Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.9
68
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.6
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.8
Layout
0
99.1%
Recommend this course
63 out of 68 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.9
68
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
Conditions
5.0
Value
5.0
Layout
4.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 1 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.9
68
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
5.0
Conditions
5.0
Value
5.0
Layout
4.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 1 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6754
Slope 129
Rating 72.8
Type Public
Heatherwoode Golf Club in Springboro boasts some of the most well manicured greens and fairways in southern Ohio. This challenging course, which is the former host of the Nike Tour's Miami Valley Open, is one of Ohio's top 20 golf courses. Denis Griffiths designed the layout. He made the most of the lush, gently rolling landscape and its natural hazards. There is water on over half of the holes in the form of vast lakes and meandering streams. There are also strategically positioned trees looming beside the fairways and greens. The three sets of tees are are diverse enough to accommodate a wide range of skill levels. It is a popular place for tournaments and outings. Heatherwoode G.C. is conveniently located just a short drive from Dayton, Columbus, and Cincinnati.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6754 yards 72.8 129
Blue 71 6470 yards 71.0 125
White 71 6001 yards 68.7 120
Gold 71 5445 yards 67.0 116
Gold (W) 71 5445 yards 72.0 123
Silver (W) 71 4968 yards 69.9 118
Red (W) 71 4113 yards 64.6 107
Scorecard for Heatherwoode
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.2/129 398 433 200 531 420 399 377 168 513 3439 393 546 140 348 421 394 451 181 441 3315 6754
Blue M: 71.0/124 390 419 189 520 396 388 364 161 472 3299 384 523 137 343 395 372 423 169 425 3171 6470
White M: 68.7/120 W: 73.9/126 355 382 170 494 346 357 352 146 461 3063 350 499 110 318 361 351 403 158 388 2938 6001
Gold M: 66.3/116 W: 71.0/119 318 347 156 449 308 347 321 117 410 2773 308 475 110 282 323 335 359 142 338 2672 5445
Silver M: 64.3/112 W: 68.6/114 307 334 127 394 308 286 310 105 398 2569 291 431 78 282 268 256 341 119 333 2399 4968
Red M: 61.7/107 W: 64.0/105 252 249 127 370 245 214 220 105 341 2123 215 365 78 227 257 224 252 119 253 1990 4113
Handicap 12 4 16 2 6 10 14 18 8 13 1 17 11 9 5 3 15 7
Par 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 3 5 36 4 5 3 4 4 4 4 3 4 35 71

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season March 1 - December 31
Architect Denis Griffiths (1991)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Ohio (2016 #10)

Reviews

4.9
68

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
Patio Dining 7
Brunch 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 14
Thick Rough 11
Bunkers 10
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 17
Locals 12
A Weekend Splurge 8
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 14
Convenient to the City 9
In the 'Burbs 7
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great City Course

I play Heatherwoode a couple times a month, and would play it even more if I lived closer. The course is always in great shape, the greens roll true and the fairway’s and rough are very consistent. I enjoy the variety of the holes, requiring everything from a 4 iron to Driver off the tee on the par 4s. Water comes into play on most holes requiring you to think your way around the course. The staff is always friendly and they do a great job of spacing out tee times and their on course rangers ensure groups are maintaining the spot on the course. Overall my favorite public course in the Dayton area.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Very nice

Great practice facilities, beautiful course. Pace of play was a little slow but nothing to complain about
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Professionally maintained ... maybe the finest in southwestern Ohio. Sneaky long ... especially the par 4's ... and makes for some challenging golf.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course but slow

Playing early in the morning I didn't think play would be so slow but over 4.5 hours is tough when everyone has a cart. I love the course though.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

In Great Shape

We've played this course once a year for a number of years and it was in the best shape we've ever seen. All facets of course in great shape and they've added amenities to practice range (chairs, umbrellas, music) to make it a first class warm-up. If you're looking to play around the Dayton area play it! The cigar room is a nice touch too!
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beautiful

I'd play it again. Well taken care of.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beautiful course despite rain

Had some random rain showers during the round but the course was beautiful and challenging. Got a hot deal through golf now which made the price a great deal compared to the other tee times. The staff was friendly and the ranger kept us updated on pace of play.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Played for Cheap, Would Pay More to Play Here Again

Played for cheap through golf now, but this beauty of a course was more worth the $60 to play than most courses I've played locally. I would pay the higher price in a heart beat. The staff was friendly. The course was older but in beautiful shape. Plenty of challenges. Didn't play my best round on the difficult back 9, but the amount of fun I had hear will more than definitely bring me back for more. Thanks Heatherwoode!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Tip top condition

Course was in excellent condition. Pace of play was average. Greens were quick and true.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Rangers did a great job!

First nine was slow as we were behind a threesome that was brutally slow. I called the clubhouse on #17 (we started on #10) to make them aware of the situation and a ranger came out immediately to correct the situation. The ranger also let us skip #1 to get around the slow players and we completed #1 at the end of the round. Nice save by the rangers - w/o their help it would have been a 5 hour round! The staff certainly knows how to run a golf course!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE