Butternut Hills Golf Club

4.3683823529 4.4 stars from 5 (24)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 5683 yards
  • Slope: 112
  • Rating: 66.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 5683 yards 66.5 112
White 70 5443 yards 65.4 110
Red (W) 72 4945 yards 67.7 111

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 24 Reviews
5 stars:
10
4 stars:
13
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

24 out of 24 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

dh929292's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



spoonergb's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u762123321's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Robert7755719's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff are so friendly and the course was well maintained. Ice cold beer at the end. Highly recommended


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u1845455's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great fairways well maintained easy location good golf for the money. Excellent club house nice bar


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



jasper165's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very, very nice course, good condition,player friendly, only negative was the greens were excessively slow, furry, as I would say.


I recommend this course


"a great day"


powerstringer2's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

if my game would have been better it would have been a great day


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Butternut"


jdfarmin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Short course, par 70 5600 yds. Postage stamp greens that are soft and slower than average. Tees, fairways and rough were all adequately maintained, but far from championship level. Bunkers need tic. Staff very friendly and clubhouse was unique log style building. Butternut would be a good beginners course, imo.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course



u762123321's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Robert7755719's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is always well maintained and have the most friendly staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Rolling hills"


gulfstar50's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was fun to play. Very little chance of loosing any balls but some of t shots looked quite narrow. Lots of ups and downs.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Little Course"


markbowden's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Butternut Hills is a nice little course close to our lake home which is always in nice shape. Fairly short layout but some challenging holes if played from the blues. People who work there are very friendly and usually don't have any trouble getting on. Regular price is a bit high but the Hot Deals are a very good deal.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Lovely Course"


u000005475100's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We always play Butternut when in the Hayward area. The course is always in great shape and each hole has it's unique challenges


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



mpdog's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Cvk1951's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/10/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this golf course. It's in fantastic shape and beautiful. Love GolfNow also.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great value for the cost."


sheldonnordell's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/29/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Inexpensive course and generally good condition. Very well laid out. A few sandtraps were not maintained but they didn't come into play much. Tees, fairways.and greens were all-in good condition. Very friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Short and sweet"


Tom8640714's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pretty nice little course! Only about 5600 yards from the tips with quite a few short par 4s. The course is well maintained, greens rolled true if not particularly fast, fairways and tee boxes were in good shape. I enjoyed my round there. Not quite as nice as Spooner but definitely worth the 2.5 hour round. I played as a single caught one group that let me right through on 7 then didn't run in to anyone else until I had to wait about a minute to hit my approach on 18. Got the hot deal on golf now so the price was awesome and the course was a pleasant surprise


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


tiger119's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course. Friendly staff. Nice clubhouse. Heard the food is good. Will have to try it sometime.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice fall coarse"


u000002011131's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/07/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Coarse was in excellent shape with very few golfers. Some par 4's are a little short put have challenging greens so don't be fooled. Quite a number of unique holes. Very colorful with the trees turning.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Another great round"


twdorseyatgmail's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

I played 5-18 hole rounds in two days plus a scramble tourney at noon on the the 3rd day! It was delightful. I played alone and finished in 2 1/2 hrs each. The greens were great and several fairways challenging. The staff was very accommodating as I arrived early with prepaid times and they let me begin early. I'm from outside the area, but play here often while working nearby. Enough topography to challenge everyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed