The Links at Victoria Golf Course

2.4938470588 2.5 stars from 5 (184)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6804 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 71.8
  • Layout

  • 340 E 192nd St, Carson, California 90746, Los Angeles County
  • (310) 323-4174
  • (310) 323-5476
  • www.linksatvictoria.com
Write Review

Year built: 1966
Architect(s): William F. Bell (1966)
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6804 yards 71.8 123
White (W) 72 6360 yards 76.8 134
White 72 6360 yards 69.8 117
Gold 72 5804 yards 67.0 114
Gold (W) 72 5804 yards 73.4 126
Red (W) 72 4916 yards 68.4 115

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.8 stars from 5
Value: 2.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 1.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 184 Reviews
5 stars:
6
4 stars:
29
3 stars:
59
2 stars:
43
1 stars:
47

recommend this course

85 out of 184 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport   Great for locals walkers beginners   Challenges include bunkers plays long forced carries   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

gabraham's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 06/11/2018:

We hope you enjoyed your round, and we hope you give us another shot soon.

"Will never play there again"


jose2294819's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Worst golf course I ever played no fairways grass all dirt


Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 06/01/2018:

We want you to know we have plans to put down new turfgrass. In the meantime, we hope you enjoy the practice facilities.

"Closing Down - Don't Play"


Sam4096315's avatar
Age:  25-34

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

The course is closing and they hawk you to sign a petition to keep it open. It is in terrible shape. Probably worst course I have played in SoCal. Avoid.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 05/15/2018:

The golf course is open for play as well as the newly remodeled driving range. There are no immediate plans to close the golf course. We encourage your return!

Commented on 05/15/2018

Do not listen to the Golf Now response. I can attest to it as well as any golfer that has been to this course recently. There are people at a table approaching everyone to come sign the petition to not close the course. Go see for yourself if you really do not believe me. I just do not want anyone else to waste $50 like I did.


"Fairways Have Gone From Bad to Terrible!"


Fredwallace's avatar
Age:  55-64

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Being retired, I play golf twice a week and have played Victoria every 2 or 3 months for the past 3 years. Unfortunately, yesterday will be the last time I play this course until we have very substantial Southern California rain as the course is now dried out and the fairways have deteriorated to a point that it is no longer enjoyable, or even playable (frankly). And, at a price of $43 to play Mon-Fri, there are far superior options to play. (By the way, they used to offer a $37 special which included a hot dog, however have discontinued this deal.).

They recently opened a new driving range which has terrific grass. My question is, why can’t they do this on their fairways that need the most help? Until they do, Victoria is now “off my list” of playable courses.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/30/2018:

We are sorry to learn you had a negative experience with us. We want you to know we have plans to put down new turfgrass, however, there are infrastructure issues under the surface with drainage and irrigation to overcome. In the meantime, we hope you enjoy the practice facilities.

"Links at Victoria"


u000007672241's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was very well layed out. The pace was very quick. My biggest problem with this course was how “patchy” it was. There were large pockets on and off the fairways in which there was no grass at all. Played several shots from the fairway off of dirt. Very poor grass quality here. I would not recommend playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

We are sorry to learn the current status of the fairways might deter you from coming again soon. Please know new developments for the turfgrass growth are underway, and it is all to improve the golfing experience in the long run. We hope you give us another shot soon.

"Last Time"


u881027301's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I heard that it was redone... looked like the same ole course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

Yes, we have new turfgrass underway and it needs time to grow and recover. In the meantime, we hope you enjoy the greens, the practice facility, and a beer at the Victory Cafe!

"Is what it is"


Jedbell1's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Are the fairways in bad shape? Yes. But I think that may be because it sits on top of an old landfill. The greens are pretty much immaculate though. The bottom line is; you get what you pay for. I paid $30 for green fees and cart fees. Played at 2pm and knocked out 18 in 3 hours, and I'd do it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

We're glad you had a good round overall and plan to come play again soon. We expect to see great improvements in the fairways in the long run with the new turfgrass and improvements to drainage & irrigation.

"Bad shape"


DRC2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in bad shape, my fairway drives were all in dirt. Nice drive range,that’s about it for this course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

Better turfgrass on the fairways is ahead! In the interim the greens are good, the pace of play is great, the beer is cold and the new practice facility is excellent!

"So-so course"


hankahn's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played after rainfalls. The drainage was the not good and course layout was so and so even with Annie's contribution to the course. As the course is close to highways, you gotta be numb to noise coming from speedy traffic on highways. If you want walking, it's good.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

We do have some infrastructure issues under the surface with drainage and irrigation, but we are working to fix this. However, our course has always been known for its excellent layout and true rolling greens. We appreciate your patience and hope to see you out there again.

"Good greens, bad fairways"


u1707582's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are good but fairways are disasterous. There is barely any grass on fairways and they are full of dry, hard patches. They have been this way for a very long time and course staff should really consider redoing fairways and cutting all the nasty bushes all around the course.

Otherwise the layout is great and it could be one of the best courses around.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

We are in the process of getting new turfgrass, but it is not as quick as hope due to infrastructure issues under the surface with drainage and irrigation. However, with plans in place with new specialized equipment and capital funds to improve drainage, better turfgrass growth on fairways is ahead

"Good Course Bad Fairways"


djschwed's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Wide open for my driver and the greens are ok. But the fairways are mostly dirt and mud. Way too much mud and not enough grass. Did I mention the mud?

They just put in a very nice driving range. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The small cafe is good. I like the putting green and the chipping area. But the fairways are mostly dirt and mud. I think every hole.

I prefer going most anywhere else, but golf here when invited.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us overall despite the presence of mud. We have plans in place for new specialized equipment and capital funds to improve drainage. We hope to see you out there again soon.


brianeileen's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 04/18/2018:

We are sorry to learn your experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you give us another shot soon.

"Vender truck"


autoglass007's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
Previously played Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I never see vender truck on the course , if there is. Grill has little bit of menus to order.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 02/27/2018:

We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve our facilities for you. We hope you'll give the Victory Cafe another shot on your next visit!

"Fairway conditions should not be allowed"


u225938536's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have never played a course that was missing so much grass in the fairway with dirt.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Lots of Dirt where the fairway should be"


u000004287669's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had never played this course before but for $35 on a Friday morning didn’t seem like too bad of a bet. Unfortunately I learned very quickly that there is not one fairway on that course that does not have big patches of hard dirt. Surprisingly the greens were in very good shape and had enough undulation to make putting a serious challenge. It’s a shame the rest of the course isn’t taken care of as well as the greens. I would recommend taking the money you spend here and put it towards the green fee of another course that actually has green grass.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Fix fairways!"


slckcat43's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If the fairways were nice they could charge $20 more. Greens were nice. Pace average to slow


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Don’t waste your money here"


billyzwick's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in terrible condition. Most of the fairway is dead grass or simply dirt. 2/5 of the course is too dry, 2/5 of the course is over watered/standing water type conditions, 1/5 of the course is in average condition.

Took 3 hours to play 9 holes for an 11:15 yee time.

Quit after 9 due to pace of play and terrible course conditions.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Slow play"


trinoinlb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played solo and ended up playing with five different players, due to the slow pace. Guys were dropping off and calling it quits.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 05/01/2018:

We understand the pace of play is key to your game so we are taking steps to improve this. In the future, we would appreciate no groups more than 4 players in order to keep the pace.

"Fairways have seen better days"


u251312750's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout is great and the lengths are wonderfull. The fairways need some significant work with many areas muddy or lacking grass completely. Its frustrating to hit from mud after a great tee shot. Greens are in great condition and run well. Bunkers need some attention but okay overall.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 05/01/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the course layout. We hope you join us soon to see the improvements we have made.

"This course is good but needs maintenance"


Dante4407959's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is my second visit & was disappointed. The fairways have so many dirt spots. We had to move our ball on certain occasions because the dirt was so hard & could damage our club. There was an incident where after the ball hit the ground & moving forward it hit something hard and the ball ricocheted to the left, not cool. My balls had scratches on it.

I just hope they would maintain the golf course. I like the wide & friendly golf layout. The staff were super nice.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Links at Victoria on 12/19/2017:

We appreciate your feedback, and we will be sure to look into the concerns you raised. We hope you give us another shot soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed