Lake/Road at Hollows Golf Club, The

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
180
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
40
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.3
Value
4.0
Layout
3.8
Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.5
80.1%
Recommend this course
153 out of 176 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.3
28
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.7
Layout
3.9
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
3.9
67.9%
Recommend this course
19 out of 28 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.4
43
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.9
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.0
72.1%
Recommend this course
31 out of 43 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 70
Length 5966
Slope 112
Rating 68.0
Type Semi-Private
Hollows Golf Club is situated in historic Hanover County, birthplace of Patrick Henry. The club boasts 27 holes of championship golf that are considered the best value in the area since the greens fess are good for the whole day, allowing you to try every hole if you wanted to. The holes are divided into three nines: Cottage, Lake, and Road, that are played in three different 18-hole combinations. The unique layouts of all three offer enough variety to appeal to players of all skill levels. The Lake/Road combination naturally features plenty of water on the front nine. The Lake nine is routed around a large lake as well as a few small ponds. The back nine, Road, is the longest of the three nines, but only by about 100 yards. There is no water but there are some tricky doglegs and strategically placed bunkers.
Book a Tee Time at
The Hollows Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 5966 yards 68.0 112
White 70 5661 yards 66.6 109
Gold 70 4999 yards 63.7 104
Red (W) 70 4715 yards 66.2 106
Scorecard for Road/Lake
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Blue M: 66.8/116 374 393 187 424 357 143 275 380 520 3053 5966
White M: 65.0/113 365 356 150 412 331 127 264 370 507 2882 5661
Gold M: 62.4/104 W: 67.6/115 332 345 116 377 291 99 242 295 435 2532 4999
Red M: 61.3/101 W: 64.7/109 282 300 106 368 281 89 229 285 425 2365 4715
Handicap 6 4 10 2 8 12 18 14 16
Par 4 4 3 4 4 3 4 4 5 35 70

Course Details

Year Built 1984
Fairways Bermuda
Greens Bent
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.6
180

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 15
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 24
Bunkers 20
Elevation Changes 12
This course/club is great for:
Locals 29
Seniors 22
Playing Multiple Courses 21
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 21
Convenient to the City 12
In the 'Burbs 9
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

What Hurricane

Course was wet of course after a few inches of rain but Cottage was mostly still 90 degree with the cart. Greens in good shape and true , but as more rain fell it got a bit tricky.Always a fast round here and able to practice some shots .

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course

We had a great weather day. The course is in pretty good shape. Some greens had a few rough spots but they were all very playable. Tees some good some not so good. They were very thin on grass. Fairways were very nice. Overall the layout is fair and forgiving. Not real long from the white tees with lots of 300-350 yard par 4's. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will return.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great Day as usual

Love that I can play quickly. Sometimes run into some slow players but they will let you play through or you can play out in front.

Greens were wet from all the rain plus watering, so soft landing.

Staff and other players are always friendly!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Strange

The course had red pin flags in back of of greens and blue ping flags in the front of the greens. (Supposed to be the opposite.) From a distance you can not tell so go with flag color. A number of tee boxes completely closed for re-turfing so only Gold tee boxes available. (Why not close 1/2 of each box at one time??) A par 4 under repair was turned into a par 3 indicated by notices printed on regular paper and weathered. The tee box was a golf range matt, not an actual substitute tee off area. Wish it was just a well managed course with no surprises.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to review us and leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions and confusing because of the flag colors. We will keep working hard to keep the course in shape, and we hope you will be able to have a better experience the next time you are with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

MUGGY

Muggy day, but most of the course was in good shape, even with the HOT summer so far here. Not very crowded, which adds to the enjoyment.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice layout, tuff shape

Nice course, but greens and tees are beaten up. Fun layout, quick pace of play. Worth the money (I paid $21).

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 07/11/2018:
Thank you for coming out to The Hollows and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with some of the tees and greens, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the course. Thanks again for coming out and leaving us a review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Okay as long as it stays cheap.

Conditions were hit or miss. Some tee boxes were actually bare dirt with a little crab grass. Most of the greens were in good shape. Play on the front 9 was too slow and we never saw a ranger. The back 9 was deserted and we were able to salvage a sub 5-hour round with quick play. Would play again as long as the price is cheap. Full price would not be a good value with current conditions and pace of play.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 07/11/2018:
Thank you for leaving us here at The Hollows Golf Club with a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions and pace of play when you played with us. Our staff will keep working hard so that you will be able to see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Who cuts the grass?

First of all we showed up never played here before. Went inside paid our money and nobody directed us anywhere. We had to figure out where to go and what courses we were playing as they had three. Once we got on the correct course finally we quickly realized the course was not maintained very well. Fairways were y’all and rough was even taller. Greens were in excellent shape but everywhere else looked like grass you would find in somebody’s back yard. It’s a shame when you know exactly where your ball landed and you still must search for 5 minutes to find out. Course layout is excellent just wish the grounds crew kept the place nice.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 07/06/2018:
Thank you for coming out to The Hollows and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your poor customer experience with us recently. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize because we missed our mark. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the condition of the course, but we are happy to hear that you liked the layout. Our staff will keep working hard so that you will be able to see improvements the next time you are with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth It

First time playing this course. Very tight and if you get your ball in play, you can score well. Greens were rolling very well considering other courses in the area didn’t have as good of luck with the rough winter. I will be back. Pro-shop guy took the time to explain the course layout and he moved me around where I didn’t have to wait on a single hole even though there were league players playing. Overall good experience!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Montpelier, Virginia
3.5698882353
180
Montpelier, Virginia
3.5698882353
180
Glen Allen, Virginia
4.9740285714
12
Ashland, Virginia
4.3663058824
14

Stay & Play Offers

$174 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 17, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018
Staying at Orange Lake Resort and teeing off on any of our four unique golf courses has never been easier.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE