A sunset view of a hole at Rapidan Golf Club.
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
143 Reviews (143)
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
12
Conditions
3.3
Value
4.1
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.4
81.3%
Recommend this course
114 out of 143 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
19 Reviews (19)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.3
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.2
89.5%
Recommend this course
17 out of 19 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
25 Reviews (25)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.2
Layout
4.0
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.2
88.0%
Recommend this course
22 out of 25 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6500 yards
Slope 138
Rating 72.3

Previously known as Somerset Golf Club and Rapidan Golf Club.

Book a Tee Time at
Somerset Farms Golf Course (formerly Rapidan Golf Course)
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jerry Slack (1997) Rick Robbins (2003)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Gentlemen: Shirts MUST have a collar. NO jeans, cutoffs or camouflage. Ladies: NO short shorts. Appropriate golf shirt/blouse

Food & Beverage

Bar, Restaurant

Reviews

3.6
143 Reviews (143)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 16
Forced Carries 15
Narrow Fairways 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 17
Advanced Golfers 10
Beginners 8
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 10
In the 'Burbs 8
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Getting Better

Things are improving at the course. Its great that its open and with time it could be a fun course to play.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

M Cullen

Great course was a beautiful day today course was fantastic

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Recommend changing course layout

This is a decent course but I am not a fan of the layout particularly holes 3 - 6.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 21
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice course

Course is improving every time I’ve played. Greens a good, but fast.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good day at Somerset Farms

Very nice round, though pin placement on 9th hole was on the hillside of the green - unless you holed your putt, there was no shelf for the putt to stay on, it would roll all the way back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Dad and Asher

Took my 6 year old for his first experience on a golf course. The condition of the course is much improved over the previous year. I have always loved the layout and I am glad to see the improvements!

Thanks again!

Mark

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Fun Course, Good Value

Fun course that's in pretty good shape, given how late it is in the season (late October). There are a bunch of short Par 4s that provide good scoring opportunities if you can keep it in play. Very reachable Par 5 (#8) that'd probably be a Par 4 if it weren't for three crossing creeks splitting thing up. Greens are small-ish but in good shape.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Looking good

Obviously lots of work going on. Looks great , staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Decent tract

Foursome I played with played from senior tees. Very short, several lay-up holes. Greens tough to hold but fair. Greens also recently sanded and quicker than last time I played.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Poor golf course described as great

This course was anything but good. Me & two friends went to play this course on a beautiful Saturday morning. The course conditions were very poor with the greens conditions laughable. We were told by the course ranger that the course had just been redone and the group involved in the renovation were really trying to create something nice. It was very clear that the renovators just wanted to put a course together with no pride in their work. Fairways were not cut well & the greens had dead spots all over. Not only was the course in terrible shape the course staff was very very rude. We paid for 18 holes but because they had a kids clinic going on we were only able to play 9 holes with no refund. We were told our $40 round was only for 9 holes when online it clearly said 18 holes. It was a slap in the face after playing in such poor course conditions. I would not advise a single person to play here’s unless the price is around $20 for 18 holes. With The course conditions and the staff I would rate this course a .5 star if I could.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Making a come back

Overall the course is in good condition. I feel the management co is trying to make the course better.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Used cart

Employee in clubhouse refused to wear a mask when asked

Mike, working at the front desk, refused to wear a mask when asked. We reminded him that the governor mandated masks, but he refused to wear one, saying we could wear one, but he would not. He then said he did not want to discuss it, any further. After some time, he refunded our money and we left.

Friendliness Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Great Track!

The golf course was a lot of fun! Greens were in great shape, much better than other courses in the area. The staff is always very friendly and personable. The food was fresh and fast. Great people and a great family atmosphere at Rapidan.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

DO NOT PLAY HERE!!!

ABSOLUTE WORST TRACK IN VIRGINIA - BY FAR! THE PEOPLE AREN'T MUCH BETTER! RUDE, TONE DEAF, ETC.... GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 05/03/2020

Thanks for your review. We have been closed wince April 20th to keep our staff and players save from COVID-19, so we know this is not a legitimate review.

I'm also curious as to why you would leave a review Mr. Jones. Let's look at the situation that occurred:

You were caught playing golf on the course while it was closed, and became upset that we asked you to leave. You then threatened our associate, asking him to come over and see you at your house.

While you may live adjacent to the golf course, the property is PRIVATE. It does not give you the right to play any time you want (including with your walk cart you keep on your back patio).

Please stay off of Rapidan Golf Club's property.

Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

still open and playable

The course has 2 holes closed till the spring, so you most play 2 hole over again. This is not a problem since its winter and not busy.....course still needs work but for the right price its OK...

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 03/05/2020

Hi limagolf3. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Rapidan Golf Club. We hope to see you again in the future.

Nearby Courses
Locust Grove, Virginia
Public
3.6172882353
125
Locust Grove, Virginia
Public
3.6172882353
125
Locust Grove, Virginia
Public
3.6172882353
125
Locust Grove, Virginia
Private
3.9393058824
92
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Private
4.0
1
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Public
3.9004705882
253
Culpeper, Virginia
Private
5.0
1
Stafford, Virginia
Semi-Private
3.4650764706
424
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Semi-Private
3.8321588235
132
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Private
0.0
0
Warrenton, Virginia
Private
0.0
0
Woodberry Forest, Virginia
Private
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE