Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.9
55
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
7
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.4
Conditions
2.4
Value
3.8
Layout
0
68.5%
Recommend this course
42 out of 55 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.9
55
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
5.0
Pace
4.0
Conditions
2.0
Value
4.0
Layout
3.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 1 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
2.9
55
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.8
Layout
3.8
66.7%
Recommend this course
4 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 35
Length 2800
Slope 122
Rating 34.2
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Aquia Harbour Golf & Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 35 2800 yards 34.2 122
White 35 2586 yards 33.4 119
Red (W) 35 2213 yards 33.9 114
Scorecard for Aquia Harbour Golf & Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Blue M: 68.4/122 271 449 190 434 374 406 155 363 158 2800 5797
White M: 66.9/119 265 384 182 422 360 389 135 360 89 2586 5464
Red W: 67.9/114 259 349 170 334 301 304 125 282 89 2213 4610
Handicap 18 8 12 10 4 2 16 6 14
Par 4 5 3 5 4 4 3 4 3 35 71
Handicap (W) 12 6 14 8 4 2 18 10 16

Course Details

Year Built 1960
Fairways Rye Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Bob Lohmann

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "Aquia Harbor Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

2.9
55

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 3
19th Hole Scenic Views 2
Brunch 2
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 7
Bunkers 3
Forced Carries 2
This course/club is great for:
9-Hole Rounds 9
Beginners 9
Locals 8
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 8
Near Local Attractions 2
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On 03/18/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great value...but that's about it.

I had fun playing here. My daughter came with me, her first round ever. This course is WEIRD. 9 hole course with some holes having separate tees for first and second nine. The course has high risks with low rewards to show for it. Many holes call for a driver due to length, but have blind narrow landing areas. Greens have HUGE drop-offs around sides that, when hit, are sending your ball inevitably to hazards or OB. Almost every green has a drop-off like this, at least one. The first and last hole are almost indescribable. First one is 245 yard par 4 where tees and green are level, but there is a 75-foot chasm in between. It runs parallel to the driving range, the mats are like 50 feet from right-most mat. Needless to say, the hole is literally COVERED with range balls, with some incoming if you can't make the carry and end up in the chasm. The 9th (18th) hole is either a par 3 or par 5 depending on what hole you are on. The par three is a 100 yard shot straight up about a 75 to 100 foot terraced hill to a tiny green. The par 5 is a blind tee shot that lands on a downhill slope. You then have to hit up the 75 foot hill while on a 10* downslope. Interesting.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On 10/21/2017
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Aquia Harbor Course

I really enjoyed playing this course. Did not have a lot of pressure from people playing behind us. Most were very courteous. Many holes were challenging especially number 9 very steep hill to the green. Would definitely go back here again. Staff was great.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On 09/29/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Very friendly staff. I had a great time playing with the locals. I recommend this course for any golfer.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 09/21/2017
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not ready yet

Putting greens are in terrible condition. Really not worth spending money. Very frustrating . Course has potential however has lost me as a customer.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Played On 09/11/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Okay but one staffer ruined it for me

First it's a 9 hole course with alternate tees that makes it 18 holes. Course is overall okay but one staffer treated and talked to me like I wasn't supposed to be or welcomed there. Probably not coming back because of this incident. It's 2017 and racism still exist. The rest of staff were nice but one bad apple can spoil the bunch.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Fair
Played On 09/04/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Best Course for the price!

I paid $16 for 9 holes on a labor day with a friend and it was a good time. The course may not be perfect but I got what I wanted out of my money. The old gentlemen at the pro shop was very nice and helping since it was our first time. Explained the course very well. The course was good if you keep it in the fairway and green but anything else was kinda rough. Lost a few balls that were good shots but the rough ate them. Few houses along the course have no ball fetching signs but most of them were outside and friendly. Greens had crab grass which did bug me but not to the point like someone else on here. The sprinklers did come on while we were putting on 6 or 7 and it drenched us but we came to have a good time so we laughed it off. One of the last holes they were redoing the green but put the alternate hole so close with no sign or change at the tee box. Drove 50 yards past the hole when the sign said 350 yards. All and all I will go back cause I had a good time for a good price.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 08/06/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Unfortunately this was the worst course I've played in Virginia.

The problem with this course was there was crab grass everywhere. The fairways had not been cut in what seemed to be about a week. The ground everywhere was so hard my ball would bounce over 5 to 8 feet on any hit. The greens were filled with crabgrass in the ball Would not go straight when putted. Hole number six is nonexistent and does not have a green. The staff does not seem to care who they let play on the course due to a threesome in front of me where a group of teenage boys who were running and yelling and left many marks on the greens and fairways. On hole number eight at about 1 PM the sprinklers came on while I was parking. Sadly this was one of the worst courses I've ever played and I will never come back again to even try to have a better experience. It's sad because it is one of my closer courses near me at a decent price and I could not believe the condition of the course the caliber of people playing the course calling itself a country club.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On 07/19/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Mr. B

Staff Donna real helpful and a very very nice person treated us well.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average
Played On 06/02/2017
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens are fast

Greens are much faster than usual. I have played the course quite a few times and have never seen them so quick. Only problem we had was a five minute wait caused by the cart girl.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On 05/24/2017
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

condition

fairways and greens were in good condition, traps were poor
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average

Stay & Play Offers

$114 Starting price
Valid dates: Mar 01, 2018 - Sep 30, 2018
Pine Cone Accommodations offers unique vacation properties in the Gaylord area and special package pricing for Stay and Play with Gaylord Country Club. Check out their web site for a comprehensive listing of available cabins, homes and condominiums that will make your next visit a memorable experience. TAKE THE TOUR! TOUR 54 3 Rounds of Golf & 2 Nights Lodging $114 per person per night
Nearby Courses
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE