Boutetourt Golf & Swim Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
57
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.2
Value
4.0
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
71.3%
Recommend this course
44 out of 57 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.1
7
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.6
Layout
4.0
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.7
57.1%
Recommend this course
4 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.1
23
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
4
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.7
Layout
4.1
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.3
65.2%
Recommend this course
15 out of 23 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 71
Length 6111 yards
Slope 136
Rating 70.8
Book a Tee Time at
Botetourt Golf & Swim Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6111 yards 70.8 136
White 71 5741 yards 68.7 131
Gold 71 5175 yards 66.1 124
Red (W) 71 4900 yards 69.1 123
Scorecard for Botetourt
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.4/135 450 353 231 350 172 513 436 173 371 3049 213 524 414 314 326 281 161 499 330 3062 6111
White M: 68.2/130 W: 73.8/135 444 347 170 337 166 466 426 167 364 2887 181 490 340 307 323 265 155 480 313 2854 5741
Gold M: 65.7/123 W: 70.7/129 438 332 165 272 162 393 331 159 285 2537 149 433 335 300 311 243 138 475 254 2638 5175
Red M: 63.9/119 W: 68.3/124 438 332 132 272 162 393 331 159 285 2504 109 433 266 210 311 243 138 332 254 2296 4800
Handicap 13 11 5 9 17 7 1 15 3 16 2 6 14 12 10 18 4 8
Par 5 4 3 4 3 5 4 3 4 35 3 5 4 4 4 4 3 5 4 36 71
Handicap (W) 7 5 17 15 13 11 3 9 1 14 4 16 12 10 6 18 2 8

Course Details

Year Built 1962
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes, except on weekends before 12pm

Reviews

3.6
57
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Boutetourt Golf & Swim Club
Commented On 2019-02-05T16:54:58.000+00:00

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review our course, Botetourt Golf Club, and for the 3 stars. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you will continue to see improvements in the course the next time you are with us. We are glad to see that you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with us. Thank you for playing our golf course, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Course is coming around

Jeff and his staff have been working hard over the last several months to get the course back in shape. The course is much improved since mid-summer. Staff is always friendly and with Jeff Sprinkel's leadership the future of the course looks a lot brighter.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Bcc

Beautiful course good layout really knowledgeable staff good value Good pace would recommend

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Choice

Course was undergoing some refurbishing, and front nine was closed. This made pace a little slow, but it was understandable. Have played many times, and has always been enjoyable. Great layout, super friendly staff, and very nice views. They are working on course, and I imagine it will look great come next spring.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Course is finally coming around

Botetourt is finally getting the course turned around. The front nine is still closed but the back nine is in good shape considering the amount of play it is getting. I am looking forward to the opening of the front nine and the back nine being closed to bring it up to great shape.

This course has always been a player's course and I believe that emphasis is finally being applied in that direction again. I have complete confidence that they are putting the correct amount of time and money into the course now. It is a shame that it had to get to this point first but the past is the past and everyone who have been dedicated players there over the years know that the current management is doing the right thing finally.

I firmly believe that this course will again but one of the best public courses in the Roanoke area once the fix is complete.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs a lot of work

The front 9 was closed and the back was not in good shape. They need to repair the course before I will go back.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 08/28/2018:
Hello, on behalf of Botetourt Golf & Swim Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

COURSE IS GONE AND NOT COMING BACK. MAYBE SIX GREENS PLAYABLE.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 08/08/2018:
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions. We will keep working hard to have the course in shape, and we hope you will see improvement the next time you choose to visit us.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Very disappointing

After years of steady decline this place is lost now. No current greens keeper certified to spray chemicals and greens are pretty much lost. 2 temp greens today. Fairways are trash as are tee boxes. This place is awful these days, save the drive to the middle of no where and play somewhere else.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for sharing your concerns. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the conditions. We will keep working to make improvements to the course, and we hope you will be able to see those improvements the next time you are with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Course in Rough Shape

The greens are diseased. 4 and 8 not playable by the course. Pick 2 additional holes to fill out your 18. Fairways have alot of crabgrass. The rough was high and thick.

It is going to take some major TLC to bring it back. Sad to see it in this condition. The course use to rival county clubs.

Maybe by next year they can turn it around.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a review. On behalf of our staff here at Botetourt Golf & Swim Club, we appreciate your feedback as we always look to make improvements. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the condition of the course. We will make sure to keep working hard to have the course in shape, and we hope you will see improvement the next time you are with us. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.
Default User Image
u7178677
Commented On 2018-07-29T10:50:42.000+00:00

I played sat as well, and same experience

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

good value

I had a great time playing today. I highly recommend this course. Great value.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 07/20/2018:
Thank you for recommending our course. We are happy to hear that you had a great time playing here. We are always looking to improve, and we would welcome to hear your feedback. Is there anything we could do better to bump your experience to a 5 star review?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Waste of Money

Paid roughly 20.00 and wasen’t worth it! Greens burnt up. Fairways weeds and crabgrass throughout.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 07/20/2018:
Thank you for leaving us with your feedback. We apologize that the course conditions did not meet expectations. We will keep working hard to have the course in shape for the rest of the year. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you out here again sometime soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A beautiful course. There were several burnt out greens?

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Needs a little attention

I've played the course in the past and it was in much better shape. The layout has always been a little quirky, but okay. With the fairways so patchy with decent grass and the greens in terrible shape I was very disappointed. One of the guys in my group got injured on the first hole. There was a hole that he stepped in. Totally understand that it might happen. The unfortunate part was the lack of reaction from the staff.

Guess this will be my last round at this course. No wonder the round was so cheap. I will cough up the extra bucks next time!

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Boutetourt Golf & Swim Club on 09/13/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Botetourt Golf & Swim Club, in the Troutville area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fred Hatch

Great course to play. The view is outstanding. The staff very professional and customer focused. I enjoyed the round.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

It was misty to rainy most of the day so course was wet and slow. Thought rough could have been a little shorter but with our current weather pattern I understand it's hard to mow overall had a great day.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course could use some additional mowing towards the out of bounds stakes on certain holes.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Botetourt Golf & Swim Club on 06/25/2018:
Thank you for leaving us a review, and thank you for sharing your concerns. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the conditions, but we hope that you still enjoyed your round here at Botetourt. We are happy to see that you liked the layout of the course, and we appreciate that you find value in playing our course. Thank you again for the feedback, and we hope to see you out here again sometime soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Slow greens

Poor conditions

Half of areas around the tee boxes had grass 2 feet high

Greens were very slow and fuzzy

So was the pace of play

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice Course

This is a nice course and the staff are always friendly. Make sure you keep it in the fairway. They don't mow the fringe areas as much as other courses so its easy to lose a ball if it rolls off the fairway.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

A course with nice mountain scenery.

The course was in pretty good shape except for a few greens they were having a little trouble with - I think due to so much rainfall we've had the last few months. There are a lot of up and downhill shots on this course that make it extra challenging. Play usually moves at a good pace on this course - as long as you keep it in the short grass. The roughs are not that high but do seem to hide a ball pretty well if you're not paying extra attention where it went in at. A fun course to play for all levels.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE