Cottage/Road at Hollows Golf Club, The

3.6608588235 3.7 stars from 5 (168)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 5969 yards
  • Slope: 112
  • Rating: 67.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 5969 yards 67.9 112
White 70 5631 yards 66.4 109
Gold 70 4952 yards 63.3 103
Red (W) 70 4642 yards 65.5 107

Located in Montpelier, Hollows Golf Club has a 27-hole layout that is considered one of the best values in the area. The holes are divided into three nines that provide three different 18-hole combinations. The Cottage, Lake, and Road nines come with enough variety to offer something for players of all skill levels from low handicappers to more experienced players. The green fees are applicable the whole day, which allows golfers to play all three courses if they have the time and the inclination. The Cottage/Road combination only has water on one hole, but it is a memorable one. The hole is Cottage's par 3 third, which is the golf course's signature. There is not only a formidable pond along the right but also an 8-foot bunker on the left. In addition to the golf courses, the Hollows also has an all-grass driving range and putting green.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 168 Reviews
5 stars:
36
4 stars:
79
3 stars:
37
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

145 out of 164 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors playing multiple courses   Challenges include water hazards bunkers elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Mud bogging"


Speedblade54's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well with record setting rains in May it’s to be expected. This course doesn’t drain well but overall course good condition. Greens were consistent most fairways that weren’t underwater good. One complaint was tee boxes. Sorry I like a grassy tee,something I can step onto with little cushion and good footing. Here the tees are dirt with little grass spots here and there. Constantly moving to find good footing and launch position. For those that haven’t played here it’s a three course layout. Road easy open to me the less appeallling . Cottage little shorter tighter but more interesting. Like the tee box they set up here on 2 nd hole. Was a short wedge 9 iron across little pond but awhile back they placed tee across the path to give you about 190-200 and makes for a good challenge . Lake course probably there signature 9. Really not that much water comes into play but second hole here has water all up the left side and then have little ditch runs through fairway not far from green. It’s a short par 4 and the ditch is reachable so use a hybrid or long iron to set up short iron onto tough green . Very small driving range and really only good for mid irons and wedge warm up . Has good comfortable rural feel and is easy course .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable day at The Hollows!"


golfisgreat1234's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This was my first time playing The Hollows. The greens were in GREAT shape,. The tee boxes and some of the fairways were a little stressed from the rough winter climate that has caused some "Winterkill" on Bermuda grass, but I believe the condition of the greens made up for it. The bloody Mary from Knickers was great and the service was very good. If you're in the Richmond area and looking for a run golf course and relaxed atmosphere, add The Hollows to your agenda.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"A Fun Golf Course"


ngotarheels's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was very friendly, informative and professional. The greens were in good shape and it was a fun course to play. I was visiting the area and if I'm in the area again I'd certainly like to play this course again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Proper maintenance needed - Pride?"


crt928's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Heavy rain the week prior to playing, watched it rain 2-4" the day before there. Course probably should have been closed. Sand traps with some water is acceptable, traps with enough water a person could drown is not acceptable. Late afternoon on Lake #7, a par 5, 2nd shot went in sandtrap left of green. Walked up to find a nearly the entire trap was water filled. Standing brown water that was 12-18 -24” deep on side closest in pictures – could not see my Callaway yellow soccer ball! I was so frustrated that I took pics of it and showed staff upon return. They acted like BAU. It should have been marked so golfers could have tried to avoid, marked Danger as it was a literal drowning risk. That amount of water didn't happen overnight. Clearly the trap's drain needs repair. That is the one thing about the Hollows – they don’t strive for excellence though it’s not that far away to reach and it's sad to see.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 06/01/2018:

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, however, we are sorry to hear your recent experience with us may not have met your expectations. Please know our staff is working diligently to improve course conditions as we are still in the process of recovering from the harsh winter and heavy rain that took its toll in the area. We are actively working to improve drainage in the bunkers, but we truly appreciate your patience and understanding during this time. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved golf experience soon.<br/>

Commented on 06/07/2018

Why do you need a sign to avoid a bunker? Shouldn't you always try to avoid them?


"Overpriced for the experience"


Eli2128045's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Condition of the course just wasn’t very good at all. Lost 5 balls in the “rough” just out of the fairway because it was just overgrown weeds and clover, the ball would just disappear. Fairway grass wasn’t in great shape. Greens were slow and shaggy., couldn’t get a putt to the hole. Could play other courses in much better shape with more memorable layouts for the same price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 05/30/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at The Hollows Golf Club. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the golf experience that you deserve.

"Not ready for play,"


u706273814's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Following a torrential amount of rain in a few days , the whole richmond area experienced unprecedented course conditions, this course does not have the work force to get the entire course in playing condition that quickly after a storm. More logical management and maintenance teams would see the obvious unplayable conditions of the entire course and would remain closed. At the very least if you choose to remain open you should not attempt to disguise treacherous conditions with a full price tag and no indication of playing conditions to customers. As many understand one should play at their own risk including in the results of poor weather but there is minimum standards one should expect in an open golf course, one of which is not losing balls in the fairway. Plugging was less of an issue than the sheer length of unmaintained grass. Again it bears repeating if you don’t have the time or ability to get a course back into playing condition, or if the general condition of the grounds does not allow you to attempt to maintain it, than you should not be open.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 05/24/2018:

Hello, on behalf of The Hollows Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.<br/>

"Rustic would be kind"


docjab's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course utilizes 3 9-hole options.I played “Cottage” and “Lake”. The course was hit hard by recent rain storms, “Cottage” more so than “Lake”. Even with this in mind, on “Cottage”, the teeboxes were in terrible condition as were the fairways. The rough was 4-6 in deep with areas of overgrown clover and weeds. There were multiple areas with no grass whatsoever. The greens were ok but the bunkers were flooded, washed away, and unplayable. There was still a lot of debris, presumably from the storms. On “Lake”, which was in a little better shape, the greens were recently aerated, but there was no prior notification of this. On both courses the grass and weeds were uncut and unkempt. I was very disappointed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 05/24/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, The Hollows Golf Club, in the Montpelier, Virginia area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.<br/>

"love the hollows"


jonnybear77's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

27 holes....giant bloody marys.....bring your fishin pole! they are jumpin again! best place for golfishin anywhere....love this down home feel course!f


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens almost there"


WykaglBermingham's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golfers and Staff always friendly. Greens still a bit bumpy due to aeration, especially the Lake 9 . Should be good in another week after all the rain . Front nine was fast pace of play on Road 9 but back nine on Lake stuck behind four guys wandering all over the place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 05/21/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for the 3 stars. We are happy to see that you had a friendly interaction with our staff. We are sorry to hear the conditions may not have met your expectations, but we still hope you enjoyed your round and we hope to see you back soon!

""Very Nice Experience""


Joey53's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played here numerous times in the past. "Once again" the experience was excellent in all areas. Course well maintained, all greens in good shape, a fair price to play, and very friendly staff. We (my wife and I) stayed and ate lunch - the meals were excellent, excellent prices, and nice friendly staff. At the price to play, the experience, and how well maintained (acres and acres of grass, well cut, and cleanliness of the property) I would highly recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"A beautiful day."


rcgary55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a really great round of golf with my son. Beautiful day, not rushed, and both of us played well. Looking forward to doing it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Early season conditions"


corgijim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff friendly and arrive early to get a comp range basket. Like the course layout and there are 3 nines for variety. Even so, the greens were all “holed” so no smooth putting anywhere. The sand traps were mostly hard packed and could chip out using a pitching wedge. I hope the greens heal from the season prep but suspect it will be 2-3 weeks. Also hope they bring in some fresh sand and soften up those traps. I’d wait until later in May to return.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 04/27/2018:

Hello, on behalf of The Hollows Golf Club staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.


shalom56's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Not even worth the discounted rate"


u992811019's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Couldn't find anything good about the course. Paid for 18 and left after 9.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Hollows Golf Club on 04/20/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Hollows Golf Club, in the Montpelier area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Cost"


u818691938's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great value. Be careful as the coast charges atbthe course was more than what the email stated.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 04/10/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, The Hollows Golf Club, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a friendly experience with our staff and that your round was a great value for you, so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for your choosing our course, in the Montpelier, Virginia area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


u000007645112's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not too impressed with the Cottage course. Lots of Poi annum growing and the bermuda is not yet ready to green up. So lies are not good and the look of the course is pretty bad now.

Lake course had no to little poi and it was lovely. Much better track. I will go back to play the Road course and the Lake.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great fun, even in windy conditions!"


lccrossgaze's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Hollows greens were receptive yet rolled at a great brisk pace. The green designs are also varied, providing a new challenge at each hole. The course conditions were excellent for winter, and the staff was friendly and welcoming.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



Jerry5373335's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Lake/Cottage at Hollows Golf Club on 02/23/2018:

Thanks for visiting us here at Hollows Golf Club and submitting a review. We appreciate your feedback. We're glad to see that you enjoyed the course as well as the off-course extras. Thanks again for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon.

"Disappointed"


vanhosel01's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

There was way to much rainwater on the course. I'm a 69 year old senior, and I have to travel close to 30 miles to play at The "Hollows". The greens were pretty good but the rough and part of many of the fairways, were practically unplayable. I was advised before the round, that 3 of the 18 holes that I would be playing(Cottage and Road), would be cart-path only, do to the wet and muddy conditions. My shoes and parts of my clothing, were muddy, by the time we were done.I think it was very unfair to be charged full price, under conditions that perhaps should have precluded playing golf at all. I realise that you have many returning players there, but, my group is not keen on returning to play on an unfit course. especially where I am not even offered any accommodation for the inconvenience.

Arr DeVita


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Hollows Golf Club on 03/01/2018:

Hello Arr. Thanks for visiting The Hollows Golf Club and writing a review. We are very disappointed to hear that you were unable to enjoy your round due to residual weather conditions. We want all of our guests to have a memorable time out on the course, and we are so disappointed that your visit did not meet our usual standards. Please give us the opportunity to change your mind about our course.

"Winter rules"


Speedblade54's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here because not a very difficult course, not real long and knew was going to be wet . Yep it is wet wet wet. Almost got stuck couple times on the cart path . While waiting for group ahead to clear 8 th tee , yes 70 degrees so crowded , group behind approaching 7 th green had played approach shot wide right and came over and asked did you hear where my ball splashed . Course not in bad shape considering the weather. Greens slow to be expected but consistent. Most , sorry to say not all, the golfers were keeping carts on path only. These conditions we all must expect to be playing cart path only and respect the property so that others aren’t dropping out of the ruts you’ve caused. Pace was good , played 18 holes got a beer st Knickers all in right at 4 hours .


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Lake/Cottage at Hollows Golf Club on 02/20/2018:

Hey, thanks so much for writing this wonderful review. We truly appreciate your feedback, and we hope that you had an enjoyable round despite the residual weather conditions. Thanks so much for caring for our course as we do. We hope that you will visit us again soon. We appreciate your business.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed