Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
371
5 Stars
236
4 Stars
118
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.2
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
0
97.7%
Recommend this course
362 out of 371 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
371
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.3
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
96.9%
Recommend this course
93 out of 96 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
371
5 Stars
112
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.2
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
97.1%
Recommend this course
165 out of 170 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6856
Slope 127
Rating 72.9
Type Semi-Private
The 18-hole Gulf Shores Golf Club (formerly known as Golf Club of The Wharf) in Gulf Shores, Alabama is a public golf course that opened in 1967. Designed by Earl Stone, the previously named Gulf Shores Golf Club went in 2005 through a renovation that lengthened the course by 300 yards. Gulf Shores Golf Club plays for 6,812 yards from the championship tees and has a slope rating of 110 and a 70.2 USGA rating. The course features 4 sets of tees for different skill levels.
Book a Tee Time at
Gulf Shores Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6856 yards 72.9 127
Blue 71 6410 yards 70.7 121
White 71 6006 yards 68.8 119
Teal 71 5420 yards 66.0 114
Teal (W) 71 5420 yards 71.3 121
Red 71 4822 yards 63.3 107
Red (W) 71 4822 yards 67.9 114
Scorecard for Gulf Shores
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Tee 1 M: 72.6/123 345 443 521 207 438 172 595 231 463 3415 442 327 413 185 495 165 379 465 526 3397 6812
Tee 2 M: 70.5/120 325 417 511 175 406 156 566 204 433 3193 413 310 383 164 476 140 344 438 504 3172 6365
Tee 3 M: 68.1/116 316 394 492 148 367 149 530 164 395 2955 381 300 373 150 448 112 333 408 490 2995 5950
Tee 4 M: 65.8/113 W: 70.5/118 293 361 398 140 330 131 499 134 367 2653 345 253 345 127 409 102 312 371 445 2709 5362
Tee 5 M: 62.7/106 W: 67.3/111 266 335 347 105 310 84 476 100 324 2347 308 230 307 105 384 83 292 345 389 2443 4790
Handicap 17 3 5 9 11 13 1 15 7 4 16 12 18 8 14 10 2 6
Par 4 4 5 3 4 3 5 3 4 35 4 4 4 3 5 3 4 4 5 36 71
Handicap (W) 17 3 9 13 7 11 1 15 5 10 14 12 18 8 16 4 2 6

Course Details

Year Built 1967
Fairways Bermuda
Greens Bermuda Mini Verde
Golf Season Year round
Architect Earl Stone Jay Morrish (2005) Carter Morrish (2005)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Accepted
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire is required

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.6
371

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
Patio Dining 7
19th Hole Specials 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 39
Bunkers 38
Plays Long 18
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 24
Locals 21
Seniors 19
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 29
Near Local Attractions 14
Worth the Drive 8
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Fantastic Condition

Bought hot deal on Golf Now. Play this course every year on vacation. For under $40 this is the best course hands down. Don't hesitate to play. Greens rolled very true, not a bad spot on any fairway or green.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great value for the cost.

Rainy day but course handled it well. Greens looked great. Not too busy. Would recommend to others.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Excellent Course

Course is challenging but fair. Good shots are rewarded. Both Greens and Fairways were in excellent shape. I will play this Course again next time I am in Gulf Shores.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Gulf Shores Golf Club

Amazing deal. Knowing how good the price was I figured the course might no be so good, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was a great layout, the course was challenging, the bunkers were beautiful white sand, and the condition of the course was great.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Course

We got a great rate from golf now. The course was in superb conditions. Lush ... Range balls included with the time was a nice touch. Lots of bunkers with powder white sand. It plays longer than the card says. It was tough but fair. We will play there again for sure.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

4” of rain 2 days before.

Cart path only but was to be expected. Range was closed which was a downer but understandable. Course had taken water well considering the amount just a few day before. Conditions were great, found no bare areas. Pace was rather slow but as a single and being paired with another group of 3 was no issue. Great guys to play with. Being a 2-3 hcp and my group and the 2 groups ahead were not very skilled. Leading to a 4:30 round. Wish courses could pair based on skill level. I will return as always to this course. One the the few gulf coast courses that has a more southern feel with more tree lined fairways and hole shape from the tee box.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Awesome course.

Coming from a 2-4 handicap, this course plays longer than the score Card says. Most shots require 1.5 more club. Greens were in perfect condition. Will play again next year
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE