a golf course in Ohio as well as several doglegs and numerous sand traps strategically placed throughout. As the names would suggest, there is also an abundance of water and trees on the course. The fifth hole on the Lakeside nine is Shaker Run's signature hole. The tee box sits nearly 100 feet above the hole and plays into the prevailing winds. It's tricky but if you play to the right of the green, scoring par is definitely possible.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6883 yards 74.1 136
Green 72 6408 yards 71.4 130
White 72 5813 yards 68.4 126
White/Red 72 5543 yards 67.2 119
Red 72 4998 yards 65.0 114
Red (W) 72 4998 yards 69.1 117
Scorecard for Woodlands/Lakeside
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.1/136 540 452 423 486 203 365 411 181 435 3496 450 164 380 480 184 412 415 497 405 3387 6883
Green M: 71.4/130 525 410 395 457 190 300 390 170 410 3247 410 151 360 470 165 380 375 470 380 3161 6408
White M: 68.4/126 485 388 378 437 170 260 356 150 343 2967 374 118 347 457 140 310 330 440 330 2846 5813
White/Red M: 67.2/119 455 388 325 437 170 260 283 150 343 2811 374 118 289 422 140 310 309 440 330 2732 5543
Red M: 65.0/114 W: 69.1/117 455 360 325 382 95 234 283 123 284 2541 354 84 289 422 113 265 309 403 218 2457 4998
Handicap 11 3 7 13 15 17 9 5 1 12 4 8 14 16 18 10 6 2
Par 5 4 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 36 4 3 4 5 3 4 4 5 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1979
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arthur Hills (1979) Wadsworth Golf Construction (1979)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

3.4
317

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 20
19th Hole Specials 9
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 38
Water Hazards 33
Elevation Changes 28
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 32
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 30
Locals 25
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 27
In the 'Burbs 20
Convenient to the City 18
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Disappointed

Wow! Is all I can say. 15 years ago this was one of Ohio’s top public courses... not anymore. We played the meadows/woodlands. The bunkers on the meadows are totally unplayable.... rocks and grass in the bunkers and the woodlands side Not much better. The course is under new management AGAIN... so we will see if anything changes.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Under construction

They are adding housing and they have changed how the course plays. I was extremely disappointed in the condition of the course and the pace of play was SLOW!

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/07/2017:
Hello, Dan. Thanks for taking the time to review us. The current construction while not visually appealing will be finished sooner than you can imagine. The team is working fast to get everything taken care of so things will return to normal. We also expect to see a lot of positive updates coming from the change and hope you can give us a second chance to enjoy the course. We apologize the pace of play was slow during your visit. We will escalate this to our team in charge. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Shaker Run

A really enjoyable and surprising course! ...met the new owner - she was so unassuming and personal. Golf shop and cart personnel were inviting... the atmosphere here oozes of hospitality and golf!

Sadly, on #3 and #4 they are doing construction... seems people want more houses in a place that should be secluded...

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/04/2017:
Hi, Marc. We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit. The team new and old are excited to hear they made your experience so memorable. We apologize for the current construction and look forward to it finishing up soon. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Condo construction an/around the course was definitely a distraction.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:
Hello, Ed. We apologize for the current construction. We look forward to its completion soon. Thanks for your feedback!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Shaker Run Is still one of the best around.

Construction, Shortened holes, Still one awesome place to play...Staff friendly...Everyone is happy there. I Loved It....I do recommend playing Shaker Run, Its very very nice. Thank You...Butch McKinney, LUCKY Member of class of 2015 Hall of Fame Wall, Dayton Ohio.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:
Hi, Butch. Welcome back to Shaker Run! Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We also appreciate your understanding the current construction and how little control we have over its effect on the course until it is complete. We are going to pass on your feedback to our team, so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Shaker Run Expwerience

Some construction going on but the price is right so just deal with it.

Shouldn't effect the golfing experience that much.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/05/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to review the course. We take 2-star feedback very seriously. Your comment about the construction is important to us. We hope for a speedy finish so that we do not have to worry about the issue going forward. You rated the layout, value, and staff all to be fair or poor during your game. We will look to make improvements where we can to change these elements before your next game. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Used cart

bad day on a good course

Weather colder than predicted (43F) and windy with a bit of rain on the last hold. Cart path only and greens aerated. Still, the course is good and challenging. Only general complaint with the course is that my GPS could not find the Woodlands portion of our round and yardage markers are not always easy to find. A character building round of golf.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/02/2017:
Thanks for reviewing us. We are sorry to hear the weather did not corporate while you were you playing and that your GPS had some trouble during the round. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the challenge and pace of play. We will escalate your feedback to our team. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good golf course

Course was in great shape, greens were iffy, a lot of sand, they have just been punched, so they were ok. Usually greens are in good shape. Played all 3 nines today, all were in good shape, except the meadows, every bunker was empty of sand and had weeds growing in them. Very ugly to see on a nice course, embarrassing really when you have expensive condos and houses on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/01/2017:
Hello, Kelly. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. Your comment about the bunkers is important to us. We are in the middle of a project to re-tile them so rest assure they will be back to normal soon. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The skinny on shaker run

Shaker run is currently in the process of building homes between the golf holes. Fairways are now a lot narrower.

Some holes are changing (shorter). The greens are the worst I’ve ever encountered on a course. They were airaited

But the sanding did not help. What sanding did occur has sunk into the holes leaving quarter inch deep holes, leaving

The greens unputtable. No matter how low a price you get, save your money.

Shaker run continues to let me down.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 11/01/2017:
Hello, Wiliam. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. The current renovations are only temporary and will offer our loyal golfers an even better way to become part of the Shaker Run family. We are also excited about how the new homes will help us become a better part of the community. The course was recently aerified. This is temporary and will keep our greens looking great. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice Course, But Could Be Great!

The course is fun to play and I would assume to be very nice back in the day. The course is maintained fairly well, but the bunkers are in desperate need of sand. Most bunkers are mud pits that are either holding water or the ground has split from the mud drying out. Their range is a great feature if you prefer to warm up before the round. The staff is extremely friendly and the course has a good lay out. There was some work being done on Lakeside so it was a little bit of a mess. It's not a big deal, just an effect of progress. All in all, I would recommend this course as a good one to play.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from @ShakerRunGolf on 12/07/2017:
4-star reviews are great to see and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We will work to continue to provide a memorable experience. We are glad you understand the current construction represents progress for us and the surrounding neighborhoods. We look forward to its completion. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again soon!
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

$174 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 17, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018
Staying at Orange Lake Resort and teeing off on any of our four unique golf courses has never been easier.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE