Ledges Golf Club

4.5617058824 4.6 stars from 5 (214)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6507 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: MasterCard Visa card(s) Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6507 yards 72.7 133
Blue 72 6110 yards 70.9 129
White 72 5539 yards 67.8 124
Red (W) 72 5001 yards 69.5 125

The Ledges Golf Club in South Hadley is tucked away in the Pioneer Valley, an area of western Massachusetts known for its lush, rolling hills. It is a favorite amongst locals since it is one of the best values in the region. The course enjoys scenic views that stretch to Mt. Tom and the Holyoke Range. It is on the shorter side at just over 6,500 yards from the back tees, but the dramatic changes in elevation make it seem much longer. Most of the greens are raised with steeply sloped sides, making accuracy essential since missing them by even just a few feet will result in a serious penalty. The golf course has a heavily wooded front nine that seamlessly transitions into a more open back nine featuring links-style holes. The Ledges is a shotmaker's course that offers several interesting risk-reward opportunities.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 214 Reviews
5 stars:
121
4 stars:
78
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

205 out of 212 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers thick rough undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Always a Pleasure"


thorntond's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played with the Safari Club. Course conditions were excellent with fast greens. I have played here many times and it is our go to course. It is a moderate challenge with many risk-reward opportunities. The staff at the pro shop are always friendly and the bartender and waitstaff are too. Great sandwiches, haven't had time to try dinner. Would recommend this for anyone to play. We returned a week later to play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course"


chappy4562's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always in great shape and never too busy. Only small issue would be some wet soggy conditions in some fairways and close to some greens and it had not rained in several days.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Mark6840876's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



railroad71's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



danielszydlo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



ROMAN8374322's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great course layout with excellent Fairway & Green conditions"


Tonebow57's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played the course many times. the course is in great shape and is one of the most well-groomed courses In Western Massachusetts.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



rlscobra's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


I recommend this course


"This course was frustrating"


u077058803's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

From the moment of turning on to Mulligan Way, this course was poorly signed - parking lot on through the whole course! The course has many blind tee shots and no yardage markers. Some holes have a black and white or red and white "pole". When we asked the starter about them at the turn, he said they were yardage markers but he didn't know what yardage they represented. We looked at them and there was no yardage marked on them.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great value - play from the blues or blacks"


u959191225's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ledges has always been a go to course for me. The layout is not conducive to walking, however, and the pace of play is slow with carts, impossible with walkers. Only real conditions complaint is that all the grass clippings around the green are left there in clumps. Why? It is unsightly and impacts quality of play. From the whites the course is really short, blues or black more reasonable.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Sunday Afternoon at the Course"


u000003875462's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not up to previous standards but still a very good course! Some very challenging holes and some that "appear easier" but tricky. Great family day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"great course"


u195212154's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We liked the layout. This is a great course with interesting challenges. It also has beautiful views.

We had a really enjoyable day.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great value"


scratchfagan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played Ledges on a day off. GolfNow put up an incredible deal and I took it without knowing much about the course. Andy in the pro shop was a really good guy and very nice upon my arrival. I walked 18 and Andy sent me off the back to where I found no one in front of me. Considering how late winter has dragged into, the course was in great shape... the greenskeeper had almost all of the foliage and sticks cleaned up and the course was presented with care. #2 is a tremendous hole, followed by a very short par 3 3rd which comes off as gimicky. The course is very scorable and doesn’t play as long as the 6500 yard black tees suggest. Nice people, quality greenskeeping, and an interesting layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"good value"


mejacquessr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

for early in the season course was in good shape some greens a bit rough but overall a good value. it would be a shame if this is there last year here because it always seems busy and it's always in great shape.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"The course is fair and very scenic."


susanmcc2522's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time at the Ledges. Even though the course just opened, it was in very good shape. Greens were a little bumpy, but by May, I'm sure they'll be perfect.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Tough par 3"


u810378010's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. I used To play it back in high school and it was the first time playing it in a couple years . The par 3s are real tough because they are so short. Highly recommend the course. Great condition for being so late in the year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Just going to send it"


Ben2913432's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It's almost December and the course was still in great shape.. I play a lot of golf and ledges is one of my favorite courses... couple weird holes (3 is a chip a putt hole) but the course is gorgeous with great views and upscale conditions. If you can't control your distance and accuracy you better bring a few sleeves... my buddy and I had a stellar round. had about 5 beers and 2-3 shots... shot 75 and 76 from the blues. Play this course! It's fun and in great shape ... Just send it


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Ledges golf day"


airman256's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was an enjoyable day of golf with my friend and we will return to Ledges Golf Club in the future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Chris2366697's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course. Had a lot of little challenges that make you think. 90 yard par 3. Easy.....? Not so much. I was only one in group to hit the green. Lots of uneven lies. Can make birdie or double on any hole. Great conditions, perfect Fairways, truly bent greens, unlike most course that are all poa. Always enjoy the rounds here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Shubotm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u633356959's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed