A sunset view of a hole at Rapidan Golf Club.
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
126 Reviews (126)
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
11
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.8
Layout
3.8
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.0
69.9%
Recommend this course
98 out of 126 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.2
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.3
Value
4.0
Layout
3.8
Pace
3.8
Amenities
2.4
StaffFriendliness
3.4
60.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.2
12 Reviews (12)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.7
Layout
3.9
Pace
3.9
Amenities
2.6
StaffFriendliness
4.2
66.7%
Recommend this course
8 out of 12 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6500 yards
Slope 138
Rating 72.3

Previously known as Somerset Golf Club and Rapidan Golf Club.

Book a Tee Time at
Somerset Farms Golf Course (formerly Rapidan Golf Course)
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jerry Slack (1997) Rick Robbins (2003)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Restaurant

Reviews

3.3
126 Reviews (126)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 16
Forced Carries 15
Narrow Fairways 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 17
Advanced Golfers 10
Beginners 8
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 10
In the 'Burbs 8
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Making a come back

Overall the course is in good condition. I feel the management co is trying to make the course better.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Used cart

Employee in clubhouse refused to wear a mask when asked

Mike, working at the front desk, refused to wear a mask when asked. We reminded him that the governor mandated masks, but he refused to wear one, saying we could wear one, but he would not. He then said he did not want to discuss it, any further. After some time, he refunded our money and we left.

Friendliness Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Great Track!

The golf course was a lot of fun! Greens were in great shape, much better than other courses in the area. The staff is always very friendly and personable. The food was fresh and fast. Great people and a great family atmosphere at Rapidan.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

DO NOT PLAY HERE!!!

ABSOLUTE WORST TRACK IN VIRGINIA - BY FAR! THE PEOPLE AREN'T MUCH BETTER! RUDE, TONE DEAF, ETC.... GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 05/03/2020

Thanks for your review. We have been closed wince April 20th to keep our staff and players save from COVID-19, so we know this is not a legitimate review.

I'm also curious as to why you would leave a review Mr. Jones. Let's look at the situation that occurred:

You were caught playing golf on the course while it was closed, and became upset that we asked you to leave. You then threatened our associate, asking him to come over and see you at your house.

While you may live adjacent to the golf course, the property is PRIVATE. It does not give you the right to play any time you want (including with your walk cart you keep on your back patio).

Please stay off of Rapidan Golf Club's property.

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

still open and playable

The course has 2 holes closed till the spring, so you most play 2 hole over again. This is not a problem since its winter and not busy.....course still needs work but for the right price its OK...

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 03/05/2020

Hi limagolf3. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Rapidan Golf Club. We hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Winter Conditions Excellent

Played while in town for Christmas with my family. Usually greens in the winter are rough and tumble, but these greens were rolling very fast and smooth. You can tell they are doing a lot of maintenance to the golf course, including the greens. My brother plays here all the time and says the improvements over the past year have been incredible. It is his favorite course to play in the area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Getting Better

Played this course last during the winter. The course has improved vastly over the past 2 years. Quite remarkable what they have been able to do with what is obviously a very small budget.

Putting green was under construction, and no driving range hurts them.

Staff is always incredibly friendly.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Challenging coarse

Rapidan is a challenging course for an average golfer definitely worth the money and play of pace is great
Cons
Had 2 holes out of commission but played other holes to make up for the 18
I’m an advanced golfer and play average 3xs a week this course is now my home course with 4 others that are 25-30 mins away from me this is definitely worth it to play a round.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Constantly getting better.

I have started to play this course pretty regularly now that the conditions have vastly improved. Greens are great, tee areas are getting better. The staff is the friendliest staff around, by a mile. They have two holes closed until next year but they allow you to play other holes again to make up for it.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Closed hole, slow greens

Greens are/were super slow. Could tell the greens were lost, didn’t seemed to have been mowed in quite sometime. Roots were really shallow. Then hole 17 is closed with zero notice from the staff. Paid full price to only get 17 holes. I like the layout just think they could’ve given some $$ off for the conditions.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 10/23/2019

Roots we’re really shallow? Did you tear up some of the green to check that? This is quite w review.

Default User Image
Commented on 09/10/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Rapidan Golf Club. We hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Always Improving

We played this coarse on Labor Day Weekend. It was in decent shape. The kid at the counter said the greens were aerated a few days ago, and they were in good shape. We love the coarse and will always come back. Looking forward to seeing the coarse once they get everything into great shape.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Terrible

This was the worst course I have ever played on. Every green was patchy. The tee boxes grass was high. I don't have enough time to write everything that was wrong with this course but I will never play here again!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 09/04/2019

Hello davidrobinsd. Thanks for the review. We see you rated the course 1-star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single star feedback very serious at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Rapidan Golf Club.

Default User Image
Commented on 09/03/2019

Our apologies that you didn't enjoy your round. I have to ask, how did you miss the plethora of signs around the Pro Shop and course explaining that the greens were just aerated 6 days ago, would be very slow and bumpy, and were undergoing slight renovations to bring them back to their originally planned sizes? The tees are unfortunately a mess right now. It is our major fall project, to renovate them and get them back into shape. Finishing rehabbing the bunkers is also high on our priority list.

Next time you play please feel free to ask questions about whats going on around the course. Everything that we are currently working on is also posted on signage all around the property.

Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Challenging but fun

This coarse is challenging and fun definitely recommend playing it.
Greens and tee boxes have improved so much from a month ago. Can’t. Wait till next week so I can play it again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Challenging coarse

With the few greens and tee boxes burned up due to lack of water
This coarse is very challenging and fun to play definitely recommend playing it

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great day!

I am just a beginner but this course has a lot of fun. It has become one of my favorite courses not too busy and different scenery all around

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rapidan Golf

Fun Time With Friends, No Rush and Wasn’t Pushed to Play. Great Price on GolfNow!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Learning Course

I’m really a first year golfer @ 71yrs. I played on a Monday & had the course to myself. It’s great to be able to take all the time you need without the pressure of feeling you are holding up play.
The course is nice for my level of play & the staff is very friendly & willing to help. I will go again for sure. I shot a 101. Almost broke that 100!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Enjoy playing here

My recommendation would be to place signs showing distance from tee box to hazards or waste areas or the carry needed. Hole number 8 especially, but also on 2,10, and 12.
I believe this would speed up play and make it more joyable.
Not everyone has electronics to show hazards, etc.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Nearby Courses
Locust Grove, Virginia
Public
3.7462470588
125
Locust Grove, Virginia
Public
3.7462470588
125
Locust Grove, Virginia
Public
3.7462470588
125
Locust Grove, Virginia
Private
4.0389058824
91
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Private
4.0
1
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Public
3.8905411765
243
Culpeper, Virginia
Private
5.0
1
Stafford, Virginia
Semi-Private
3.5200764706
415
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Semi-Private
3.8354294118
123
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Private
0.0
0
Warrenton, Virginia
Private
0.0
0
Woodberry Forest, Virginia
Private
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $119
Valid dates: Sep 01, 2020 - Feb 28, 2021
The Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort is proud to partner with MGM Resorts to provide you with an incredible Las Vegas trip.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE